We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveller rating
530
46
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
530
46
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heritage room abbe suite blue hill somes sound bay room huevos rancheros ricotta pancakes homemade treats acadia national park whoopie pies separate entrance wonderful hosts the main house b bs sitting room claw foot tub each morning
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 581 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2015

We stayed there for two nights and absolutely loved it. The place was rustic but immaculately clean and cozy. The small details were much appreciated- the fresh baked goodies set out every night in the dining area, coffee and tea always available (self serve after breakfast), shared sitting room with lots of magazines and books to peruse while you sit by the (gas) fire, and free Netflix on the TV in the room!

We stayed in the Heritage room and it was cozy and cute. I appreciated the interior decorating and lighting, as well as the overhead fan in the room to keep the air moving. There was no closet, but they have a rack with hangers and a dresser, so it didn't bother me. The bed and pillows were also extremely comfortable (which is more than I can say about a few of the other places we've stayed recently). It was raining our last day, and the owners left umbrellas outside our door for us to use as needed- so cute! The breakfasts were also very tasty and interesting (for example,baked pears with mascarpone and granola crumbles, waffles, and sausage, with real maple syrup). It looks like they can (at least somewhat?) accommodate food restrictions, as another guest was gluten-free and they had meal and cookie options for her. I suppose I would check with them before booking, if you have unique dietary needs.

The only downside of the place that I see is that it is about a 5-10 minute drive from Bar Harbor town center. We don't drink much alcohol, so it didn't matter to us, but this could be an negative for some who want to go out for dinner in town and have a lot of drinks and be able to walk back to their lodging (not sure what the taxi cab situation is there).

Otherwise, I highly recommend this place. The owners are very nice and the stay was lovely. Check it out!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Marissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

The Browns are wonderful owners .They go above and beyond. We stayed in the Abbey Suite had a great foyer ,living room area and separate bedroom . The bathroom with the claw foot tub was my wife's favorite spot. The food was great. The location is a little outside of town but not really an issue at all. Would stay here again.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2015

Coach Stop Inn is charming! Jim and Anna are thoughtful hosts, nothing is overlooked at their inn. The public rooms are warm and inviting. The bedroom suites are comfortable and well appointed. You might come for the ambiance but you will want to stay for the food! The warm home baked cookies in the afternoon and the most delicious gourmet breakfasts prepared by Jim and Anna are quite special. Their location is convenient for exploring the whole of Mt Desert Island, Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.

Room Tip: Three of the suites have private entrances and little outdoor sitting areas, lovely in warm weather.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pw8022015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

Nestled just a few short miles from Acadia National Park, the Coach Stop Inn offered us the most inviting and friendly experience. Upon our evening arrival, we were greeted with instrumental music playing in the foyer and homemade 5 layer chocolate brownies in the kitchen. Our room, the Abbé Suite, was more like a retreat. Tucked away on the second level of this 200 year old home, we found peace and privacy with our bedroom, private bath and second room. Throughout our 3 night visit we were not only pleased with our room, but the breakfast as well. Anna is a truly talented chef which is clear from meal planning to presentation and service. Our first breakfast she prepared a citrus salad followed by Belgian waffles topped with pumpkin cream alongside sausage. We missed the 2nd breakfast due to running the Mount Desert Island Half Marathon, and joked about canceling our run so we could eat breakfast. The 3rd day we had a triple berry smoothie followed by pecan encrusted French toast with pork tenderloin pan ju and a baked apple. You can tell that she enjoys cooking and baking for others and it was a great to enjoy her creative cuisines. After enjoying our days in Acadia National Park and our evening meals in Bar Harbor it was always a treat to go "home" to the Coach Stop Inn. We will be sure to book another stay when we return in the future. Thank you, Anna and Jim!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mollyg253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015

We only spent one night at this lovely old inn but it was very nice and our hosts were quite accommodating. When you read the history of the inn you come to appreciate it's age but it is well decorated and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Very nice quaint old inn
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kleenfreekOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews