We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view , poor condo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Napili Point Resort
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2017

This most recent trip was our 3rd time staying at NPR. We stayed a week in unit A3 . The unit is very old and outdated. Suggestion for the owners is it needs new appliances, better cooking pots and pans that are not warped and unusable, a strainer for pasta and just more kitchen stuff . Everything in condo screams 1979 when it was built. I would also suggest black out curtains because sometimes you just want to sleep and don't want the sun shining in your eyes at 6 am. The units get very hot and while there was a small A/c unit in the bedroom it did little to cool down the whole unit and since there is no back door there was no breeze cooling it down. Now If you have little kids like 4-5 yrs old, prepare to carry them and all your stuff back and forth to the beach along the rocks that can get wet and slippery, I thought that in 10 yrs since i visited maybe the resorts would have had a solution to this, guess not. While it isn't far its just a pain, especially on the way back. It's a shame there isn't a path, or at least open the bloody gates between properties . The staff are very friendly

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank denslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Aloha – thanks for taking the time to write this review. We were disappointed in reading that you did not enjoy your stay in Unit #A3. Our records show that you requested an “A” level unit – between #A1 and #A5 with a specific request for #A5 which was not available for your dates of stay.

Unit #A3 is in our One Bedroom Point Ocean Front category - an often requested unit by our new and return guests due to its private location at the most northern end of the property and close proximity and easy access to Napili Bay. The long and beautiful sandy beach of Napili Bay is approximately 200 yards from our property. This bay can be accessed 3 different ways: 1) by an unimproved walking path from our property (the gate is open daily from 7am-7pm); 2) a short walk along L. Honoapiilani Rd., or; 3) driving.

We were perplexed at your comments regarding the difficulty of accessing Napili Bay on the walking path with children as our records indicate you only had adults in your party. The majority of our guests with children do not find the walk cumbersome and in fact have positive comments on the ease of access as well as the learning opportunity that the lava rocks and tide pools provide.

Please note that due to the location of the building/Units #A1-#A5, these units receive the least amount of direct sunlight (into the units) throughout the year. The majority of the one bedroom units are located on the “A” and “B” levels. The “A” level is a subterranean level, the “B” level is the first floor and the “C” level is the 2nd level where the majority of our two bedrooms are located. The “A” level units have no units above or below them and guests often comment how they do not hear anyone from neighboring “A” level units. These units have an amazing location with incredible views of the islands of Molokai and Lanai. Whale watching in the winter months from the lanai of one of these units is one of our guest’s favorite pastimes. All “A” level units have a small window AC unit as well as ceiling fans in the bedroom and living/dining room area.

With regard to your comments that the unit had outdated furnishings, we respectfully disagree. Management is committed to and works with our rental owners on a consistent basis, to upgrade and maintain units so that our guests are very comfortable during their stays.

Regarding the kitchen furnishings, our Front Desk staff is dedicated to making your stay with us comfortable and pleasurable which includes responding to every one of your requests to your satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not know of your unhappiness about any of the kitchen items or furnishings until reading this review! The unit has since been inspected and we find that both the kitchen and unit furnishings are well within our rental requirements and standards.

In closing, thank you for the nice comments regarding our staff which we have forwarded to them.

We are sorry that your overall expectations of your visit were not met but hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Mahalo,
Rodney Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for Napili Point Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2017

My wife & I [we're in the 65-70 age range] stayed @ NPR the last week of April. We were in condo A-1 @ ground-level, close to the water and with superb view of Molokai sunsets. Our condo was clean, comfortable & equipped with the basics so we cooked a few meals besides eating @ restaurants in Lahaina. The NPR housekeeping staff were friendly & helpful without being intrusive. We liked NPR's location near [1/2--3/4 1/2 mile?] Napili Point Plaza with its several food options [including super market]. Our goal was to relax, so @ NPR we primarily: sat outside on our patio & read books, swam daily in the close-by pool or @ the sandy beach about a 5-minute walk north, walked, made several trips south to Lahaina and one to the Aquarium in Maalaea; used NPR's free wifi. This trip we didn't drive to Hana or Haleakala. It rained hard [almost 5"] during our final two days @ NPR, but we were OK with that because we were in a great condo on west Maui.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We agree that our location directly on Honokeana Bay is amazing and that the sunsets are incredible with the islands of Lanai and Molokai as a backdrop.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the unit that you stayed in. We have forwarded your comments to the owner as well as to our Housekeeping staff with respect to their friendliness and service while with us.

We are pleased that your goal of your visit to relax was achieved! We hope that you will be able to visit again very soon.

Mahalo,
Rod Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

Can not say enough positive things about our trip. The condos are first class the diving with the turtles in the cove fabulous. I shot some great video of them. Every day we went and dove with them. Awesome stuff a little hard getting into water but WELL WORTH IT!!!!!!

Room Tip: Bring your own gear or rent it right next door
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kirk J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Mahalo for your review – we are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Our special thanks for the kind words regarding our staff – we have forwarded your comments to them.

Aloha - we appreciate you taking the time to write this review and are happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay! Situated just steps from beautiful Honokeana Bay and the ocean, watching the honu (turtles) and humpback whales is a favorite pastime for all of our guests. We would love for you to send us some of your great underwater video with the honu! Just email us at napilipointresort@napili.com.

With a magnificent backdrop of the islands of Lanai and Molokai, and our close proximity to Napili Bay Beach, shopping, hiking/walking trails, etc. , our location can’t be compared to anywhere else on Maui!

We hope you come visit again soon!

Mahalo,

Rod Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

We booked our stay through Donna Bender of MauiCalls. Our schedule freed up and my wife and I wanted to run away to Maui in February (without a place booked). Donna Bender jumped on our call for help and found us some wonderful options. She was responsive and polite--she did point out that it was winter in the rest of America and a little notice would be better. But she found us a place at Napili Point (right next to Napili Bay) looking down on Honokeana Bay. We spent a wonderful week watching whales and turtles. We loved the resort and our room. Thanks Donna!! The Lcal Grls Guide provided by Donna was very helpful for finding restaurants and activities in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank morsejmorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Mahalo for your review. We were pleased to read that you “spent a wonderful week” with us! Our guests love watching the humpback whales (mid-Dec thru April) and turtles (all year around!) from the lanais of their units and/or along our ocean front walkway just steps away from Honokeana Bay and the ocean.

Every condo at Napili Point Resort has an incredible ocean view. In the distance, the islands of Moloka’i and Lana’i rise from the warm waters of the blue Pacific, silhouetting spectacular legendary Maui sunsets.

We look forward to your next visit and hope that it will be soon!

Mahalo,

Rod Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

We arrived at Napili Point Resort and were surprised to see that we were basically on a reef. The resort is old and falling apart and is patrolled by unfriendly staff. We were told we had to "follow the path" to the beach, which was anything but a path. More like a rocky hike and major haul if you have children or want to carry an umbrella or chair. There was a constant parade of people trying to find a way into the water. The pool is a small square with no jacuzzi. We were accussed of parking there illigally and they threatened to tow our car. The cleaning staff was slow, almost lazy in their approach to "cleaning". Overpriced too, I would recommend the Mauian or Napili Sunset or Napili Kai if you want a ocean front experience that has beach access.

Room Tip: I would suggest not staying here. Tons of people walking around looking lost - No easy way into wat...
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yudoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Napili Point Resort is not a hotel. We are a Hawaiian style, low key and unobtrusive atmosphere – a perfect place to unwind and relax from the fast-paced world! We take pride in comments received from our guests, year after year, who say that staying with us is like “coming home” and that the friendliness of our staff exemplifies the Aloha spirit. One of our Trip Advisor reviewers stated the following: “It's not a 5 star resort with a million amenities but that is what makes this place so charming and perfect in my view.”

Our front desk, building maintenance, landscaping, and housekeeping staffs are committed to providing guests with professional and efficient service.

We would like to note for readers that we have no record of ANY of your complaints and the overall displeasure with your stay at our property, nor can we confirm with whom you made the reservation. If you were a guest in our on-site rental program and had come to the front office to express your displeasure, we would have made every effort to address each concern and offer options for your stay. From your comments, we question whether factual information was given to you regarding our property and location prior to booking the reservation.

You are correct that Napili Point Resort is located on a rocky promontory of land and coastline, facing into beautiful Honokeana Bay. Our property is a short walk to the sandy beach of Napili Bay. It can be accessed two (2) ways: 1) a walk along a rocky, unimproved ocean front foot path (3-5 minute walk from our property); or: 2) a walk along the road in front of our property.

Honokeana Bay is a very popular location in which to snorkel with turtles and view the beautiful coral reef. Napili Point does allow the public to cross the property to access the bay. We retain the services of a security officer to remind people who are not owners or guests of the property to not disrupt or inconvenience our guests.

With the ocean just feet from your door, swimming and snorkeling with the honu (turtles) in Honokeana Bay, beautiful sunsets, humpback whales (mid-December thru April), and the magnificent backdrop of the islands of Molokai and Lanai – the location of our property cannot be compared to any other on West Maui!

Mahalo,

Rod Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 km away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
0.2 km away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
5.6 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Kaanapali Alii
Kaanapali Alii
#4 of 32 in Lahaina
828 reviews
13.9 km away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.6 km away
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Napili Kai Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in Lahaina
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Point Resort

Address: 5295 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9158
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: €225 - €335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Point Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled above shimmering Honokeana Bay, Napili Point Resort is a 115 unit low rise condominium where every condo has an incredible ocean view. In the distance, the islands of Moloka'i and Lana'i rise from the warm waters of the blue Pacific, silhouetting spectacular legendary Maui sunsets. Relax at one of our two oceanfront swimming pools set amid our beautifully landscaped tropical grounds or our outdoor barbecues and picnic tables. Watch the waves roll into Honokeana Bay and during the winter months (December thru April) witness the humpback whales cavorting in the distance. This is the view from your own lanai. Here, you will find a quiet, relaxed and scenic Hawaiian atmosphere. This is your home in paradise...Enjoy some of the best snorkeling and swimming on Maui in Honokeana Bay. Multi-colored coral and countless tropical fish and sea turtles await you in the Bay - literally just steps outside your door. It's like an aquarium except that it's entirely natural and you swim among the fish and coral instead of looking through a window! At the tip of our "point" you will find tide pools filled with crabs, tiny hatchling tropical fish and countless other species to investigate. It's a great place to enjoy the natural beauty of the sea while only getting your feet wet! As a value rental program guest, you will enjoy the following amenities: Daily Housekeeping Service, Full Kitchen, Washer & Dryer, Hair Dryer, Lanai with Ocean View, Color TV with DVD Player, In-room Safe Two Swimming Pools, BBQs and Picnic Areas, Weekly Nature Walk, Pineapple Cutting Demonstration, Free WiFI and Broadband internet available. For broadband, you just need to provide your laptop computer with an ITC Ethernet jack (the Ethernet cord is provided in each unit). BBQ: 5 gas and 1 charcoal - guests must provide their own charcoal and lighter fluid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Napili Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Point Hotel Lahaina
Napili Point Lahaina
Napili Point Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing