We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Heathwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heathwood Inn
Ranked #28 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Karen is a terrific hostess and the Heathwood is great place to stay in the Bar Harbor area. The Inn is quiet, comfortable and clean. It is close to all the major attractions on Mt Desert Island, yet removed from the traffic and congestion of downtown Bar Harbor. The breakfasts were delicious and Karen goes out of her way to make sure you feel at home!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STfromGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
81
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln RI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We had a great stay at the inn. The room was spacious and comfortable and the jacuzzi tub was amazing! Breakfasts were always varied and delicious!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drea5282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Missouri
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Heathwood Inn. Our hostess Karen was knowledgeable about the area and had many excellent recommendations for dining and activities. She also helped us by calling a local business to check on available services. Karen's breakfasts were delicious and pretty healthy. Our room, and bathroom, was large and roomy and beautifully decorated. My one complaint was that the bed was way too soft. We had a first floor room (the Gorham) and it was a restful quiet place to stay. Once we arrived in Bar Harbor, we were really glad we chose the Heathwood Inn that is outside the city itself. Because we were early for the season, there was a smaller crowd. In another month getting around Bar Harbor itself will be quite difficult. The Heathwood has good access to Bar Harbor and to other parts of the island.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyRock2_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Karen was a great hostess. Her breakfasts were great. She was very helpful with recommendations of where to eat, hikes to go on, things to do, etc. She even let us borrow her hiking guide so we didn't have to buy one of our own. The room was large in my opinion, plenty of room for our stuff. We stayed in the Hunters brook room. The price was very competitive. Overall a great stay, would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellybean407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

My wife and I returned to Heathwood for our 20th wedding anniversary. It was also the location of our honeymoon. Although the ownership has changed, the service and quality have not. Karen, the innkeeper, is an excellent hostess who provides wonderful guidance on local activities and dining. I hope that it is not another 20 years before I can return!

Room Tip: Have always stayed in Eden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank On_the_Road_Again06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
10.4 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.7 km away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
8.5 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
1.8 km away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
10.0 km away
The Elmhurst Inn
The Elmhurst Inn
#21 of 30 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 0 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathwood Inn

Property: Heathwood Inn
Address: 6 Long and Winding Rd, Route #3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heathwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathwood Inn is an 1890's farmhouse located on the Acadia National Scenic byway. Each of the Inn's 5 comfortably decorated guest rooms offer special features including a Finnish Style Sauna, or Whirlpool tub, private balcony suite and fireplace suite, making the inn the perfect place to unwind after an active day in Acadia National Park. Each day at the Heathwood Inn starts with a full hot breakfast featuring homemade goodies baked fresh each morning. Extras include : A gift shop on site in the breakfast room. We have Cards, Postcards, Maine Nature Photos, and we make sea glass jewelry and art works out of sea glass collected off our Island Shores. Order a fresh pie or cinnamon rolls or a fresh scrumptious fresh bread We offer Kayak & Canoe rentals and deliver to your freshwater destination for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Heathwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heathwood Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing