We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical, friendly and safe!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Northshore Hostel Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2017

The staff at Northshore really do a great job of welcoming newcomers. It has been decades since I stayed in a youth hostel. This one was Safe, Clean and affordable (especially for Hawaii!) The free breakfast is a nice touch.
ADVICE: Bring ear plugs.
Otherwise, great place to stay on a budget!

Room Tip: There are rooms either for 1-2 people. I arrived late, so was sin the open bay dorm style w/7 other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MiKeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2017

Clean hostel but STRICTLY enforced EARLY quiet hours as of 10PM. There's a lovely balcony but STRICTLY enforced quiet hours on the balcony too :(

Lovely private rooms but there's nowhere in this hostel to socialize with other travellers after quiet hours :(

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the HUGE windows if traveling as a couple ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank danoeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Excellent!!! Clean, friendly supportive staff, excellent location, quiet and rooms have air-conditioning. Just a great place I highly recommend it and I will be sure to visit again. Soon I hope . Oh and not to forget the wonderful complimentary breakfast. Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank Rita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

It is clean and at the end of the day that's all I really want from a hostel.

But the lady at the front desk was crazy rude and made me feel very unwelcome. I'm not sure if I did something to offend her, if she didn't like the look of my face, or what. I know that I couldn't have caused any problems, I flew out last minute to attend the big wave comp and was barely present at all during my three day stay. When I asked her if there were any restaurants nearby open after 8:30PM (I'd been on a boat in the channel all day and was ravenously hungry) her response was "How would I know? We have information in the binder."

Except the binder had very little information, not all of it up to date. And, come on, it's not like Wailuku is some massive metropolis.

Tell her to work on her people skills a little. Answering simple questions is part of her job.

It is the cheapest place to stay on that side of Maui and they do keep it clean. Ample parking across the street. There's also a rehab next door and the residents make a lot of noise. I was dead to the world each night so it didn't bother me, but if you're a light sleeper it will.

All in all it is not the best hostel I've stayed in, but it is far from the worst.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank Rory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Awesome, super clean, friendly, quiet place! Would go there again right away. Bus stations are nearby as well as caffees and grocery stores.It was better then we expected. And free breakfast was nice bonus :)

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
3.5 km away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,104 reviews
3.2 km away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
567 reviews
5.6 km away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,284 reviews
19.3 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,185 reviews
18.1 km away
Tiki Beach Hostel
Tiki Beach Hostel
#33 of 43 in Lahaina
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northshore Hostel Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northshore Hostel Maui

Address: 2080 W Vineyard St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-5614
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Wailuku
Price Range: €41 - €85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and E Komo Mai! The Northshore Hostel Maui is an ideal location to explore our tropical paradise. Spend your entire holiday with us or just one night! Our rates are the lowest on Maui and we strive to offer impeccable customer service to guests of all ages. We are located in downtown Wailuku, in the foothills of the West Maui Mountains, only 5 miles (10K) from the airport. We offer free airport transfers for our guests. Our facility is clean, safe, secure and friendly. A hostel is a great way to meet new people and save your hard earned money! You will find it easy to relax and feel comfortable and enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you soon. A hui hoa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Northshore Hostel Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northshore Maui Hotel Wailuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing