We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii(Kaneohe)(Great Value!)
US$356
US$314
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$489
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Pagoda Hotel(Honolulu)
US$141
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$197
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$174
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Ilima Hotel(Honolulu)
US$187
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki(Honolulu)
US$152
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
10
3
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
3
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarger unitthe main housefull kitchenbeach equipmentshort walk to the beacha great place to staynorth shorekailua beachshowerkitchenettesleeplanairentalhostessoahuwaikiki
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2014

We found this place on line and then called Barbara directly to make the reservation. This was the perfect place to stay after our week on Waikiki. We felt a far different and more relaxed atmosphere from the minute we stopped into the Morning Brew for a coffee in town on arrival. We then set out to find our next Oahu experience. With a little help from Barbara we found 516A from the big numbers on the wall next to the narrow driveway. We were pleased with the very spacious Hiilani unit and settled in for a three night stay. The unit was well stocked with supplies and to top things off, the shower head has a setting for something like a misty light rain. The driveway is narrow, but with a little effort I learned to turn around at the house so we could back-in to the parking stall and then drive straight out each morning. You are short walk to the beach and a short drive to the exhilarating Lanikai Pill Box hike. It is also a nice drive to the North Shore.

Room Tip: Barbara has two units, a small studio type and the bigger unit. I would stay in either unit.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed in the Hiilani unit for 9 nights in June. We arrived at 2am and Barbara had left the unit open for us with some lights on, so we were able to go straight in and get settled. The unit is large and totally comfortable with everything you need. Great lanai area with an outdoor setting and BBQ and all the beach equipment that you need. Kailua Beach is a 5 minute walk away and Kailua Town a 20 minute walk. Kailua Town has great shops and restaurants, and is a lovely place to stay. Barbara was a real pleasure to deal with and this is where we will stay our next time in Kailua. Highly recommend all of it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

A friend and I stayed in the larger unit for 10 days in March 2014. It was to be a relaxing vacation as well as visiting my son who was in Oahu in the military. I was uneasy about booking any room online that I was not familiar with and only had the pictures and reviews to rely on. The price was so good, it made me even more uneasy. I had no reason to worry whatsoever! The larger unit we stayed in was exactly as her pictures show on her website. It was clean, spacious and comfy! We had everything we needed, which was a worry since we traveled from the east coast and had limited packing space. Barbara provided a full kitchen with a refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave, coffee maker, toaster oven, toaster, waffle maker, blender, pots and pans, dish detergent, hand soap, dishes, silverware, washer and dryer, hair dryer, internet service, cable TV and more! The unit provided comfortable kitchen table dining area, living room furniture and the beds were wonderful and little noise to awaken you. Clean linen, clean floors, clean bathroom that has a shower only ,but great water pressure and bath linens. There were plenty of fans and a great working AC unit. We had 2 comfy beach chairs, beach towels, a beach mat, umbrella, boogie boards and cooler. We rented a car ,which was a real plus and even though the unit is close to the beach, we drove, as not to have to carry all our beach things. Driving in Kailua was easy as long as we used our GPS. There are several beautiful beaches to visit that are all nearby. The unit is close to town to go out and eat, plus super markets to buy food. There were only a few things that were not perfect, but not a reason to not stay at Barbara's. The driveway is narrow and may take a few days to get used to backing out of. Barbara was doing some renovations to her own living space and we had to listen to some sawing and hammering. She apologized, but I felt we should have been warned this was going to happen. We didn't use the pool, only because we spent all our time at the beach, however Barbara did offer use of the pool. Barbara is a sweet, genuine lady, who left us alone, but we felt we could approach her easily if we needed anything. Over all, this was a great place to stay, clean and very adequate. I was very satisfied and would go back and stay there if I return to Kailua in Oahu. You are close to Honolulu for city life ,but if you want privacy,less traffic and low night life, but a terrific relaxing beach adventure, the Kailua town and Auntie Barbara's place is the place for you! Thank you Barbara for a comfy Beach Paradise stay!

Room Tip: Larger room is more value for your money and nightly stay. Renting a car is a must!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DonnaS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Booked on line. Hiilani Apartment was clean, very well maintained and appointed, quite outstanding, in fact. Auntie Barbara is a great hostess and her property reflects her aloha. Complete kitchen, well equipped, cable TV. Comfortable beds, plush towels, boogie boards and beach chairs and a small lanai. A short walk to one of the world's great beaches. 10 days in paradise. A former resort manaer, Iwould have charged more. Mahalo Nui Loa Kakou

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Auntie Barbara's was the perfect little spot for us! We don't speed a while lot of timer in our room when we travel so this soothed out great. The property is about a 10 minute walk to the beach and the beach access is easy to find. There were Panama Jack chairs (the best beach chairs! ) in the room.
Barbara provided a loaf of homemade banana nut bread, some fruit, and cereal and milk for breakfast. We took advantage of the bread and fruit one morning as it made the perfect breakfast to carry to to top of the Pillbox Trail one morning for the sunrise.
The little town and the beach park is about a5 minute drive and Honolulu is only about 25 - 30 minutes away.
The main challenge we had was the long narrow driveway. It was tricky at times to get out, especially in the dark! We utilized the A/C unit and it blocked out any outside noise.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoadTripinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews