We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healing at Lumeria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Makawao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2017

The Lumeria is such a beautiful location away from the tourist bustle in other parts of Maui. Close to Baldwin Park beach with great waves and shopping in Paia. Such a healing peaceful retreat! I'll be returning!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 447aimeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas D, Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Dear 447aimeeg,

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are blessed to be located where we are and truly celebrate much of our offerings to celebrate this uniqueness.

We are so pleased you will be coming back & we look forward to sharinmg more special experiences with you!

Have a great end to 2017!

With aloha,

Douglas & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017

Lumeria is a beautiful boutique resort in Maui. The rooms are well appointed and the grounds are well maintained and serene. The open fires are a great addition and the furnishings are lovely. What could have made this stay so much better is the service, while it's a quiet, peaceful and restful place, pool service and room service would be a welcome addition. The onsite restaurant is easily accessible but has restricted hours and without a car, it's difficult to get to Paia for food. Our style of travel is relaxing by the pool or on the lanai so these additions would suit our travel style. I would also suggest bottled water in the rooms as it's inconvenient to walk to reception to fill cups of water to carry back to your room for teeth brushing, etc. or just to stay hydrated. We were looking forward to trying one of the wellness treatments but after requesting a treatment, we never heard back from the practitioner, even after following up. Breakfast is included in the rate and consists of a simple buffet style spread. Overall our stay was good but it could have been so much more as this resort has the potential to be amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank 877alisonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas D, Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Dear 877alisonl,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us & choosing to stay at Lumeria.

Our experience has so much room to grow and improve. Whilst we cater to a wide range of groups and individuals, our offerings are always a work in progress as we continually improve our service level.

We do have some exciting plans for 2018 that I feel you will greatly appreciate. Changes from our food and beverage menus, concierge services and orientation will be valued additions we are looking forward to sharing.

Thank you again for your support & we look forward to welcoming you back to Maui soon.

Sincerely,

Douglas & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Everything was very good. I had a few problem with sheets cleanness. As airlines getting harsh on bringing a big bag. I did not bring any shower stuff. It seems to me staff were very stingy about the amenities.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 968tammyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas D, Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Dear 968tammyt,

Thank you sharing your review and staying with us at Lumeria.

Whilst you shared your stay was excellent, we are always looking into ways in which to improve our offerings.

We do have fully appointed amenities that are refreshed each day. We are more than happy to replace & restick howver nbeccessary.

We do hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again and will ensure your needs are well taken care of.

Sincerely,

Douglas & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

This is in upcountry Maui on the northshore. Which means it can be very windy and no beach nearby. But if you’re looking for a place to relax and experience “slow Hawaiian style” this is the place to do it. It’s between Pa’ia and Makawao towns (both are quaint little towns to walk around), only 30-40 mins from the airport and you will feel like you’re in a very different Maui than the very developed south shore.

We were here as part a group for 7 day yoga retreat. It was our first time here but we really enjoyed our stay but I would recommend booking directly with the hotel so you can select the room.

Rooms: The Hotel has 4 buildings where the rooms are located and forms a horseshoe around the the inner courtyard and garden.

They only have 24 rooms and only a few are suites. The suites are the only rooms the have doorways that face interior courtyard and exterior (In building 1: 1A and 1D). We were in 1D and it’s huge and worth the extra price. Main room has a four poster king bed. The daybed can comfortably sleep two children or one adult.

In each building, rooms either face interior courtyard or exterior.

Building 1: furthest from the lobby on the right. I think this is the quietest building, particularly the ones the face the exterior whispering pines forest. Each room has a sitting area outside with a Balinese Lounge bed. But there is no privacy guards between room. The rooms facing the whispering pines also have partial ocean views and gets a nice breeze and afternoon sun. The interior facing rooms have a covered porch, so it’s shaded all day.

Building 2: adjacent to the lobby on the right and exterior rooms face the back gardens. The interior rooms have the fire-pit sitting area right in front, so can be noisy at night if guests hang out to chat and toast marshmallows around the fire pit.

Building 3: adjacent to the lobby on the left and next to the hotel restaurant. Exterior rooms face the front garden, reception building and temporary parking for Check-in. So this can be noisy in the morning. Interior rooms have covered patio and lack privacy, being between lobby and restaurant. Room here likely have the least privacy and most noise.

Building 4: furthest from the lobby on the left. Interior rooms are closest to the pool and hot tub, so maybe a little noisy. But good privacy. Exterior rooms face the walkway between pool, parking lot and hotel restaurant and really lack privacy. The exterior room porch lights are also super bright since it needs to light the walking path. It’s also right next to the restaurant, so you really can’t sit outside to enjoy your private outdoor space.

Furniture/Decor: Balinese/Hawaiian plantation style. There are ceiling fans but no air conditioner and no TV. The room does get hot in the middle of the day. Most nights it cools down but some nights it was hot.

Bath: large shower, sink and toilet, comfortably fit two adults.

Food: Our group includes all food. Breakfast is pretty standard fare (scrambled eggs, fruit, sausage and potatoes) and the same daily. Tea and coffee included. But we enjoyed both the lunches and dinners. Local, healthy food. We had a different menu daily for the 7 days. The salads were super tasty and fresh, entrees were fish, beef or chicken. The burger is one of my favorite.

Pool: the pool is average size and saline which is very nice. The water is lightly heated which feels very nice on a hot day. We swam every day.

Yoga: we were with our own group for yoga but hotel offers free daily exercise or activities as well.

The staff was so nice and we enjoyed our room and all the outdoor nooks to relax in. I loved our outdoor patio with ocean view. Perfect to enjoy a cup of tea while reading a book.

Really enjoyed our stay here. Mahalo!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Luvtosafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas D, Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Dear Luvtosafari,

Were are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with. Thank you for sharing such a detailed review, as we are always gratwful when gusts take the time to truly immerse in what we have to offer here.

Your feedback is most welcomed and we look forward to making your next stay with us even more memorable in the future.

With aloha,

Douglas & tea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Great place to get away from daily hustle and bustle and disconnect. Nice change from crowded touristy beaches. Instead of ocean you get hammock and the breeze through the pine trees. Nice break in the schedule to sightsee during the day.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank dfgardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas D, Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Dear dfgardner,

Thank you very much for sharing your review with us.

We are so grateful to be located where we are with so much access to the gifts of the North Shore, yet off the beaten track!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the property for your next adventure on Maui.

Sincerely,

Douglas & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
40.1 km away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
21 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,189 reviews
25.1 km away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 km away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
36.5 km away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
36.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumeria Maui Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumeria Maui Retreat

Address: 1813 Baldwin Ave, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-7710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Makawao
Price Range: €367 - €557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lumeria Maui Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lumeria Maui, an educational retreat experience that will feed your body, mind and soul while connecting you with the authentic rhythm of Maui island. We offer a nourishing living campus of relaxing beauty for individuals and groups with daily classes and programs in yoga, meditation, healing arts, water sports and much more. Accommodations are included with all classes and programs. Relax, rejuvenate and connect with your unique self as you open your mind and feed your body and spirit. Immerse yourself in one of our signature programs - yoga and or detox/cleanse - inspiring a life in balance. Located on Maui's north shore, our restored historic buildings-with island and ocean vistas-have been designed to envelop you in an intimate, authentic environment. We encourage you to wander through our beautiful organic gardens, which supply our farm-to-table dining and our signature Lumeria Detox-Cleanse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lumeria Maui Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumeria Maui Retreat Makawao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing