We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful, Friendly Host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bar Harbor Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We came without reservations and host identified the best sites for us to pick the one that we liked. Found one that was large, level, mostly grassy (for our tent) and near the bathrooms/showers. There were trees on one side and in back for increased privacy.

Campground has a variety of sites - from basic tents on grass without utilities to massive RVs with hook-ups.

Got good directions and advice for sunrise on Cadillac Mountain. Great WiFi. Nice grill, OK picnic table in our site. Basic bathrooms were kept very clean. Hot shower costs 25 cents.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RKWh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2017
























This is a no-reservation (and no credit card) campground which might pose a problem if checking in one weekend. We checked in on a Monday and had no problem Staff is pleasant and helpful. This place is close to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. There is a playground and swimming pool (kids were in the pool but I don't know if it was heated). Bathrooms are a little old and dark but kept very clean. We would definitely stay here again.




Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank boejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

First impression was not good because we were told to go pick a site and then drive back to the office to register and pay (cash only). Doesn't sound too bad but when you have to wait in line twice it seems a little...well a waste of time.
We were also washing clothes and got kicked out of the laundry area because it was 8:00pm!! We had to leave with a bunch of wet clothes.
The treatment we received was very rude.
No way I would ever return.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pandfhomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarHarborCampground, General Manager at Bar Harbor Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

We are sorry that choosing your own site was not a good experience for you, most campers like that option. The laundry hours are posted clearly, and the door is locked nightly at 8pm. Night security always unlocks the door if cloths get locked inside and never has anyone been turned away with wet cloths. Again, we are sorry that this was an unpleasant experience for you. We strive to keep our customers happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Our first time camping. We came without reservation like all others do and selected a secluded spot with water and electric. Full hook us spots were close to neighbor but did offer water views. Nice heated pool, playground and showers. Quiet hours from 10 to 8. Would be 5 if I had advance reservation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bowlerx_424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

I have been camping here for a really long time, this place is clean and well attended to. The sites are large enough for all your gear and afford you with some privacy. The bath houses are clean and tended to on schedule. Best part for the stay here is loud and rowdy behavior is not allowed and you will be asked to leave, So makes a great place to spend the week enjoy your vacation in MDI.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank geno868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bar Harbor
7.4 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
7.5 km away
Narrows Too Camping Resort
5.2 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
7.1 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,776 reviews
7.2 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Campground

Address: 409 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7551
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Bar Harbor
Price Range: €20 - €26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 300
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Campground Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Campground Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing