We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so Central”
Review of Sadie's by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sadie's by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pago Pago
Reviewed 29 May 2015

Considering its Pago Pago, this place is terrific. Very central and easy to find... great outlook onto the wettest harbour in the world and a good little pool and beach. The restaurant is terrific but the highlight is the staff. I was about to waste half a day trying to find a rental car on a sleepy Sunday and the lady at the front desk went out of her way to get one (probably the hotels own) and to arrange its delivery in 15 minutes. I was set to explore this US outpost thanks to the kind and responsive service.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mal1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2015

Central if you are in American Samoa for business or even a holiday, as aside from great rooms and great food, the hotel has a private beach for hotel guests. I usually ask for a room in the new wing close to the restaurant on the ground floor or any of the rooms on the second floor from 203 to 208. The hotel and restaurant staff are very helpful. The Restaurant and Beach (aside from the rooms with a flat screen of 40+ channels) are the main features and where you can sit and do absolutely nothing but enjoy! The rooms are well air conditioned and the outside area enjoys a gentle sea breeze.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BeautifulSamoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2015

I have now been to American Samoa on two visits for business. I write this as I sit in a room in desperate need of a refurbishment with an unmade single bed next to the queen, non functioning air conditioning, no replenishment of Tea and Coffee from the last visitors (or maybe the ones before them) and generally unclean bathroom. I would highly recommend Tradewinds Hotel if you don't need to see the Harbour and want a comfortable clean room with great attention to detail. I need to give the very friendly and helpful staff a great review

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieDavidGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom-Sadies, Owner at Sadie's by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2015

OMG! Please accept our most sincere apologies for sending you to an unserviced room. Houskeeping Supervisor checks all rooms after servicing and activates air-conditioning etc...obviously there was a mis-communication between Reception and Housekeeping.

It is very puzzling that we have no record of this situation...neither with Housekeeping nor Reception. And equally puzzling as to why Management was not contacted immediately, but rather comments posted on TripAdvisor
--Tom
Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015

My husband and I stayed at Sadies By the Sea in late February, 2015. The staff were welcoming and after a short walk up the stairs we came to our room. We were thankful the air conditioning was on as the level of humidity made us really uncomfortable, not being quite acclimatized to living in a tropical environment.(Phew!)
The room was very comfortable and we really liked the area off the bathroom which contained a microwave, assorted coffee, biscuits and percolator. The location was ideal if you wanted to explore and the beach near the pool was beautiful for swimming, nice and private with a view of Pago Pago's magnificent natural harbour.
The restaurant was fantastic!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sammyanne024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2015

Have stayed here before, but this trip taken March 2015. Location is great with proximity to the government complexes, National Park and the Hospital. It is also rather central if sightseeing and exploring the different choices for eateries is what you want to do on this trip. All the rooms are different as far as the number and configuration of beds-it is more european For example you can get a queen and twin, two full size or a single king configuration if desired. The inconsistent part-upon check in the TV have been completely disconected (there is an elaborate cable feed, with 2 different remotes so hook up is essential to operation) and the air conditioner fan worked but did not get cold. SO sheck everything upon check-in. The down stairs rooms have tile floors and the upstairs rooms have carpet, if you have a preference. All the linens and draperies have been updated. Otherwise this is as clean and comfortable a place as you can find here in American Samoa. There is only one 'western-style hotel here' reviewed separately (Tradewinds-Western Style Hotel in Am Samoa). The big pluses here: 1) the hotel gift shop has nice things, lots of drinks/alcohol and sundries along with some nice souveniers. 2) The hotel restaurant is fantastic called Goat Island and right across the parking lot, they even have a large meeting room. 3) Pool and beach area both lovely.

Room Tip: Depends on what you want, no elevator rooms upstairs have carpet and downstairs have tile. Rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cardiotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom-Sadies, Owner at Sadie's by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2015

Hello Cardiotron,
It's always good to have frequent contributors to TripAdvisor such as yourself, send in a review. Thanks.
In response to your comments regarding in-room problems, our Housekeeping Manager is tasked with reviewing all rooms before a new guest arrives. Obviously we did not score well on that point!
We have in-house AC servicing and, should problems arise, they are normally handled in an hour or so. If not or the problem arises after hours, guests are transferred to a functioning room ASAP. If we are not able to do that (full house for example) that room-night is free.
We do have constant operational problems with our TV provider; On the plus side we have around 40 channels available. On the negative side, that is pretty useless if the TV does not work!
On this score, all front desk, housekeeping, maintenance and security staff are trained in assisting guests with TV connection problems with perhaps a 95% success rate.
We also have an after hours (Front desk closes at 10pm or 12pm flight nights) Manager on Duty (Room 101)--usually my wife and myself . We also maintain 24/7 security staff and we do hope that we can respond and assist at any time, with guest needs.
--Tom
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sadie's by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sadie's by the Sea

Address: Utulei Beach, Pago Pago, Tutuila 96799, American Samoa
Region: American Samoa > Tutuila > Pago Pago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pago Pago
Price Range: €107 - €118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sadie's by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sadie's By The Sea is the only full service, beach front resort in American Samoa, located in the heart of the government and business centers of the island, and close to many tourist attractions. Sadie's by the Sea is a fun, charming resort with first class Polynesian service. Lush forested mountains surrounding Pago Pago's deep blue harbor complete the view from every room. Our private beach and clear warm water, just a few steps from your room, are perfect for swimming, snorkeling and kayaking year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Sadie's by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sadie`s By The Sea Hotel Pago Pago
Sadies By The Sea Pago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing