We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
55
67
38
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
67
38
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews goat island cafe american samoa private beach coffee maker the staff was great on premises view of the bay security guy lounge chairs cruise ship free continental breakfast terrible smell free snorkeling gear resident turtles washer and dryer bath towels literally feet
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2015

Central if you are in American Samoa for business or even a holiday, as aside from great rooms and great food, the hotel has a private beach for hotel guests. I usually ask for a room in the new wing close to the restaurant on the ground floor or any of the rooms on the second floor from 203 to 208. The hotel and restaurant staff are very helpful. The Restaurant and Beach (aside from the rooms with a flat screen of 40+ channels) are the main features and where you can sit and do absolutely nothing but enjoy! The rooms are well air conditioned and the outside area enjoys a gentle sea breeze.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BeautifulSamoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2015

I have now been to American Samoa on two visits for business. I write this as I sit in a room in desperate need of a refurbishment with an unmade single bed next to the queen, non functioning air conditioning, no replenishment of Tea and Coffee from the last visitors (or maybe the ones before them) and generally unclean bathroom. I would highly recommend Tradewinds Hotel if you don't need to see the Harbour and want a comfortable clean room with great attention to detail. I need to give the very friendly and helpful staff a great review

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieDavidGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom-Sadies, Owner at Sadie's by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2015

OMG! Please accept our most sincere apologies for sending you to an unserviced room. Houskeeping Supervisor checks all rooms after servicing and activates air-conditioning etc...obviously there was a mis-communication between Reception and Housekeeping.

It is very puzzling that we have no record of this situation...neither with Housekeeping nor Reception. And equally puzzling as to why Management was not contacted immediately, but rather comments posted on TripAdvisor
--Tom
Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015

My husband and I stayed at Sadies By the Sea in late February, 2015. The staff were welcoming and after a short walk up the stairs we came to our room. We were thankful the air conditioning was on as the level of humidity made us really uncomfortable, not being quite acclimatized to living in a tropical environment.(Phew!)
The room was very comfortable and we really liked the area off the bathroom which contained a microwave, assorted coffee, biscuits and percolator. The location was ideal if you wanted to explore and the beach near the pool was beautiful for swimming, nice and private with a view of Pago Pago's magnificent natural harbour.
The restaurant was fantastic!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sammyanne024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2015

Have stayed here before, but this trip taken March 2015. Location is great with proximity to the government complexes, National Park and the Hospital. It is also rather central if sightseeing and exploring the different choices for eateries is what you want to do on this trip. All the rooms are different as far as the number and configuration of beds-it is more european For example you can get a queen and twin, two full size or a single king configuration if desired. The inconsistent part-upon check in the TV have been completely disconected (there is an elaborate cable feed, with 2 different remotes so hook up is essential to operation) and the air conditioner fan worked but did not get cold. SO sheck everything upon check-in. The down stairs rooms have tile floors and the upstairs rooms have carpet, if you have a preference. All the linens and draperies have been updated. Otherwise this is as clean and comfortable a place as you can find here in American Samoa. There is only one 'western-style hotel here' reviewed separately (Tradewinds-Western Style Hotel in Am Samoa). The big pluses here: 1) the hotel gift shop has nice things, lots of drinks/alcohol and sundries along with some nice souveniers. 2) The hotel restaurant is fantastic called Goat Island and right across the parking lot, they even have a large meeting room. 3) Pool and beach area both lovely.

Room Tip: Depends on what you want, no elevator rooms upstairs have carpet and downstairs have tile. Rooms in front have proximity to the pool, back to the beach. Upstairs views are breathtaking.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cardiotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom-Sadies, Owner at Sadie's by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2015

Hello Cardiotron,
It's always good to have frequent contributors to TripAdvisor such as yourself, send in a review. Thanks.
In response to your comments regarding in-room problems, our Housekeeping Manager is tasked with reviewing all rooms before a new guest arrives. Obviously we did not score well on that point!
We have in-house AC servicing and, should problems arise, they are normally handled in an hour or so. If not or the problem arises after hours, guests are transferred to a functioning room ASAP. If we are not able to do that (full house for example) that room-night is free.
We do have constant operational problems with our TV provider; On the plus side we have around 40 channels available. On the negative side, that is pretty useless if the TV does not work!
On this score, all front desk, housekeeping, maintenance and security staff are trained in assisting guests with TV connection problems with perhaps a 95% success rate.
We also have an after hours (Front desk closes at 10pm or 12pm flight nights) Manager on Duty (Room 101)--usually my wife and myself . We also maintain 24/7 security staff and we do hope that we can respond and assist at any time, with guest needs.
--Tom
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2015

A great place to stay if you are on the island. Nice beach area very friendly staff. Good kitchen and breakfeast, lunch and dinner selection is good.
The rooms are older but in good shape and functional.

Room Tip: all rooms face the ocean. all rooms have ac
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dieter1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom-Sadies, Owner at Sadie's by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2015

Thanks dieter1951,
Your candid comments are sincerely appreciated. I must say that our hotel was totally renovated and rebuilt about 7 years ago. I now realize that I should not have furnished with solid wood "period" furniture.as it makes the hotel appear older than it really is. I chose turn-of-the-century "Mission" style thinking that it suited the period when Sadie was in residence in Pago Pago. (see W. Somerset Maugham's short story "RAIN")
If one is not aware of this, it seems that guests prefer "Modern" . One problem is that "Modern" materials, such as pressed fiber board are used extensively in modern furniture making, and unfortunately does not hold up well in our tropical environment..
We do hope to see you again soon and thanks for commenting on TripAdvisor.
--Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews