We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful ”
Review of Ka'anapali Beach

Ka'anapali Beach
Ranked #4 of 78 things to do in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: One of the best beaches in Maui, a favorite for relaxation as well as water sports.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Best beach in Maui!!! So beautiful. We would pack up a bag and park in the parking ramp since we did not stay along this beach. So great!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank AlyssaK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"black rock"
in 1,396 reviews
"beautiful beach"
in 1,085 reviews
"beach walk"
in 169 reviews
"whalers village"
in 337 reviews
"soft sand"
in 149 reviews
"lanai and molokai"
in 87 reviews
"favorite beach"
in 109 reviews
"fish"
in 502 reviews
"great snorkeling"
in 194 reviews
"the north end"
in 88 reviews
"clear water"
in 104 reviews
"paddle boarding"
in 107 reviews
"sea turtles"
in 234 reviews
"whale watching"
in 111 reviews
"waves"
in 831 reviews
"sheraton"
in 420 reviews
"rocks"
in 330 reviews
Filter

518 - 522 of 8,323 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

Its a wide beach, but much of the beach is rocky (particularly around the Marriott) and it is prone to rough rip currents. Plus, its busy and crowded. Unless you stay here at a resort on the beach, skip it. So many better postcard beaches on maui (Makena and DT Flemings to name 2 awesome ones). Feels more like Myrtle Beach than Hawaii... skip

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank babalu w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Although we did not stay in a property on Kaanapail Beach we took full advantage of the miles of beach walk. We walked the full length of both beach to the north and the south of Black Rock. So much to see, so beautiful. In a sudden torrential rain storm one of the 5 star hotels employees invited us to stand under one of their gazebos until the rained passed. We stopped on the beaches and rested although not on privately owned beach chairs. The mall was handy for shopping and although we only ate at maybe 2 of the restaurants they were abundant. We also very much enjoyed 2 of the public beach parks along the way.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank brolsonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We stayed at Sheraton Black Rock right at the Kaanapali beach and had the opportunity to hit the beach almost every day. The beach has nice resorts and mountains in the backdrop with great food and drink options at the resort and a nice white sand to relax. Though it can get busy during the day & evenings but still if you are at one of the resorts, you can always head back in on the sun chairs. At the very end of the beach is the big black rock where there is amazing sea life and we saw big turtles not far from the beach on all our snorkeling excursions. One of the must visit beaches while in Maui (although have heard of beach erosion since last few months).

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank SerendipityIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

This is one of the most beautiful beaches in Hawaii. Great views of surrounding islands. Gentle shore break and lots of choices for food b

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank PattiCNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ka'anapali Beach also viewed

 

Been to Ka'anapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing