We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanfront in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2017

This was our second stay at Napili Shores. The first was probably 8 years ago, in an oceanview one bedroom with at least one keiki. This was Mr and Mrs in an oceanfront studio, ground floor, building I, unit 174. A giant mirror in the kitchen held full views of the ocean and the sliding glass door opened onto a lanai with twenty feet of lawn to the trail and rocky shoreline below. The two ceiling fans were much needed, as this was a hotter-than-usual week on Maui. Our mission was to snorkel a great deal and this we did. In and out of the unit several times a day on snorkeling expeditions. Walk to Napili Bay, drive to the rest. We ate at the Gazebo: in line at 7:15, did not make the first seating when it opened at 7:30, but by 8:05 were at the best table in the room since the couple there finished their pancakes and moved on.

The grounds at Napili Shores are expansive and beautiful. The grills are kept clean and ready for use. We don't have much use for swimming pools since we are in the ocean several hours a day, but they both looked clean and attractive. There are showers to clean off sand at the gate next to the beach access.

We rented beach chairs for the week at the on-site shop. We always hope that the unit we rent will have beach chairs, but that is most often not the case. Our unit was well equipped with kitchenware. Our only complaint was that with the floodlight mounted on a palm tree in front of our lanai and the 'porch light' right outside our door, we had bright lights in stereo all night, which is not ideal. We wanted the curtains open for the breeze and the door to the condo has glass louvres above it, so there was no way to block the bright porch light.

Overall, Napili Shores is outstanding in its category, with great staff, beautiful grounds, attractive units and excellent location in an older-style Hawaiian setting.

Room Tip: Ocean front is always best, but ocean view is also nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LJHSViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017

Everything was great, nice view, enough room, but the temperature? It's soo hot in there especially at night. Luckily the beach was great and the security staff were friendly. The pools were nice. If you're planning to try eating at the gazebo, you have to get there at exactly seven when it opens or else you'll be stuck waiting!

Room Tip: Ocean view is more expensive and not worth it, because your right on the beach and your going to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank beachgirl5559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

They don't have an a/c in the room!
We were sweating like anticipation of hell at night!!
It's just a no-go at that climate-zone!

At our first evening, a cockroach was entering the room under the front-door. I smashed it and at least we didn't see another one in our room.

Housekeeping is only every 3rd day!

They do have only one smokers-section on the whole huge grounds.
It's clean, but no canopy or roof-top = so if it's raining, smoking is not a pleasure!
And if you are there about 8 p.m. the lawn sprinkler will automatically turn-on = so you'll get soaking wet, if you don't flee!!

But that was the only hotel on our whole honeymoon-trip which greeted us with a piccolo-bottle of champagne when we mentioned, that we are on our honeymoon.

And the ground are very well maintained and super-clean!
And they do have 2 gas-barbecues which you can use for free!!
The rooms do have a fully-equipped kitchen.
But no a/c, which we strongly missed!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bob x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

The location is perfect! You're steps away from Napili Bay. The only thing we were not prepared for was the noise. We have stayed at several condos in Maui and other locations. This is by far the loudest one. Anytime someone in the building shuts their door, you hear it. The doors have to be pulled hard to close, thus several times a day you hear doors slam shut. Since there isn't any AC and the buildings face into each other, there is a lot of noise from other families, kids yelling and people talking loudly. If you are looking for a quiet place, this is not it. Kahana Reef is extremely quiet when we stayed there, but we wanted to be closer to Napili Bay on this trip. We won't be staying here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

Grounds are very nice, we used the pools, shuffle board, laundry room and grills all clean and well cared for. The sand beach really is a short walk away. Staff was fantastic-we had two of our 3 rooms upgraded to ocean front. My husband was pleased that there was visible security at night. This complex is farther north than the main cluster of resorts. A good value.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank SandraE27526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
8.2 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,237 reviews
5.4 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,618 reviews
37.8 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.3 km away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
7.4 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger

Address: 5315 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9096 (Formerly Outrigger Napili Shores)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: €154 - €351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Napili Shores Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Napili Shores
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Napili Shores Maui By Outrigger Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing