We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,754)
Filter reviews
2,755 results
Traveller rating
1,317
936
315
133
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,317
936
315
133
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe beach club restaurantfull kitchengrocery storealoha suitegarden poolocean viewamenity feewasher and dryerstrip mallbedroom condothe penthouseon site restaurantjava jazzparking feetennis courtsper daytimes supermarket
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 2,755 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

My wife and I were looking for a nice place to stay in kannapali with a kitchen and this place was perfect. First we were met by friendly staff at the front desk to check us in and make us feel like family. Then we made our way to our room great view and fresh clean feel. My wife was so happy to have a washer and dryer in the room as well! This place is a hidden gem with beautiful grounds and rooms. Times supermarket is right across the street and also some decent places to get a quick bite. Give them a try you won't be disappointed. Aloha

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Marcus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha Marcus! We are so glad you enjoyed your vacation stay, and were comfortable in your accommodations as well as appreciated our beautiful and ideal location. We hope to welcome you again in the future, and invite you to book with Aston Hotels & Resorts directly as this will ensure that you continue to receive updated accommodations and the full spectrum of amenities and services we provide for our guests! Mahalo, and a hui hou (until next time).

James Farquhar
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

First time staying in Kaanapali and we absolutely loved Aston Kaanapali Shores.

We arrived before the official 4 pm check in and the front desk said the room was ready, but they had to wait for the final inspection. They took our phone # and said they would call as soon as the room was ready. We went to the Beach Club for a snack and drink, it was Happy Hour so that was very convenient. We waited almost an hour and since we didn't get a call we went to the front desk to check if our room was ready. They gave us the key and when we walked in it seemed as though there were just finishing cleaning the room.

The room was large with a front room w/ pull out couch. Dining room table to fit 4 and a nice size full kitchen. We were booked for a garden room - we actually received a room with a wonderful view of the pool and the ocean. Couldn't have been better. Also, the room provided a washer/dryer. They also provide detergent.

The room was clean and kitchen very functional. Be sure to bring ( or purchase) salt, pepper, and seasonings if you plan to cook. The house keeping service came everyday if needed.

There are two pools - one towards the middle of the resort which is no deeper than 4.5 feet. It has an adjacent hot tub. The pool is really nice at night with the different changing lights. The grounds are very well kept and beautiful. There is a second pool towards the back of the resort (this pool is gated and does lock at 11 pm) which is smaller and it is about 7 feet at the deepest. Let smaller kids in this pool and much quieter. You can view the ocean from this pool. The gate opens to the ocean/beach.

If its low tide, there is plenty of space to sit on the beach and swim/snorkel. Fantastic beach to snorkel!!!

There is a restaurant at the resort Beach Club which has breakfast, lunch and dinner. It also has a daily Happy Hour 2 to 5 pm every day. We had breakfast one morning and our waiter Meylon (I am not sure if I am spelling this correctly) was phenomenal! Friendly, personable, gave great recommendations on dishes, etc. He needs to be recognized by his manager.

Happy Hour - we went just about every day. They have a great HH menu and great drink prices. It's a must. Lloyd and Fernando were awesome!!!

Forgot to mention directly across the resort there is a small shopping area that has a full grocery store, little shops, a pizza joint, etc. Very convenient.

I think the only concern we had the bedroom was located on the walkway, so it was always too bright in the bedroom for sleeping. Perhaps they can get blackout curtains.

We had a memorial time and can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: If you want a nicer view ask for a room above the third floor.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank myab672016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha Myab672016 and thank you for taking the time to share your fabulous review! We are beyond thrilled to hear you enjoyed our ideal location, fantastic amenities and that you received excellent service from our friendly and helpful staff! We appreciate your kind words and for sharing the details of your stay that made it so memorable. It was a pleasure to have you, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo and warmest aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

I would have given it a 4 star: the room was a bit tired for wear (patched holes in walls, etc. funky, hard to shut slider door, etc.) but was clean, sizeable and well equipped. Would have liked lotion in the bathroom and maybe some more basic conveniences in the kitchen for the price (we paid $250/night!) such as small bottle of oil, some salt, pepper, etc.

The grounds were fantastic and well maintained. Would have been great for a family. Wasn't impressed with the restaurant food and definitley didn't like the heavy sales ploy 'orientation' with 'breakfast' (nibbles). For the fancy feel they're going for, the high ticket, I'd expect that nibbly breakfast every day. I've stayed in lesser hotels that offer more. We had a rough experience with the Local Expert Concierge heavily inflated sales...

What really gets me is the amenities fee at the end. REALLY? An extra $20 a day for wifi, lending book library, etc.?! We didn't really use that stuff; it's definitely the kind of thing I would have expected to be included in the price for the space.

Room Tip: Be prepared for nickle and dimeing fees.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Aloha Amber B,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your experience to our attention. We hope that you will accept our sincere apology for failing to meet your expectations. Our goal is to create a memorable experience for our guests and it appears that we missed the mark in this instance. We truly value your business and appreciate your honest feedback. Should future travel bring you back to Hawaii, we hope that you will give us another chance and allow us the opportunity to create a memorable experience. Mahalo and warmest aloha,

James Farquhar
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

My family and I stayed the first week of August and it was great. The room was very nice and big enough for our family of 7. Full kitchen where we could make some of our meals. The best part was the garden pool.The best pool in Kaanapali. We couldn't get the kids out especially at night when they have neon lights lighting it up. Also the beach in front was back in and we swam and boogie boarded all day. The Beach Club restaurant was very nice and our fee breakfast was delicious with big portions. The staff was very polite and helpful. The best part of our vacation was the Resort and I hope to go back there again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank josepuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Aloha Josepuga! We are so glad you enjoyed your vacation stay, and were comfortable in your accommodations as well as appreciated our beautiful and ideal location. We hope to welcome you again in the future on your next visit to the beautiful island of Maui. Mahalo, and a hui hou (until next time).

James Farquhar
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Our family of 5 stayed here early August for 6 nights. The grounds are very well kept, and beautiful! The full kitchen was nice and the rooms are what you’d expect for a 1 bedroom suite. Like other reviews, it is a bit dated, but clean and comfortable. Our tub didn’t drain well, even after contacting maintenance. The pools are great for kids, you can see the beautiful sunset right from the property, and it’s convenient to have a restaurant right on property that is oceanfront, and delivers poolside. We were on the 3rd floor, garden view, and could still see the ocean. It’d have been nice to have been higher up, but they were full during our stay. The staff was friendly. There is a reasonably priced grocery store across the street. (There are discount excursions at a desk in the grocery store too). There was a small strip of sand by the ocean for families to walk on (in picture below) and kids to play in the surf. The boardwalk to other beaches is just minutes walking away. Best beach close by is in front of the Westin.
Try the siracha, guava wings from the restaurant, they are delicious. Also, consider the lei making class if you have school aged girls.
We went in the Molokini and Turtle Arches snorkel cruise and enjoyed it. The Old Lahaina Luau was fabulous, but book very early to reserve a seat. Try various beaches around Maui, all are very unique. The Road to Hana is also a must do- plan on 12 hours and leave early.
We booked through Costco, which gave us a dining credit and had no problem with.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank draya916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Owner at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Aloha Draya916! We are so glad you enjoyed your vacation stay, and were comfortable in your accommodations as well as appreciated our beautiful and ideal location. We hope to welcome you again in the future, and invite you to book with Aston Hotels & Resorts directly as this will ensure that you continue to receive updated accommodations and the full spectrum of amenities and services we provide for our guests! Mahalo, warmest aloha and a hui hou (until next time).

James Farquhar
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews