We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,758)
Filter reviews
4,758 results
Traveller rating
2,001
1,617
655
277
208
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,001
1,617
655
277
208
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cliff black rock the mai tai bar whalers village our honeymoon ocean front resort fee kaanapali beach breakfast buffet an upgrade stayed in building sea turtles public beach hula grill an ocean view room per day other resorts
Filter
Updating list...
1,166 - 1,171 of 4,758 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2015 via mobile

Walked into the property and was amazed at the beauty of the grounds. Rooms are clean but outdated. Food is so ridiculously overpriced - $15 for Maui onion soup with less flavor than the $3 trader joes and no kids meals less than $10? Also lots and lots of smokers which was just gross.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
5  Thank keirdo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2015

Aloha keirdo1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful property, but do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Your feedback will be reviewed by our management team. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2015

This hotel is in a great location on Kaanapali Beach. We enrolled in Starwood Preferred prior to booking our reservation for an oceanfront view room. When we arrived, we were immediately upgraded to a deluxe oceanfront view room, with a wet bar, huge bathroom and lanai overlooking the ocean. There is so much to do at this hotel, you really never need to leave (of course we did do the Road to Hana and Lahaina). A little piece of paradise!

Room Tip: Oceanfront deluxe is da bomb.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2015

Aloha Diane T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear you are now a loyal SPG member. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015

We have stayed here twice-once in 2011 for our honeymoon and then last year in November 2014 for a business trip. Sheraton Maui is one of the most memorable hotels. What makes it memorable for me are the following: the amazing pools, the easy walk-on access to one of the most beautiful beaches, the snorkeling, and the Cliff Diving ceremony!!! Rooms are comfortable. Valet and self park available. Close to Whaler's Village and to Lahaina! Great location and hotel! With that said, two small cons…you did away with the flower lai!! Please don't do that! Nobody wants the shell lai…people fly thousands of miles to be greeted with a real lai. In 2011 you had them and in 2014, we were told you don't give them anymore. That was disappointing. Also, do away with the towel card, it is not necessary. Thanks!

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sarc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2015

Aloha Sarc1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed both of your stays at our beautiful resort. We appreciate your feedback and will review it with our management team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for your next Maui vacation.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Good location and totally fine. PROS: Good beach access, easy self parking, nearby other hotels, restaurants. Spread out so you don't feel like people are on top of you at any point. CONS: Fitness Center was not great. Limited options for dinner; no snackbar/coffee shop (Starbucks kiosk closed at 4); Half of the tV stations were not clear in both audio and video; beach chair pickup 90 minutes before sunset.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ferfreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2015

Aloha Ferfreem,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback. We are happy to hear you had a nice stay and that you enjoyed the location of our resort. Your feedback will be reviewed by our management team. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back for your next Maui vacation.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2015

Check-in:
We had a fairly smooth check-in and found the staff very friendly and helpful. I had mistakenly wandered too close to the 'concierge' desks and was asked if I had received the welcome bag. This lead to a moderately pressured invitation to attend an information session, which we declined politely.

Room:
The room was what we had expected. Clean, good view and a nice sized balcony. There were two large bottles of water (for purchase) in the room.

Pools:
We spent most of our pool time by the large pool. It was nothing special but did the job. Most of the children were at the smaller pool.

Beach:
This was probably the main reason we chose to stay at the Sheraton. The beach by the Black Rock was a great place to snorkel, lots of fish and you can mingle with the resident sea turtles.

Not so good:
1. Some of the walkways between the buildings (including on the higher levels leading to the rooms) get very slick when it rains. There were a couple of close calls where either myself or my wife almost wiped out. Having some rugs or other kind of weather-proofed covering would go a long way in preventing any nasty spills.

2. While relaxing at the pool, in a blink of an eye, there were a swarm of asian tourists taking selfies, pictures of each other (in the beach chairs) and wandering throughout the hotel grounds. I saw several Sheraton staff glance over and turn a blind eye, or simply ignore this.

In general, while our stay wasn't unpleasant, there really was no element of feeling welcomed, or any effort on Sheraton's part to really create a unique experience. I think that with the great location they have, there is great potential to be something more. For the most part, our great experience here had more to do with our own planning and initiatives. I realize this even more after staying at a few other hotels in Maui and comparing the experiences.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Kyo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2015

Aloha Kyo S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It's great to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We appreciate you sharing your feedback for areas of improvement and will review it with our management team. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews