We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Maui - will be back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kula
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Upcountry Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Kula B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2017

Comfortable, central location and very reasonably priced. All reasons to stay at the Upcountry Bed and Breakfast. The host, Mike is very personable and a great help. Be sure to give Gabby lots of love. You will get to see the part of Maui that most people never see. Be sure to visit the local general store for dinner and make the drive to Paia over Baldwin road to see the old sugar cane areas. A must stay if you want to see the sunrise at Haleakala.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017

My husband and I decided on watching the sunrise at Haleakala on our first night in Maui since we would be jet lagged anyway, and it was a great decision. Upcountry B&B is in a great location at the base of the crater, and this allowed us to wake up later than others driving in from the beach resorts.

Michael was really friendly and provided us with a bag to take with us the next morning including coffee, tea, pastries and fruit. He recommended where we should sit for the best view and he was totally right! His dog Gabby was amazing and I couldn't resist petting him every chance I could. Our room was very spacious (blue room) and very clean. The views from Upcountry are spectacular and we wish we could've stayed longer. Michael was very accommodating and gave us great recommendations for dinner (Kula Bistro) and for the Road to Hana. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All rooms have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vixster8427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

WOW, i would go back anytime!! We got in late past 10PM, we hadn't met Michael but everything was well setup to get our keys and access our room. Room was perfect and when we woke up next morning we saw the nice view we had. We went down for breakfast and meet Michael and he greeted us with coffee and breakfast. Plenty to stuff our stomach for the morning and to start our journey for the day to Hana and all the south-est coast. Recommendations were spot on and better than what people told us NOT to do (not to take a specific road), so good thing we took his advice and followed it, we didn't regret it!
Next day we once again followed his recommendations for the Haleakala sunrise, Michael prepared us something to eat and some coffee with some thermos to go, we had blankets & chairs available to take to the summit.
Personally I have traveled alot and this was my 1st ever B&B, and I always thought i wasn't a B&B person but this experience was simply great.
I would totally recommend this place to anyone I know. Great place, great guy, great memories, thanks again Michael!!

Room Tip: close by for Haleakala sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Regrettably only stayed one evening here on our last day being in Maui; had we known how perfect this scenario was, we would have certainly stayed longer. The host, Mike, made us feel welcome from the moment we got out of our vehicle, speaking with us as if we were old friends and not brand new acquaintances. He COMPLETELY set us up with everything needed and then some, for our trip to the Summit the next morning, not missing a single detail. Freshly ground coffee, delicious pastries, fresh fruit, blankets and chairs, even a recommendation for a star-searching phone app to enjoy while waiting for the sunrise. It is putting it mildly that we were the envy of the other Summit visitors as we sat there in our chairs, warmly wrapped in blankets, sipping hot coffee from our thermos and snacking on local apple bananas. The room was spotless with a breathtaking view, walk-in shower complete with bathrobes. There was an extensive DVD library available, fantastic local dining literally right down the street. Mikes' adorable Golden Retriever sidekick stole our hearts. We will most certainly be back, and for much longer! :)

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ChristySully72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We chose this BNB primarily due to its location. It was one of the closest locations to the summit. The owner was nice. He had sun tan lotion and helped prepare us to watch the sunrise.

The room wasn't cleaned daily unfortunately (we were there 4 days.) It also does not have Wi-Fi as advertised. No air conditioning either if that is something you prefer. Breakfast was as advertised. Pastry and a fruit bowl.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cmkastanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kula
21.3 km away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,086 reviews
18.5 km away
Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast
39 km away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Kula Lodge
Kula Lodge
#1 of 5 in Kula
225 reviews
18.6 km away
Maui Tradewinds
Maui Tradewinds
#1 of 8 in Haiku
240 reviews
12.1 km away
Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upcountry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upcountry Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4925 Lower Kula Rd, Kula, Maui, HI 96790-7708
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kula
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kula
Price Range: €106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Upcountry Hotel Kula
Upcountry b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing