We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secret hideaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shore Path Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shore Path Cottage
Ranked #18 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Friendship, Maine
1 review
“Secret hideaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Very comfortable beds, cozy home away atmosphere and within walking distance to Main Street, Bar Harbor, without any traffic noise.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank beth40646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    30
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
27
95
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honeoye, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

We happened upon this B & B on our visit to Bar Harbor. It has a wonderful bay view and access to the Shore Path. We did not have to drive when going downtown in the evenings or daytime. It was a short drive to Acadia Park.
Roberta is a gracious host and we enjoyed the friendliness of other guests. Our room was comfortable and it is always nice to have your own bath. Breakfast was like eating with a family every morning. The coffee was great and homemade breads delicious. Sitting out on the break wall or veranda with coffee in the morning and a glass of wine in the afternoon was very nice and relaxing.
It was our first experience with a B & B together and it was a pleasant one. We recommend this B&B if you want to get away from the TV and have a relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: Second and third floors have great views of Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orlando32792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Shore Path Cottage is located a bit apart from the hecticness of downtown Bar Harbor, but easily walkable to everything by the beautiful shore path. Innkeeper Roberta Chester was so friendly and considerate, including making special gluten-free breakfast items for my dietary needs, recommending the wonderful Cafe This Way for a fabulous dinner and providing a cozy, relaxed atmosphere in her historic B&B. We look forward to our return and further exploring in nearby Acadia National Park and especially more bike riding on the carriage trails there. What a fantastic long weekend we enjoyed and Roberta and Shore Path Cottage made it so.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MEtraveler04107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Great site to stay and walk along the harbor! Great breakfast and comfortable beds. The owner is someone you would enjoy meeting.

Room Tip: Discuss your needs with Roberta, the owner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wein_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

This is a great old house with easy access to town and Acadia Nat'l Park. A glass of wine on the viranda overlooking the ocean was a terrific way to end the day!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonibroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.1 km away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.3 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.4 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
2.2 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Path Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Path Cottage

Property: Shore Path Cottage
Address: 24 Atlantic Ave, minutes to Acadia National Park, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1737
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a unique waterfront Bed & Breakfast located within minutes walking distance to town. The Shore Path Cottage offers the real charm of a Maine summer cottage! We provide breakfast on a wrap around porch, looking out over our spacious lawn which stretches down to the water..A Maine summer experience at it's best!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Shore Path Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore Path Cottage Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing