We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic B&B, Fantastic Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maui Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maui Guest House
Ranked #2 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Smithers
1 review
“Fantastic B&B, Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

This was our first trip to Maui, and staying at Tanna's Maui Guest House was a wonderful experience. Her home is amazing and in a quiet location. Tanna is super helpful, a lot of fun, and very, very attentive to everyone's needs. Amanda had just arrived from Alaska to help Tanna, and she fit in right away. If we return to Maui, we'll stay here again, for sure! :)
Irene & Len, Smithers, BC, Canada

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    29
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
37
271
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
geelong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed at the Maui guest house over christmas as we wanted to avoid the hotel costs at this time. There was an amazing christmas lunch (soooo much food!) put on with presents and it was such a great day (and no charge) We had an absolutely fantastic time, the rooms are beautiful and spacious, the hot tubs great, nice pool, very clean, large kitchen which has all the extra things you need for cooking like oil, spices etc. Its about a half hour walk to the town or 15 min walk to supermarket but speak to tanner before going because she knows which roads have dangerous drivers and are unsafe. Speaking of Tanner she is amazing and has great advice on everything to do on the island (and others) and is really hospitable. I would defiantly stay here again and recommend it to friends and family. i was a bit nervous about staying in a B & B because i really like my own space but this was great, you could do you own thing and it was really spacious, but also very friendly. We also stayed in a hotel on the island and the value for money at the B & B was brilliant!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danniedow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Perry
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We just stayed 5 nights at the guesthouse with another couple and loved every minute of it. Tanna is a great host and Amanda puts together a mean fruit plate. We're looking forward to our next visit!! I can't find any negative things to say. It was just fantastic!!! Thanks Tanna and Amanda!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PortPerrySparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

My 16 year old daughter and I stayed for 7 nights in January and cannot say enough good things about this place. If you are a party animal liking late loud nights this is not for you. For everyone else it's perfect. It is an immaculately kept home away from home with every facility. Huge rooms, hot tubs, Huge plasma, dvd collection to die for, great breakfasts, super comfortable beds and Tanna & Tammie to look after you and give info you would not have access to in the resorts. We went to Honolulu afterwards and pined for Maui Guesthouse! Hope to return & return & return. I have travelled extensively and this one may just top the list. Loved it. Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanneplusone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Tanna is the greatest host and has everything needed for your explorations on Maui. As others have mentioned, there's great Tommy Bahama beach chairs, towels, coolers, ice, snorkel gear. There's a fully equipped and stocked kitchen in the main living area and a grill outside. Coffee, tea, fruit, muffins, bagels, cereal, juices, etc. every morning. Fantastic! Washer and dryer are a nice plus for longer stays, like ours, too. Our front room off the pool had a nice bathroom with a walk-in (Roman) shower, lots of counter space, extra towels and hair dryer. The room also has a nice hot tub, flat screen tv, DVD player (for Tanna's large movie collection) and free wifi. Don't go shopping before you arrive either, everyone is generous and there's plenty in the kitchen and house frig to share. When we needed a couple ziplock bags, they were there for us. Lots of condiments, spices, etc. too. There's ample parking out front as well. Tanna was always available for questions, advice, booking excursions, etc. It was like we had family on Maui. Much better than any resort. Tanna was kind enough to loan us a cooler for our stay in Paia on the North Shore (the more expensive place didn't have enough for us). We made time to return it at the end of our trip and left drinks, snacks, etc for the house and other guests to enjoy. The kindness, generosity and overall Aloha will inspire you! Other inns and hotels could learn a thing or two here. Don't change a thing Tanna and make that town aware of the treasure they have in your business! Best wishes!! Mahalo & Aloha!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerKNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
3.1 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,740 reviews
3.5 km away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
4.1 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
2.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
11.6 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Guest House

Property: Maui Guest House
Address: 1620 Ainakea Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1806
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood between historic Lahaina and the beach resorts of Kaanapali, The Guest House is the perfect location as your “home” to explore the island of Maui. Just a block from Wahikuli Beach, enjoy phenomenal snorkeling.Guest rooms are setup for maximum privacy, each with their own hot tub, yet there is plenty of space to mingle. Full breakfast, kitchen, laundry, internet access, salt water pool, discount car rentals and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maui Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Guest House Hotel Lahaina
Maui Guest House Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing