We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!”
Review of Holbrook House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holbrook House
Ranked #9 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Everything was great! Bed was comfortable, atmosphere was welcoming, location was perfect for walking downtown. Most of all, the food was superb! Michelle is a great cook. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 214 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

We typically stay in bed and breakfast establishments when we travel, so we've had quite a range of experiences both in the US and in Europe. Holbrook House ranks right up there with the best we've found. Clean, airy, charmingly decorated in keeping with its Victorian roots, and located conveniently in Bar Harbor, the place is really ideal. We stayed in one of the less expensive rooms, but we wanted for nothing; in fact, the room had been recently redone.

What makes this establishment so special, however, is its owners. Michelle and Eric are perfectly suited to be hosts; both are friendly and extremely helpful, and they serve the most remarkable breakfasts and afternoon teas! Food here is lavish and luscious -- no wonder folks often skip dessert at restaurants in order to taste some of Michelle's home-baking once they return to the inn. We also got great advice from Michelle concerning local restaurants and sight-seeing options. In short, the owners make their guests feel like family members that they really enjoy seeing. You can't really ask for more.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the rear are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Was scheduled to stay at the Holbrook house, except that hurricane Irene derailed my travel plans. Attempted to negotiate with the proprietors for a refund due to the fact that I was unable to travel, to no avail, even if there was a state of emergency for travel.

This b&b has the most stringent booking policy, never before have I seen that you need to book 2rooms in a row. Booked initially a cheaper room, then was bumped to a more expensive room.

Avoid this place, there are other, nicer places in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holbrookinnkeeper, Owner at Holbrook House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2011

We are sorry that you were not able to make it to Bar Harbor for your scheduled vacation. We were very fortunate in Bar Harbor and in all of Maine for that matter to be spared the devastating impact that Irene had in other areas of the Country. Our hearts and prayers go out to those in New Hampshire that are still dealing with the aftermath of Irene.
As we are a small seasonal inn we do require a two-night reservation. We try to make exceptions to accommodate one night requests where and when we can as we did in your case.
You did agree at the time of booking to our cancellation policies, that are pretty much standard for bed and breakfasts in Bar Harbor.
It is obvious that you are not happy with our cancellation policies when they were applied to you.
We made an exception in this case due to Irene and issued you a gift certificate since we were unable to rebook your room.
We encourage all of our guest and those considering staying in our home to review our policies prior to booking with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The food and service at Holbrook House are simply unsurpassed. Michelle and Eric are the most accommodating -- and generous! -- hosts anyone could want. Thanks, again, for a great experience!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is one of the best places to stay in Bar Harbor. It is conveniently located within walking distance of downtown restaruants and attractions as well as easy access to Acadia National Park.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts can only be classified in the award winning category. The innkeepers, Eric and Michelle are very friendly and helpful.

We had our bicycles and were able to travel around the island and visit all the breathtaking sites in Acadia National Park. It is a great place for cycling and hiking.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewJerseyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
0.1 km away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#8 of 30 in Bar Harbor
504 reviews
0.7 km away
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 30 in Bar Harbor
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Stone Throw Cottage
Stone Throw Cottage
#5 of 30 in Bar Harbor
301 reviews
8.8 km away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.4 km away
Hearthside B&B
Hearthside B&B
#2 of 30 in Bar Harbor
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbrook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook House

Address: 74 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1323
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: €76 - €178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the historic district within walking distance of Main St. Bar Harbor and minutes away from Acadia National Park. The Holbrook House B&B, built in 1876, has 9 guest room, 2 newly renovated luxury suites and 2 two bed suites. Each guest room and suite is unique and different. You are sure to find one that you will fall in love with. All guest rooms have a private bath and a/c; some feature a fireplace or private porch. Each morning enjoy Michelle's home cooked breakfast and afternoon tea with homemade treats. We look forward to your stay with us as you explore beautiful Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Open May to October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holbrook House Hotel Bar Harbor
Holbrook House Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing