We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place- so glad I ignored tepid reviews” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place- so glad I ignored tepid reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We had a fabulous stay at the Kaanapali Villas- the hotel was exactly what we wanted- right on the beach, next to nice, newer, mega resorts but for half the cost. The room decor was average- nothing special but not a turn off. We had a full kitchen and the room walked out to a beautiful view of the "quiet pool". The bed was comfortable and in general the place was very clean.

Every morning we walked/ran on the beach walk and had breakfast at the Castaway Cafe restaurant. The food was pretty good and prices very reasonable (very much like the midwest).

There is supposed to be a trolley that comes by the hotel on the hour, but we never used it. The hotel is just one mile from Whaler's Village and we walked there every day. From there, you can take a bus into Lahaina, so we never needed a rental car. We only stayed for 5 nights but if our stay would've been much longer I think we would have needed a car.

Most of the other guests were over 40. In fact, 60 may have been the median age. The pool was never crowded, it was always nice and quiet, you could always get a lounge chair or a spot in the hot tub and everything was very mellow. This made for an incredibly relaxing vacation. That's a long way of saying if you're looking for nightlife or looking to meet young singles this is definitely not the place for you.

For us, the price was right, the hotel was just nice enough and we'd return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Food in Maui is expensive! We saved a lot of money by using our kitchen to reheat leftovers and eat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mandys1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    386
    112
    68
    35
See reviews for
388
416
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Our room was a bit dated but clean and comfortable. Like others have said, every room is different so there is a definite lack of consistency. Our kitchen was not well supplied for plates, cooking utensils etc. They have beautiful barbecues that you can use but our unit didn't have a set of tongs to even flip with meat with! Our unit was 512 in the Aloha Tower.
If you can get a room near the main pool, that is definitely the best spot for families.
The staff was very good and very friendly. One of the gentlemen (he was a bit older-I didn't get his name) at the front desk was so sweet with my daughters. He had just popped a bag of popcorn for himself but when my girls started salivating, he gave it to them. As others had said in their reviews, don't be afraid to ask to see other suites. We looked at another one upon check-in but wound up going with the one we were assigned after all.
I think for the location, it's a very good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was our first visit to Kaanapali Villas. We came here with our Kids and my Parents. My Parents have been to this resort 10 times and absolutely love it!!! This is why we decided to join them.
All in all its it nice, the gardens and pools are beautiful and the rooms are spacious. It is an ownership resort, so not all rooms look the same. Ours was nice, a little dated but nice.
It could have been a bit cleaner. I don't think they cleaned under the bed once while we were there.
The bedding was not great, I asked for an extra blanket and the blanket they brought me belongs in the garbage, it had so many holes in it.
I found the Gym a bit dirty as well, but thankfully there is a great beach walk there that lasted for some nice runs along the ocean.
The location of the place is nice, that beach is a bit steep, but 100 m down in front of the West Inn is a great place to snorkel. The beach rental place has all you need to go snorkel, Kayak or Paddle board.
Its great to have the free Trolley to drive you to whalers village every hour, its about a 20 min walk to get there.
The little beach restaurant has awesome breakfast, but the wednesday night pasta dinner was a bit disappointing.
All in all we got what we expected, we booked at a 3 star resort and got a 3 star experience.
It was a nice family vacation with the Kids and my Parents.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JennyistReiselustig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
160 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The rooms are dated and the furniture is... hmm... not my style :-)

anyways these are condos, so you have a full kitchen included. problem is each of them is different but not only in terms of furniture style but also quality.

ours for example had a sacking bed (really sacking). so we asked the front desk what they can do about it and they immediately offered us to change the room (they couldn't replace the mattress as it was 11pm). so we saw some other rooms and it kind of shocked me that you basically can get an awesome room or an ugly one. as i understand each of them is owned by a different person and aston is only administrating them.

although the location is great i would probably not book it again.

one very positive point: in the main building you had really thick walls (concrete) to your neighbours. so you couldn't hear them and it was therefore very quiet. definitely a big plus as most of the hotels in the US have "paper" walls.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank das_ubersoldat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We requested a studio, garden view, with two beds. We were told when we checked in that all the two beds were gone and we would have to accept a King. They said you can only request a category and not beds. If I had know this we would not have booked this hotel/condo. They did bring in a roll a way for us. The room itself was very big and great. The garden view was of the street and to see the garden we had to go outside. Just be aware that you probably won't get what you want unless you want a king size bed as they only have 4 studio garden view rooms available.

Room Tip: See my review
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sewsforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.4 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.1 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,822 reviews
1.8 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.6 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.2 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#16 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Property: Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Address: 45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9420 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This may be Kaanapali's finest beachfront setting. Resting amid 11 acres of exotic tropical gardens in the heart of the Kaanapali Resort area, the resort has an on-site water activity center, two newly-renovated pool areas and a free shuttle to Kaanapali Resort area shopping and activities. The poolside cafe features island cuisine accompanied by an expansive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Agoda so you can book your Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Maui Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Hotel
Maui Kaanapali Villas
Resortquest Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing