We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shaka sushi”
Review of Shaka Sushi

Shaka Sushi
Reserve with OpenTable
Shaka Sushi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #172 of 292 Restaurants in Lahaina
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Great little sushi place! Tucked in back of Wharf Cinema shops

Great rolls. Staff very friendly and ready to assist

Define stop

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank rctipad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2018

Sushi was incredibly delicious and the waitress was very welcoming and kind. We took advantage of the Happy Hour in which all rolls were 20% off so price was also okay.

We love sushi and Shaka Sushi really lived up our expectations. 100€ recommendable!!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trail121553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Cute little sushi restaurant in the Wharf Cinema complex. It has good reviews, was the casual vibe we wanted, and was closer to our hotel than others. We went for an early dinner on Monday evening; the restaurant only had 2 other tables seated. Plating was sub-par. The sushi rice had too much vinegar. The nori did not seal well, so all of our rolls fell apart at the slightest touch. The tuna in the Tuna Tataki was seared too long and the cuts were not uniform. The restaurant offers a few original rolls, of which I ordered the Green Dragon Roll. It was very good, except the daikon tasted fermented rather than pickled. It’s a newer sushi spot, so hopefully they are still honing their operations. Prices were adequate and the location is ideal in Lahaina.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Slmars1338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

We were on vacation in Maui in early August, searching for a place to have sushi for our 15th wedding anniversary, and looked at a variety of menus of eateries around Ka'anapali and Lahaina. We're so glad we decided to try Shaka Sushi -- we were so impressed with the delicious fresh fish gorgeously presented in this cozy place that we came back 2 more times over the next 5 days! Sooo ono! The huge delectable scallops alone were worth returning for as often as possible.

We ordered a variety of cut pieces for our anniversary feast. Either the waitress or the chef misheard one of our choices so we got pieces of sea urchin instead; when we brought this to the chef's attention he apologized and didn't charge us for them. The local fish we'd requested when he heard "uni" wasn't available anyway. We ordered scallops, winter shrimp, tuna, yellowtail, salmon, eel, and the local amberjack. Each piece was large, with the right amount of rice in each one, and marvelously delicious and fresh. The lovely cucumber flower decorations were yummy, too, and the lemon slice dividers added both visual and flavorful zest to the presentation.

Mahalo to the talented chef who made us feel so welcome every time we walked into his establishment, and prepared phenomenal sushi and poke for us. We're recommending Shaka Sushi to everyone who goes to Maui and loves quality sushi as much as we do. A hui hou!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank moybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

This sushi place amazed us with its great taste and wonderful service. The lady worked there was super nice. She shared her stories with us, provided us with great guide in what to do in Maui. The cock was also fantastic and polite.

I recommend this place not only because of the great taste, but also the great people worked there.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Fawzi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Shaka Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing