We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Acadian Boat Tours Puffins, Lighthouses, & Seabirds Cruise
Open today: 08:00 - 20:00
Save
Review Highlights
LOVELY 2 HR.CRUISE

A lovely 2.hr sunset/ seals/birds cruise from Bar Harbor- They are dog friendly- The tour guide was... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
rmody26
,
New Jersey
Great!

I did their sunset cruise and it was GREAT! They cant promise what you will see exactly as far as... read more

Reviewed 22 August 2021
Diane C
,
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Read all 74 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Mount Desert Island
from US$76.84
More Info
from US$51.29
More Info
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
50
13
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
50
13
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea birds puffin encounter nesting area three hours would highly recommend this tour wealth of information nice tour lens wildlife naturalist crew land hundreds basking sightings maine scenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2021

I did their sunset cruise and it was GREAT! They cant promise what you will see exactly as far as wildlife but we saw a few bald eagles, lots of seals, and a deer out on an island. Sunset was pretty and we learned a lot about the lobster industry and different islands. FUN!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2021

We took the Puffin & Lighthouse tour July 2021. We had a great time. It was a beautiful clear day and the sites were amazing. We especially enjoyed our guide 'CARL' who was extremely knowledgeable and made the trip so enjoyable. In addition to seeing lots of Puffins and Lighthouses, we also say seals. I would highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: July 2021
1  Thank JLR28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2021

Excellent experience. Carl was an AMAZING guide and extremely knowledgable about the history of the area, the wildlife, interesting tours to do, and dining tips (Best restaurant tips - thanks SO much!!!!). There are few lighthouses in the area so don't expect a lighthouse packed tour. It was an enjoyable boat ride to the farthest lighthouse where there are puffins around a research station. Crew were extremely nice. It was a great boat ride on a gorgeous day.

Date of experience: July 2021
1  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 June 2021

Our group of five took the 9:30 am tour. Our boat was a large catamaran (like a ferry) and was almost full with about 150 people. However, no one was crowded and the viewing was quite good as the captain always stopped at the important places and rotated the boat so both sides of the boat could fully see the attraction. Really important was the boat had a naturalist with extensive knowledge of the wildlife and area. She talked for the full 2.5 hours. She had so much information to share. The tour without her narrative would have been a waste because we could not have understood or appreciated what to see or anything about what we were looking at. The captain did spend sufficient time at the highlights for good viewing. While the weather was sunny with a light breeze, it was cold on the ocean. If you go, take warm clothing.

Date of experience: June 2021
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 June 2021

The tour was a highlight of a wonderful week in Acadia National Park. I was really looking forward to seeing puffins, but we got so much more out of the experience. Our guide, Carl, is a lot of fun and very informative, but he's also very knowledgeable about wildlife. In addition to lots of puffins, he pointed out bald eagles, guillemots, arctic terns, laughing gulls, and more. We also learned about the history of the park and of the islands we passed as well as the lighthouses we visited. We also spent some time watching the harbor seals on one of the islands. But the puffins were amazing to watch.

Date of experience: June 2021
1  Thank debbyb941
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seadawg47, Manager at Acadian Boat Tours Puffins, Lighthouses, & Seabirds Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2021

Thank you so much!
Diane Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews