We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise!”
other traveller has booked this property
Open Palms Plantation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open Palms Plantation
View of the Koolau Mountain Range as you drive into the property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
Open Palms Plantation
View of the Koolau Mountain Range as you drive into the property
Living area
Bedroom and living area
California King Bed
Kitchen with full size refrigerator
Private Bathroom
Twin beds in separate bedroom with A/C
Some of many tame wild white doves
Hunter, my new golden retriever
Private BBQ gazebo
Private gazebo and BBQ area
Waimanalo Beach, #1 Beach in the US 2015, only a five minute drive away!
View of the Koolau Mountain Range
Sunset view from the main house
Moon rise view from the gazebo and mainhouse
Hawaiian Rainbow!
View of the Koolau Mountain Range waterfalls after a heavy rain
View from house, Mt. Olamana
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Waimanalo, Oahu, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
anbruc1
Soldotna, Alaska
1 review
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 6 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

My family and I recently stayed at Open Palms. It is a paradise! Close to the best beaches, centrally located to activities, minutes to great shopping at Kailua and restaurants, and close to the grocery store. It was so nice to stay in such a beautiful and peaceful setting. Everything we needed was provided for us - snorkel gear, coolers, and beach chairs. We had plenty of room to spread out at the end of the day and enjoy meals on the gorgeous lanai looking at the mountains while we ate our meals or watching movies inside. Our host, Kitty, was so kind and generous. She made us feel so welcome and had all the information we needed for our travels. We would highly recommend Open Palms to anyone traveling to Oahu. Thank you Kitty!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2018
It was so nice getting to know your family. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay at Open Palms Plantation.Thank you for the kind review.Take care and God bless!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
745clinto...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location ”
Reviewed 17 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The best beaches and views are on this side of the island. Very close to konahuanui hiking. If you want a real travel experience stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haney R
1 review
“Open Palms Plantation is even more beautiful than the photographs!”
Reviewed 17 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Kitty was waiting outside with open arms to greet us when we turned up the gravel drive. She helped us unload, took us in and showed us where everything was, both inside and out. Kitty made herself available each day and responded immediately to a text or call, eager to answer any question or accommodate any need. She even has a beautiful glossy black baby grand in her living room that she would love to hear you play if you so desire! But if you prefer solitude and rest, this is the place for that as well. It was a great place to get away from it all.

The guest quarters have a private entrance at the end of her beautiful house. Everything looks exactly like the pictures, but you might be pleasantly surprised to find a box of Hawaiian Host dark chocolate covered macadamia nut candy awaiting you on the sofa table. Every room was clean, well-maintained, beautifully furnished & decorated, and very comfortable. I loved all the windows in each room, letting in light, fresh air, and all the relaxing sounds of nature. Each morning it sounded like the earth was waking up and coming to life. Everything you need is there, from condiments in the refrigerator to coffee, tea, sugar, sweetener, creamer in the cabinet, to olive oil & Pam spray, to shampoo, conditioner & bath gel in the bathroom, to laundry detergent. (So don't stop on the way and buy all those things before checking out the kitchenette.)

You will enjoy leisurely strolls around the lush and beautifully landscaped property, or visiting the horses or the friendly dog Hunter, sitting or eating outside under the covered lanai, or simply lying in her hammock under the huge Monkey Pod tree gazing at the beautiful mountain range through the palm trees. The mountains are so close you can almost reach out and touch them. While enjoying the hammock, I actually recorded several minutes of the multitude of chirping birds, insects, occasional dog bark and crowing rooster on my MP3 app so that I can listen to it here at home when I need to take myself back to the serenity of Open Palms Plantation. You will enjoy the comforts of home, but in the surroundings of paradise! This amazingly beautiful property was designed and developed, and immaculately maintained by Kitty herself. She is right when she calls it "a slice of Heaven."

You can get to anywhere on the island easily from Waimanalo, including the N Shore in 1.5 hrs or less. The Polynesian Culture Center is just up the coastal hwy less than an hour away. Pearl Harbor and Diamond Head Crater are easy to get to. So don't be spooked by the seeming isolation when first driving in from HNL to Kitty's address. It's rural, and that's just what we wanted. But, Safeway and Foodland are not far away. Foodland always has a great take-out selection of entrees, salads, vegetables, desserts, etc. for a complete meal.

We will always remember Open Palms Plantation and its gracious hostess Kitty. We would definitely go there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rfowler51...
Brier, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than expected and truly a bit of paradise”
Reviewed 2 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Open Palms. Kitty (and Hunter, her golden retriever) welcomed us and acquainted us with the many amenities that the guest house includes. (Don’t go to the grocery store until you’ve seen what’s already provided in the kitchen, bathroom and laundry area!) There is a lot of floor space and the bed is comfortable. The rural location, at the base of the gorgeous Ko’olau range, is breathtaking, and the foliage is full of interesting birds. Although much of Oahu is fairly dry, this area, the windward side, is incredibly lush. It gets humid in the evening, so we recommend turning on the air conditioner for a sounder sleep. The island is relatively small, but there are good roads over the range to Honolulu or up to the north shore, so we did not feel hampered by the fact that we were not closer to Honolulu, and it doesn’t take long to get to the other side. As much as we enjoyed seeing Oahu, though, we were quite happy to have down time at Open Palms and went out of our way to make sure we had some. There are plenty of good restaurants in the area, and Kitty has included a binder with sample menus. Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoya A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquil Beauty”
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

When I first saw "Open Palms Plantation" on the internet, while looking for the vacation rentals in Oahu, I did not believe that what I am seeing on the photos is actually true. It was too good to be true :-) But I am happy to share with you that, yes, "Open Palms Plantation" is awaiting for you in Waimanalo, Oahu. And what you see is exactly what you get!
Kitty Nichols, the owner, awarded us with unique vacation experience. Kitty is welcoming and so kind; the grounds of the property are like a tropical botanical garden; the guest unit is well-stocked, tastefully decorated, comfortable and quiet; the gorgeous Waimanalo beach is a 2-minute-drive away; the neighborhood itself is picturesque, adorned by Ko'olau mountain.
So treat yourself to this unforgettable pleasure of visiting Oahu and staying at "Open Palms Plantation"!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing