We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and great property, needs to work out some kinks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Nanea Ocean Villas
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here with our 1 and 3 year old kids. The one bedroom villa suited our needs although more room is always nice. Luckily a room was available for us about 2 hours early but the resort view room faced the loud and smelly east side overlooking the parking garage. We asked 2 times for a room change. Once, they said they were completely full and the second time we didn't ever receive a call back.

Overall, the property was great for kids. The family friendly pool area was awesome for kids. Super accessible to the beach and we did a lot of back and forth.

There was obviously lots of construction happening during our stay. It didn't affect us too much. But there were four separate false alarm fire alarms that went off. Needless to say, they terrified our kids, especially the one that went off at 3 am.

The conceirge was super helpful in assisting with our iterneray and found us many family friendly activities. They also helped us getting a much needed babysitter for some time away as a couple.

They provided us 2 cribs, 2 high chairs which was very convenient. I hear they also offer complimentary stroller service which we didn't utilize. However, the dining table was pub height and the high chair was meant for a regular height table. Our little one could only see the top of the table, it was impossible for her to feed herself. The staff did not have an alternative. There was an outside table we were able to sit at when shaded that was compatible with the high chair. Just wasn't so we'll thought out.

For those that like to keep active, the workout room was great! Large and a variety of cardio/strength machines. Also, a great board for running/walking right outside.

Location was wonderful, we were able to walk to the grocery store and coffee most mornings.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay. Just need the hotel to work out some things that will probably come in due time as they have more guests.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank jessica b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinNaneaGSM, Manager at The Westin Nanea Ocean Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Aloha jessica b,

Mahalo for taking the time to provide such great feedback of your stay here at The Westin Nanea Ocean Villas. We are pleased that you found our concierge to be of great assistance. We are grateful for the feedback given with the tables in the rooms and will definitely take this on board and see how we can improve. We hope to welcome you and the 'ohana (family) back in the near future.

A hui hou (until next time)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 196 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017

This review is LONG overdue. We visited the resort back in May of this year and just never got a chance to give it the credit it deserves. The property, the staff, the suites, everything was just wonderful. From the moment you arrive at valet, to the smooth check in and the check out at the end of the stay. Hawaiians in general are just so hospitable and welcoming, and then add Westin to the mix, it becomes beyond perfect. My husband and I plus our 2 kids stayed in their 3 bedroom ocean villa. 1st floor room, super spacious, full kitchen, full balcony, basically our own oceanview apartment. The property grounds are immaculate. I loved the little splash pad, pool slide, and beach entry pool for the kiddos. I have a 3 year old and 7 year old, and both were thoroughly entertained. They allow guests to use their sister property next door and the front desk even gave us a schedule of activities for both resorts, which was a great change of scenery. We also took advantage of their on property photographer who was equally great. We didn’t have much flexibility in terms of time and were keen on shooting some sunset photos and they were so helpful in fitting us in.

In terms of location, the property is about 30 minutes from the airport, during light traffic hours. Whalers village and Westin Maui are close by, either a beautiful 30 minute walk or 5 minute drive. We did both, enjoyed the walk more of course. Overall, we had a wonderful experience and will definitely be back at Westin Nanea on our next visit to Maui!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Madiya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinNaneaGSM, Manager at The Westin Nanea Ocean Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Aloha Madiya M,

Mahalo nui loa for your wonderful review of your stay with us. We are glad that you and your kids were able to have such a memorable experience. We cant wait to have you back with us.

A hui hou (until next time)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Very nice resort. Lots to do in the area & great shopping. Pool area is especially nice with a bar right there. Shops on property are a little pricey. Right on the ocean great for walking and exploring. Be sure to have your camera for great sunsets.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank marie9390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinNaneaGSM, Manager at The Westin Nanea Ocean Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Aloha marie9390,

Mahalo for taking the time to provide such great feedback of your stay here at the Westin Nanea Ocean Villas. We are so happy that you had a memorable experience and were able to take beautiful photos and memories of the Hawaiian sunsets. We look forward o the next time your travels bring you back to Maui.

A hui hou (until next time)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

This is a beautiful resort. We stayed in a 2 bedrooms suite in June 2017. The rooms were nicely decorated and very clean. The suite had a full kitchen and was stocked with all the equipment one would need to prepare and eat your meals. I appreciated that small appliances like a toaster and a blender were also provided. There is lots of room in the kitchen and the pantry for food storage. There is a small washer and dryer in the bathroom. One packet of soap and a dryer sheet is provided. Great if you have a laundry emergency, but more supplies would be needed if you have to do multiple loads.
There is a small market on site, but the selection isn't great and the prices are absurd. The market included a tiny selection of sandwiches and salads which did not look all that appealing. It looked like the same items were there for days. I would recommend doing your grocery shopping at one of the nearby supermarkets.
There is room service at the resort. Again, it is helpful if you are really hungry and too tired to go out, but the selection is just ok and the food wasn't that great. The food a the pool/bar was actually better, though service was slow because they were really understaffed.
The pool is lovely and there is a fun, separate play area for little children. The beach is just outside the pool. The beach near the hotel is very small, so if you want more space to sit you will need to walk further down towards other resorts.

This is a new resort that, I believe, opened just a few months before we stayed here. Parts of the property were still being worked on. Overall, our stay was very pleasant and staff was extremely friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kmgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Front Office Manager at The Westin Nanea Ocean Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Aloha kmgrey,
Mahalo for your review! Our fully stocked kitchen is definitely a useful amenity for couples and families alike. Our signature Mauka Makai restaurant and Inu Pool Bar have many delicious options as well. Thank you for your kind words about our pool, its large size is ideal for children and adults. You are correct that we opened on April 15th, 2017 and we are still completing the remainder of the resort. We are excited to announce that the full resort is scheduled to be completed next month. Lastly, the best part of Nanea is our people. It means so much to us that you found our staff to be pleasant and friendly! Please return again soon to make more memories with us.

A hui hou! (Until we meet again)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa, I could move into the place and live happily! The accommodations are great- kitchen has everything you need, rooms are spacious, beds are comfy, we didn't have a great view, but, we weren't in the room very much.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinNaneaGSM, Manager at The Westin Nanea Ocean Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Aloha Kelly S,

Mahalo for your wonderful comments of your recent stay here with us. We are thrilled that you felt at home whilst you were on property. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

A hui hou ( until next time)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
7.1 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
522 reviews
39.4 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 km away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
0.3 km away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 31 in Lahaina
3,283 reviews
37.9 km away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Nanea Ocean Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nanea Ocean Villas

Address: 45 Kai Malina Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: €349 - €789 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nanea Ocean Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Nanea Ocean Villas features 390 luxurious villas and a variety of world-class resort amenities, including an expansive lagoon-style pool, full-service restaurant, beach bar, children’s beach pool and play area, oceanfront cabanas and a WestinWORKOUT® fitness studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Starwood, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Westin Nanea Ocean Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Nanea Ocean Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing