We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish ALL campgrounds were run like this!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bar Harbor Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2017

The folks who run this campground are onto something with their "no reservations" policy. I totally love this concept and wish more campgrounds, and hotels, would do the same. I wish I could say my plans are always carved in stone, but, like so many of us, life changes day to day for me. How wonderful it was to discover this campground. We were staying not too far away at another campground that was very nice but decided to take a tour of Bar Harbor Campground on our way to Acadia National Park. I am so glad we did! The campground is beautiful, sites are quite roomy and well laid out. The playground, pool, and other amenities are beautiful and clean. The best part, other than being able to pick your site from whatever is vacant, are the prices; they're are crazy reasonable. So much so that we opted to leave our RV for a few nights so we could go home and catch up on some work before returning for another week! We have a beautiful, full hookup site with a wonderful ocean view taking up the entire back window. There is nothing behind our site and that view other than a field of blueberries. It's like Heaven on Earth. The staff are just wonderful. Very friendly and helpful. We take the Island Explorer to wherever we want to go. There is a GREAT ice cream shop within a short walk of the campground as well as a barbecue restaurant. Mini golf is a short walk away as well. I can't say enough about this incredible campground.

Room Tip: 50 amp,water, electric, sewer sites with ocean views at the back of the park are great for big rigs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2017

We have been traveling around Northeastern states and stopping wherever we would end up. We have 2 small tents and don't use electricity. This campground was great! Clean coin showers, heated pool, nice scenery, friendly staff and reasonably priced. It is also close to Acadia National Park and the town center. We will come back next time we are around there.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank blackpantherrr2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

One of the cleanest campgrounds I have ever visited! Great sites and great amenities! Loved it ! Prices are quite reasonable! Would definitely visit there again! Very close to Bar Harbour
The fire pits were incredible.. So clean

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Bar Harbor Campground met all of our tent-camping needs with large, level, quiet, family-friendly campsites, super-clean restroom/shower facilities, easy to find location that is close to Bar Harbor. We stayed 2 nights and the staff was very helpful giving us directions and recommendations on how best to enjoy the area, especially during peak tourist season. Internet connection was slow, but we were only interested in using it for travel information and were always able to connect when we needed it.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Pi-T526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Bar Harbor Campground is one of the cleanest, quietest and family friendly campground.
I spent Labor Day weekend with my daughter and grandchildren. Had to get the feel for nature and sleep in a tent. The low 50's temp upon rising... BRRRR... but worth it!
The restrooms, pool and campsites are clean.
Everyone that works there are super friendly and helpful.
Most of all a spectacular view of the sun rising.....
That in itself was worth the stay !

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Esler4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bar Harbor
5.2 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
7.5 km away
Narrows Too Camping Resort
2.4 km away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
7.1 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
7.4 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Campground

Address: 409 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7551
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Bar Harbor
Price Range: €20 - €26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 300
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Campground Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Campground Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing