We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
39
40
22
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
40
22
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub wore my flip flops high temps master shower directly facing the ocean lock box absolutely stay here again doors and windows cleaned every morning nice beaches an older resort swim in the ocean first floor sea turtles washer and dryer second bedroom time share
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Hono Koa is located in a nice area on the island of Maui. The rooms were clean and had plenty of space but the furniture, etc. really need an update to continue to compete with other timeshare properties in Maui. The only compliant that i would have about the facility was the shower in the master bedroom - it really needs a complete tear out and redo. As you look to book this location please note the following - NO AIR CONDITIONING (and in the summer even with the trade winds trying to go to sleep at night this becomes an important thing). This property has NO beach access and you have to get in your car and drive to a nice beach access - it isn’t too far but for us too far to walk.

The staff was great! Checking in was easy and any questions or needs we had were addressed easily! If they install air conditioning i would consider coming back to this location but not sure i would stay here again in the summer without it!. The view from our unit was amazing and every night we spend gazing at the ocean. The property has a few out door grills - which we took average of several times and again utilized the wonderful lani for dinner and just enjoyed the view.

The parking is free and there was plenty available. This is a group of condos not a resort - so if you are looking for a quite location, nice staff, clean accomadations, good location, and good ocean views - then this place will meet your needs. But if you like the full service resort, beach access, restaurants on site, etc. then i would recommend to keep looking. It all comes down to what “environment” are you looking for out of the accommodations you want in Maui!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor!
Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank KLG1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

This is my second trip to Hono Koa and I’ve enjoyed my stay both times! This is a small complex in a quiet area. Clean very nice sized units. We had a two bedroom with a beautiful view. The pool is small but adaquate and beautifully landscaped. One drawback there is no swimming beach in front of the complex.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
1  Thank alohamitzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soleil M, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Aloha, alohamitzi! Thank you for returning to Hono Koa. We are happy you had another enjoyable stay and truly appreciate your kind words and generous rating. It was our pleasure to serve you, and we hope to see you again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

This was our first time in Maui so consider this a basic review. I'm not sure how Hono Koa stacks up against the other properties but for our money this seemed like a convenient, clean place to stay.__

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soleil M, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Aloha, Stephen! Thank you for visiting Hono Koa and sharing your generous comments. We are happy you had an enjoyable stay and hope you will consider us again. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

We stayed there for the first time and enjoyed it. We were able to walk to the beach or down to the markets or hop on a bike . The pool is nice. We had a 2 bedroom and 2 bath and felt like it was very roomy for 4 people and with its own washer and dryer as well. Just a short drive to Maui Brewing and close to eateries near by. There are parks in walking distances as well. If you want fancy go to Kihei or Wailea. Hono Koa is nice and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soleil M, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Aloha, Christopher! Thank you for choosing Hono Koa. We are happy you had an enjoyable visit and appreciate your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

This resort was not what the write up promised. We received information from RCI after we had booked and paid for this resort as an Extra Vacation. The information stated that there would be maintenance going on that might significantly influence our vacation at the resort. However, RCI informed us that we could not get a refund for the amount we paid and we had already booked our flights. Indeed the maintenance/repairs/rebuilding did influence our vacation. We arrived to find plastic fencing piled in our lanai garden (we were on the first floor). The landscaping was a mess - overgrown and not well cared for. The pool area was unappealing and old. We experienced loud banging as maintenance worked on the lanai above us. We found painters in our lanai as we went out to eat lunch and enjoy conversation. We were told this would not happen again during our stay and two days later the painters were back. The fans in both of the bathrooms were loud and very hard on the nerves. The front door had a space under it and every morning we woke up to find piles of dirt that blew in and we had to sweep it up and out. The tv and internet did not work. The office did not deal with this but rather put us in touch with Spectrum cable and internet, which required us to spend a great deal of time while they sorted out why the service had been disconnected and while they reconnected us. Only one BBQ of the two on site worked and there was constantly a line up to use it. It was very dirty by 6:00 pm. It was probably the most disappointing resort we've stayed at in our

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank johnnie2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soleil M, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Aloha, Johnnie. Thank you for your visit and feedback. We regret we did not meet expectations and extend our sincere apologies if we did not notify you of our lanai renovation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews