We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Grove, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great vacation”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This was a very fun place to stay. Pool and beach areas are very nice! Katie Wilson that manages the activities area was the best! She helped us with everything. My kids are still asking about her. Kevin Maratea, the dive master on site was the best too. My wife and I really enjoyed diving with him. I would recommend Honua Kai to anyone and make sure you meet Katie and Kevin. Both great people.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,996
    791
    228
    71
    42
See reviews for
1,709
984
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,063)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We rented a 2 bedroom with partial ocean views through Harris Hawaii real estate. They gaurentee the actual room you are renting which is good. Gave us a much better price than online booking. The agent "Brooke" met us at the hotel which was nice and easy. They offer the units as more of a long term vacation rental than a hotel.

The rooms are obviously brand new and the 2 bedroom unit we had was perfect for us. Great bedrooms with 42" Tv's in each. 2 huge bathrooms with double basins which is always good. Bath and Shower Seperate.

Our unit was supplied with absolutely everything from Martini glasses, ice buckets, pots and pans, beach towels .. ect.

Dukes restraunt and bar is perfect for the resort and fits well. The shopping centre and banks across the road also make it really easy. Its just a short drive to Lahina to do some shopping or go out for a meal.

The gym in the complex is also very new with a great selection of cardio equipment. The weights section is a little on the low end with 50 pounds being the largest dumbbell and only 1 bench. Mornings were busy but not over crowded.

The beach off the resort is nice however nothing amazing. The resort pools and area's are a really great design. They offer a good blend of open area's and more private area's. I think anyone could find a spot they are happy with around the pool. Only downfall is that there is not a swim up bar.

They general rule is the drinks should be bought from dukes bar if you are swimming around the pool. Exception is the BBQ area's. However after buying 1 round of drinks (which is kind of annoying as you have to get out of the water and go to the bar area), we filled up plastic water bottles with drinks and ice. This was alot easy as we could just fill up while we were still in the pool and spa's. We were fairly discrete about it and nobody seemed to mind at all.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_Pones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay in a 1 bedroom condo. The units have a well equipped kitchen which we used for every meal during our stay.

I found the service at Honua Kai to be lacking, hence the four stars. When checking in the front desk didn't have a smile for us and while we were there housekeeping came so late, about 3:30, that we didn't use the service as we were back in the room preparing for the second half of the day.

Finally, and this is not the fault of the resort and didn't affect the rating, if possible do not get a unit facing the front of the resort. We reserved a Mountain View, one bedroom unit. I did because it was more affordable; however, the resort is close to a busy road and there is traffic noise at all times. Although we were on the 8th floor, I still found the noise distracting and not what I am looking for when vacationing in Hawaii. If we were to return I would reserve a different room catagory and then verify at check-in that it was not facing the road.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OrcasIslandDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

A lot of families, but overall a great stay. The service around the pool was " ok". Could be better but the rooms were excellent! The view from room was great unlike what other reviewers said. We were very happy overall and would recommend. There is a grocery store right across the street for picking up necessities. Tip the room cleaning service every day and you will get what you want :-).

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jyllian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Honua Kai resort over the holiday season. We were blown away at how lavish the accommodations were and how friendly the entire staff was. The view from our large balcony was breath taking, revealing a pristine expanse of the pacific replete with breaching whales migrating by. The pool scene was another plus, being that there are several pools to choose from ranging from quiet and serene to a little more playful for the kids. We could not recommend this resort more highly and are sincerely looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.3 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
39.7 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
6.8 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
2.8 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
3.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Property: Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing