We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
97
45
12
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
45
12
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet hours tent sites ocean view pick your own hook ups no credit cards full hookups blueberries mainely meats camp store cost cents udder heaven a great ice cream shop an ice cream place mini golf across the street washers and dryers heated pool
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We loved it here! No reservations accepted so when you decide at the last minute to camp you can probably find a place. Our plan was to stay at the Walmart in Elsworth until they had an opening but on Sunday morning we were allowed to drive around the 300 lot camp looking for an empty spot or someone leaving... we found a nice lot surrounded by small trees and blueberry bushes. They had a heated pool overlooking the ocean and mountains, several nearby clean bath houses with toilets and showers. The hot showers were 25 cents for 5 minutes. 50 cents was more than enough time! they had a laundry room with washers and dryers which were $1 each also a soup dispenser and coin changer. This is open until 8pm. Upfront was an arcade, tv room, ice, wood all at very reasonable prices. we talked to the owner who was very nice. we love his no reservation system and the business has been in his family for 50 years. Because of the price (we paid $40 for a site with water and electric) you can tell he cares about his customers not just money or he could charge more and take reservations and the place would be booked for months in advance. there is a one week limit. I would have loved one of the 5 actual true ocean view spots but these are hard to come by. I envied the folks I saw sitting at the end of their campers with fires going just sitting there overlooking the ocean in their chairs. I did walk up near the pool and walked the path to enjoy the view and take in the relaxing atmosphere! There is a dump station which we didnt have to wait long for. There is a big pirate mini golf across the street and a path from campground to udder heaven, an ice cream place and Mainely Meats (we didnt have time to visit). Shop in downtown bar harbor for your groceries at Hannaford the prices were no more expensive than your local grocery store (I had read it was more expensive for groceries in Bar Harbor so brought everything with me-Big Mistake) they also have rotisserie chicken and fried chicken there along with anything else you might need....the price for campsites range from $32-$50 for just tents to complete hookups with sewer. They have free internet and the free shuttle bus stops at this campground and stops at lots of places in the area so you dont need to use your car if you dont want to. Cant wait to go here again!

Room Tip: Drive around and pick any empty site you want. go all the way to the front of campground if you want view of ocean and mountains
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mguilford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

The camp site was very spacious and level. The camp and bathrooms were very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bus loop to Bar Harbor comes right into the camp ground. It was great, we were able to put our bikes on the bus and it took us to Acadia Park where we could ride all the bike trails. It saved us a great deal of time from trying to find a parking space with a vehicle. The bus drops you where ever you want to go. We did go swimming at the camp grounds each day after hiking and it was very refreshing. We would highly recommend this Campground.

Room Tip: There are lake front sites. We had a wooded site which was still very nice J16.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

We really like it here! A pleasant welcome by the owners. A nice selection of tent sites (it took us a while to find the perfect site because so many to choose from!). The outdoor pool is a favorite for the kids. Clean bathrooms. And relaxing - perfect for our busy lives!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank sarahhubertr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

The web site for the camp ground does a good job of providing details. The best tent sites are on the Ocean View upper left corner of their map and are located down hill from the pool. These are apparently difficult to get and the people we meet here explained some of the work they would have to do to secure one of those sites. (Talk nicely to people to find out when they intend to leave and be there when they pack up). There are sites out in the open near the RVs but we found the sites near the middle bath house and further back to be very nice. We found B8 to be good as there were no campers behind us and with the vegetation you had a sense of seclusion.

We did not realize this until the last day but there was a place near the Coke machine by the pool where you could plug in your cell for charging. This is a very nice spot to sit and watch the sun set... Have a beverage... The pool closes at 8pm but there is a picnic table at this location. There is also an outlet near the bus stop benches that can be used while waiting for the bus. (bring your charger).

FREE WIFI. Worked well!

The buses on the "1" route were very consistent to get you to the Visitor Center or the Village Green and back to the Camp ground. Buses in the park were not as consistent as there is no "bus only" lane entering the park and the buses can get caught up in the quagmire of cars that choose to pay as entering the park vs. going first to the visitors center.

We paid for 2 days of camping upon arrival... Then decided after the first night that the place would definitely work for us... We paid for 4 more additional nights.. We decided on Sunday (day 6) we would go home on Monday instead and the 7th night was no charge. (Despite breaking up the reservation). The place was so nice, the weather was great... So we decided to change our plans and stay the additional night.

They do not advertise it but they do work with people for overflow. Apparently last year for the Parks' Centennial people were camped near the entrance signs. The people running the park are VERY NICE. They will accommodate courteous travelers. The only people we saw impacted by the "reservation" policy are motor homes looking for sites with facilities. A couple motor homes had to use sites with no facilities for a night or 2 but were able to eventually move to a desired site.

From inside the campground, you can drive to or walk to the "Mainely Meat on Dreamwood Hill" location. The campground map shows it as the Camp Store... It may have been it in the past but this is no longer accurate. Mainley Meat has good Pork BBQ and other menu items. There was also an Ice Cream place in their facility. Mainley Meat also has a place at the Atlantic Brewery (also another nice place to visit, taste beer, eat, drink).

CLEAN, FRIENDLY, CONVENIENT, worth the 7th night!

Just one neuance... They are ripping up the road "3" towards Bar Harbor. So two way traffic stops in front of the camp ground (which I think is a good thing) and the bus ride into the park is a little bumpy. The detour coming back around... There is a road that says "local traffic" only. Ignore that; it cuts the angle on the road and gets you back faster to "3" where you go right and are at the Campground relatively quickly.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Loved staying here!
We stayed at a Nice ocean view, close to the pool, playground and laundry!!!
There is a "laundry police" on duty - beware and time your washing or you will have your clothes ripped out of the drier...
The campground is beautiful, location couldnt be more perfect!
Great place for a family vacation!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank katyakhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews