We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,197)
Filter reviews
1,197 results
Traveller rating
436
419
180
96
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
419
180
96
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maui dreams come true putting green grocery store sea wall ocean front living room shuffle board sandy beach farmers market beautiful grounds tennis courts pools and hot tubs c unit washer and dryer full kitchen koi pond first morning
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 1,197 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Our entire Family booked condos at Papakea Resort! The individualized units made it fun to see the varied Aloha Style decor. We enjoyed a “Next day after the Wedding “BBQ at the spacious Pavillion near the Pool. In mid day the tide went out and we had a beach to swim with the turtles . There was the appearance of a few ants in some units but staff came to the rescue! Lots of eateries in the area. Papakea Resort was a great place to stay

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Betty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynMolinaReis, General Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Aloha Betty T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We greatly appreciate your kind words and support for the Papakea Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

Our family of 4 arrived on Wednesday after many hours of travel and a shopping trip to the store. Upon unpacking groceries, we saw little white ants all over the kitchen walls, cupboard doors and shelves, inside on the dishes, we immediately called the front desk and informed them of the issue. We were told that the manager had just left for the day and they would try to call them and in the meantime they would have housekeeping stop by. This was around 5:30pm. Two gentlemen did come in to see the ants and didn’t have any suggestions on what we could do other than wait for the manager to call us when they get into the office tomorrow at 9am. They said they referred to those ants as ghosts ants.
We did not unpack that night as we were worried ants would get into our luggage. Waking up early around 6am and walk to the front desk. We are told again to wait until 9am for the property manager to arrive as they (the front desk) are only there to check guests in and out, they are not the company of the rooms.
I start calling the number on the business card the front desk gave me at 9:05 and called nearly 15 times pressing every option possible without reaching anyone. I received a call back and was told to go look at one other 2 bedroom room that would be available later that day as well as 2 other rooms that each had 1 bedroom next to each other. That would not be an option as we were not going to split up our family. We looked at the room and found it acceptable. We called the company and told them we would take it. We were told it would be ready around 2 hours later. Two hours went by and no one called so again, I called and was told it was ready. We went to the front desk and got a key and moved our family into a new room.
The rooms had 1 small A/C unit in the wall in the living room that never cooled down the entire space. And it was so loud! It was always going at full force trying to cool it down. The furniture was old and cheap. The walls are dirty and have paint spots where they attempted to cover up holes but the paint doesn’t match. The paint all over was not done well at all. There were several broken drawers in the kitchen and no non stick pans which made it very difficult to cook anything. Only ONE spatula to use. Dishwasher is old and several pieces inside are broken. There was garbage under the furniture and hair on the bathroom counters. The carpet and linoleum are so old and disgusting.
At the end, we were refunded the cleaning fee for the week which was $92 and after asking for more, we were refunded $34 additionally.
We will NEVER stay there again. I don’t know how there are so many good reviews but we had to share this stay as it was awful for such a beautiful island to be staying on.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
7  Thank Hmills18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynMolinaReis, General Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Aloha Hmills18,

Please accept my sincerest apology for the inconvenience you experienced while staying at the Papakea Resort. Your comments allow us to evaluate our services and focus our efforts as we continually strive to maintain a high level of service. Despite the disappointment…I hope you enjoyed your vacation and returned home with many wonderful memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

We showed up in the afternoon of the 18th after a long flight and trip to the grocery store we walked in, put groceries down to get dinner started and found ants taking over the counters, cupboards, walls and even the fridge (I have many videos and pics). After contacting the front desk we find out that they only check people in and you have to wait for the business that runs the rentals to open after 9am the following day. They offered to fumigate the room while we where out for the day, after talking with and having multiple employees stopping by to verify the ants we got relocated into a different room the following day but saw they put someone else right into the room that night . You never get to deal with the actual people or company running the rentals and was given a business card to deal with the property manager, dirty, (found hair and trash around bathroom and bedroom), no restaurant on site you have to go to a different resort for a evening out, doesn’t look like any renovations have ever been done, the hot water tank was only a 40 gallon tank so that makes getting ready a Bear especially if you have a couple kids to run thru the shower as well ( 2 adults, 2 teenage kids and had to wait to get everyone showered because we had to wait for more hot water), rooms look nothing like any of the pictures, old appliances, worn outlets, power cords, at least 2-3 remotes for each tv.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank KyleM1lls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynMolinaReis, General Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Aloha KyleM1lls,

Please accept my sincerest apology for the inconvenience you experienced while staying at the Papakea Resort. Your comments allow us to evaluate our services and focus our efforts as we continually strive to maintain a high level of service. Despite the disappointment…I hope you enjoyed your vacation and returned home with many wonderful memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

The Aston Papakea grounds were beautiful with the flowers, ponds, putting greens, etc all neatly manicured and obviously well taken care of. The location was perfect. We took a short morning walk every day to one of two coffee shops, there was a grocery store across the street and even a variety of restaurants - all in walking distance. The pools and jacuzzi were clean and well maintained and there were always plenty of chairs. They even had gas grills to around each pool to grill out on your own. Thoroughly enjoyed this property. We will be back!

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Jaminoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynMolinaReis, General Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Aloha Jaminoe,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your review of the Papakea Resort. We thank you for the kind words and appreciation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit to Maui.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

We liked the area and the utilities provides as dishwasher, washer and more. It was really close to the ocean and had a little tiny strip of beach. I don't know if our particular unit haven't been renovated but it felt like everything been the same as since 1976 when the resort was built. Resort feeling yes, luxury no, cheapest resort in the area? Maybe. We would book it again though.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tulda_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynMolinaReis, General Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Aloha Tulda_b,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at the Papakea Resort. Our goal is to consistently provide the highest possible standards in both quality of product, and quality of services to all of our guests, and it is vital to our continued success to know when we have fallen short of this goal. We hope that you will allow us another opportunity upon your return visit to the islands to demonstrate our ability to serve you in a manner more customary with the reputation we have proudly built.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews