We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Quiet One”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Northshore Hostel Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2017

I stayed at 4 Maui hostels over a 3 week period – BANANA and NORTH SHORE at Wailuku, ALOHA SURF at Pai’a and TIKI BEACH at Lahaina. I review each separately on TRIP ADVISOR and can confidently say that for travelers seeking a quieter option to the sometimes boisterous atmosphere at the others, NORTH SHORE does the job.

As such, it tends to attract a slightly older, more mature clientele. Other pluses include: it's extremely well organised – I particularly liked the after-hours arrival set up and the very helpful information folders/fact sheets/publications which told me stuff I didn’t know even after 2 weeks on the island; helpful staff (hats off to super-efficient MOMO): airconditioned dorms compared with fans at 2 others; free airport/beach/Ioa Valley shuttle; free pancakes; very sturdy bunk beds (I was unaware someone was sleeping above me one night); big spacious bathrooms – 4 in number which seemed sufficient for the relatively small number of guests; relaxed living area, keypad entry which kept the door to outside locked to non-guests; big free well-lit public carpark directly across the road, good wifi, relaxing upstairs front balcony, post 2200 quiet time practised and not just given lip service.

DOWNSIDES: small kitchen got crowded at peak eats times; 8 person dorm a bit cosy; location isn’t near touristy attractions or a big supermarket (however plenty of eats joints/bars nearby); PC a bit clunky; limited clothes-line area; doesn’t offer the free island tours of BANANA and ALOHA SURF; older building so beginning to show a bit of wear and tear (but the place is kept very clean).

THE RATING: I have rated all 4 of my hostel stays ABOVE AVERAGE. But if BANANA deserves 4 stars, NORTH SHORE beats it with 4.2 which I judge equal to TIKI BEACH. Only ALOHA SURF at 4.5 is better IMHO.

TIPS
- make sure you write down the entry code # given when booking to ease keypad entry on arrival.
- NORTH SHORE indicates you use bus#20 to/from down town – bus stops are at the State Office Block building 400/500m to the south-west of the hostel. Online’s better mapping locations will show these stops. But be aware buses 1 and 2 have stops in Nth Market St only 400m down around (left) the corner (to the north east) which may fill a gap between #20’s hourly schedule (although they take maybe 3X longer to reach downtown).
- IOA VALLEY is a great, no cost excursion from NORTH SHORE. Momo drove me up at 1000 and although many facilities are still closed from a devastating flood Sept 2016 it is still a great area to check out. Locals were ignoring barriers to sit in the lovey swimming holes of the river and so I jumped a barrier and took a 4 hour (return) ridge hike up adjacent to the famous IOA NEEDLE. Gotta say the rough trail and steep descent wrecked my 71 year old knees and so I didn’t appreciate the 5km walk back down the road to the hostel even though it was a gradual downhill and would be a doddle to most of you dudes.
- The free beach shuttle is to KANAHA BEACH PARK near the airport. This is a pretty nice strip of silica which happens to be one of the world’s premier KITE SURFING/WIND SURFING locations. I’m not sure if the hostel picks up on subsequent AIRPORT shuttles – if not you can come back independently by taking the short road across to the airport and catching a #35 or 40 bus into town and then changing to a #20,1 or 2 to the hostel.
- If you use the local buses make sure you have plenty of dollar notes: $2 each bus/no transfers. No change is given. A day pass ($4) is excellent value if you plan more than 2 rides. Buses have free bicycle racks, great for long trips against the wind (don’t ask how I know this) and NORTH SHORE has a $10 a day hire bicycle – bit of a clunker but it does the job.
- it is possible to get to most places on the island by bus (although frequency is not great) – but NOT to super popular HANA or the VOLCANO, or to the island’s best beach (BIG BEACH with the funky and super popular Sunday afternoon DRUM CIRCLE at adjacent clothing-optional LITTLE BEACH) or to some of the attractions in the island’s north west. Check the hostel’s notice board – many guests have rental cars and are looking for people to share the trip to these places.

I hope some of the above stuff may be useful. NORTH SHORE is not shabby at all. I can recommend.

Room Tip: Maybe rooms at the front of the hostel have some street traffic noise, but be aware this is not a ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank blackeldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Breakfast was included. Terrace with view to the street. Private rooms are really nice for a hostel (but overpriced like all accommodations in Hawaii). I would recommend Airbnb in Hawaii. Parking next door (free for 12 hours)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stefan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Cosy place with great staff and comfortable beds! I came with a rental car so I was pleased with the free public car park opposite the hostel. I also love the location. One street block south from the hostel is Main Street with plenty of food options and a Chevron gas station. From Main Street it is a straight road to Iao Valley, Kahului and Hana. One street block west from the hostel (perpendicular to Main Street) is High Street, where it is a straight road to Lahaina. Using this hostel as a base, I could easily drive around Maui and return to the hostel without GPS.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank autumncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

The hostel was very good. Clean both in the common areas, toilets and room. There is always space to park the car in the parking in front of the hostel. The staff is very polite and helps you out in organizing local activities in the island. Toilets are many and cleaned i guess twice a day because I never found them dirty. At night there is not any noise both from the hostel and from the street so after a day of intense activities, that was our case, we could really rest properly. I really enjoyed my stay there and I deeply recommend it.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Stefano D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

My second stay in a hostel and it was a very good experience. I felt at home because of the open atmosphere, created by the staff members and the owner. It´s a carefully renovated historic building in the mid of Wailuku.

If you´re a looking for:
- a well-equipped hostel (laundry-room, kitchen (e.g. free coolers, bags,), cheap snorkel equipment, bath mats, free airport shuttle....)
- a central starting point for Maui excursions
- well-structured information folder, where you get an idea which activities are possible (with and without a car)
- the possibilitiy to meet other interesting people in the lobby
(but it´s not a must! You can just stay alone, too.)
- four bathrooms with toilet & shower (that provides a bit privacy)


What you need:
- open-mindset
- a little bit patience during the bathroom rushhours
- maybe a car to have more flexibility (I had no car and travelled with other guests of the Northshore, which was also a great experience)
- love of the countryside
- like to go to sleep early (if you´re a party people, than you can relax and recharge your batteries there)

What you get:
A pleasant and relaxing vacation period!


P.S. But be careful: At times you may have to come back, because you liked it so much ;-).

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Anja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
3.5 km away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,124 reviews
3.2 km away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
575 reviews
5.6 km away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,190 reviews
18.1 km away
Tiki Beach Hostel
Tiki Beach Hostel
#32 of 43 in Lahaina
71 reviews
18.1 km away
Hakuna Matata Maui
Hakuna Matata Maui
#40 of 43 in Lahaina
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northshore Hostel Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northshore Hostel Maui

Address: 2080 W Vineyard St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-5614
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Wailuku
Price Range: €40 - €84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and E Komo Mai! The Northshore Hostel Maui is an ideal location to explore our tropical paradise. Spend your entire holiday with us or just one night! Our rates are the lowest on Maui and we strive to offer impeccable customer service to guests of all ages. We are located in downtown Wailuku, in the foothills of the West Maui Mountains, only 5 miles (10K) from the airport. We offer free airport transfers for our guests. Our facility is clean, safe, secure and friendly. A hostel is a great way to meet new people and save your hard earned money! You will find it easy to relax and feel comfortable and enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you soon. A hui hoa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Northshore Hostel Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northshore Maui Hotel Wailuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing