We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home”
Review of Maui Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maui Guest House
Ranked #2 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Port Perry
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Just like home”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We just stayed 5 nights at the guesthouse with another couple and loved every minute of it. Tanna is a great host and Amanda puts together a mean fruit plate. We're looking forward to our next visit!! I can't find any negative things to say. It was just fantastic!!! Thanks Tanna and Amanda!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortPerrySparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    29
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
38
278
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2012

My 16 year old daughter and I stayed for 7 nights in January and cannot say enough good things about this place. If you are a party animal liking late loud nights this is not for you. For everyone else it's perfect. It is an immaculately kept home away from home with every facility. Huge rooms, hot tubs, Huge plasma, dvd collection to die for, great breakfasts, super comfortable beds and Tanna & Tammie to look after you and give info you would not have access to in the resorts. We went to Honolulu afterwards and pined for Maui Guesthouse! Hope to return & return & return. I have travelled extensively and this one may just top the list. Loved it. Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanneplusone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Tanna is the greatest host and has everything needed for your explorations on Maui. As others have mentioned, there's great Tommy Bahama beach chairs, towels, coolers, ice, snorkel gear. There's a fully equipped and stocked kitchen in the main living area and a grill outside. Coffee, tea, fruit, muffins, bagels, cereal, juices, etc. every morning. Fantastic! Washer and dryer are a nice plus for longer stays, like ours, too. Our front room off the pool had a nice bathroom with a walk-in (Roman) shower, lots of counter space, extra towels and hair dryer. The room also has a nice hot tub, flat screen tv, DVD player (for Tanna's large movie collection) and free wifi. Don't go shopping before you arrive either, everyone is generous and there's plenty in the kitchen and house frig to share. When we needed a couple ziplock bags, they were there for us. Lots of condiments, spices, etc. too. There's ample parking out front as well. Tanna was always available for questions, advice, booking excursions, etc. It was like we had family on Maui. Much better than any resort. Tanna was kind enough to loan us a cooler for our stay in Paia on the North Shore (the more expensive place didn't have enough for us). We made time to return it at the end of our trip and left drinks, snacks, etc for the house and other guests to enjoy. The kindness, generosity and overall Aloha will inspire you! Other inns and hotels could learn a thing or two here. Don't change a thing Tanna and make that town aware of the treasure they have in your business! Best wishes!! Mahalo & Aloha!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerKNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

A must stay destination! The pictures are for real and we are so glad that we stayed here. Tanna has thought of everything for holiday travellers - the rooms are spacious, a hot tab at the back, the breakfast plentiful and fresh, access to a variety of herbal teas, ice tea and lemonade to drink, free use of snorkelling gear and the laundry...what more can you ask for? Everything is clean and it really does feel like a home and not a hotel. Lots of parking at the front and close to Lahaina town centre. Will be coming back here if ever in Maui again for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back - more secluded as guest can't access the backyard only the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saramac83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We spent a lot of time finding the best place for our family to stay on Maui (Dec 2011) and we are extremely pleased with how all that research payed off as The Maui Guest House with Tanna as host turned out to be the perfect home away. If you see this review, skip the rest of the alternatives and take the road to Tanna!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul-Espen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
3.2 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,078 reviews
3.5 km away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
4.1 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
2.9 km away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
902 reviews
2.5 km away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Guest House

Property: Maui Guest House
Address: 1620 Ainakea Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1806
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood between historic Lahaina and the beach resorts of Kaanapali, The Guest House is the perfect location as your “home” to explore the island of Maui. Just a block from Wahikuli Beach, enjoy phenomenal snorkeling.Guest rooms are setup for maximum privacy, each with their own hot tub, yet there is plenty of space to mingle. Full breakfast, kitchen, laundry, internet access, salt water pool, discount car rentals and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maui Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Guest House Hotel Lahaina
Maui Guest House Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing