We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
121
16
1
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
16
1
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshaleakala sunriseroad to hanahaleakala national parkfresh fruit and pastrieswatch the sunriseup countrykula bistrostayed two nightscomfortable roomsnext morninggreat roomlawn chairsour honeymoongreat place to stayblue roomeach morninggabby
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017

My husband and I decided on watching the sunrise at Haleakala on our first night in Maui since we would be jet lagged anyway, and it was a great decision. Upcountry B&B is in a great location at the base of the crater, and this allowed us to wake up later than others driving in from the beach resorts.

Michael was really friendly and provided us with a bag to take with us the next morning including coffee, tea, pastries and fruit. He recommended where we should sit for the best view and he was totally right! His dog Gabby was amazing and I couldn't resist petting him every chance I could. Our room was very spacious (blue room) and very clean. The views from Upcountry are spectacular and we wish we could've stayed longer. Michael was very accommodating and gave us great recommendations for dinner (Kula Bistro) and for the Road to Hana. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All rooms have a wonderful view
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vixster8427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

WOW, i would go back anytime!! We got in late past 10PM, we hadn't met Michael but everything was well setup to get our keys and access our room. Room was perfect and when we woke up next morning we saw the nice view we had. We went down for breakfast and meet Michael and he greeted us with coffee and breakfast. Plenty to stuff our stomach for the morning and to start our journey for the day to Hana and all the south-est coast. Recommendations were spot on and better than what people told us NOT to do (not to take a specific road), so good thing we took his advice and followed it, we didn't regret it!
Next day we once again followed his recommendations for the Haleakala sunrise, Michael prepared us something to eat and some coffee with some thermos to go, we had blankets & chairs available to take to the summit.
Personally I have traveled alot and this was my 1st ever B&B, and I always thought i wasn't a B&B person but this experience was simply great.
I would totally recommend this place to anyone I know. Great place, great guy, great memories, thanks again Michael!!

Room Tip: close by for Haleakala sunrise
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Regrettably only stayed one evening here on our last day being in Maui; had we known how perfect this scenario was, we would have certainly stayed longer. The host, Mike, made us feel welcome from the moment we got out of our vehicle, speaking with us as if we were old friends and not brand new acquaintances. He COMPLETELY set us up with everything needed and then some, for our trip to the Summit the next morning, not missing a single detail. Freshly ground coffee, delicious pastries, fresh fruit, blankets and chairs, even a recommendation for a star-searching phone app to enjoy while waiting for the sunrise. It is putting it mildly that we were the envy of the other Summit visitors as we sat there in our chairs, warmly wrapped in blankets, sipping hot coffee from our thermos and snacking on local apple bananas. The room was spotless with a breathtaking view, walk-in shower complete with bathrobes. There was an extensive DVD library available, fantastic local dining literally right down the street. Mikes' adorable Golden Retriever sidekick stole our hearts. We will most certainly be back, and for much longer! :)

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ChristySully72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We chose this BNB primarily due to its location. It was one of the closest locations to the summit. The owner was nice. He had sun tan lotion and helped prepare us to watch the sunrise.

The room wasn't cleaned daily unfortunately (we were there 4 days.) It also does not have Wi-Fi as advertised. No air conditioning either if that is something you prefer. Breakfast was as advertised. Pastry and a fruit bowl.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cmkastanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights here and loved every minute of it. The host was amazing and gave us numerous tips to help us feel like locals. The food recommendations were amazing and his help with the sunrise experience was great. Without our host, we wouldn't have had the great sunrise experience that we had. Everything about the upcountry BnB is A++. The house and rooms are very large and clean and the parking is safe and next to the house. You get recommendations for all the local hotspots and feel like your right at home. Highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 832dublin202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews