We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Honeymoon~”
Review of Hale Kamaole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hale Kamaole
Ranked #22 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We actually stayed in 2012, but I wanted to leave a review of our beautiful experience here. Hale Kamaole is a peaceful home environment. It felt like home. Right next to the beach we had a great view. There is a also a very peaceful pool area that we relaxed in. The condo had everything we needed from laundry to cookware to a comfortable bed. It was clean. We drove everywhere in our rental car as the area is very central. We loved how it was close to many little shops, restaurants and grocery stores. Hale Kamaole also referred us to the snorkel tour with Seafire which was perfect for us. They also let us check out much later as our flight was in the evening. Thank you Hale Kamaole unit #143. It was a lovely honeymoon with lovely memories to cherish~

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PDHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Hale Kamaole, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014


Thank you for your stay at the Hale Kamaole and condo 143, which our vacation rental company manages. We are glad that you found the condo clean, in possession of everything you needed for your honeymoon vacation, and comfortable. We are also glad the complimentary late checkout helped with your travel arrangements.

We hope to see you back at the Hale Kamaole again in the future!

Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

75 - 79 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

After sorting through multiple condo listings we settled on Hale Kamaole Unit #252 and we couldn't have been more pleased. Great sunset view, quick walk across the road to Kamaole Beach 3, boogie boards, snorkel gear, bath towels, there was nothing we needed that wasn't already in the Condo. Janet, the owner, was very helpful with my many questions and requests. You can tell this is not just a rental for them, but their home away from home. I usually hate leaving things behind (condiments, laundry soap etc) not this time. Having more than just the kitchen basics available for use (briquettes for example) we wanted to ensure we left the unit with as least as much if not more than was there when we arrived. It felt like home for us too and, knowing what was left behind would be used and appreciated was a great feeling.

Hale Kamaole is at the South end of Kihei so there tends to be less traffic on the road which is nice. This unit is near the back which, initially, I thought would be too far away from the beach but I was wrong. You can't hear the road noise but at night, you can still hear the waves, and you get a nice view of the sunset.

The condo is in great shape with some recent upgrades to the bathrooms. There were lots of towels and plenty of extra bedding if you needed it. The blender makes terrific blender drinks (it is a powerful thing) and there are lots of dishes and cutlery in case you have guests (which we did).

It was a very enjoyable holiday and I would certainly rent this unit again!

Here is the direct website if this condo is what you are looking for:


Room Tip: End/corner unit has a huge window on the side that helps to let the sun in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel-n_Gal333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I have been visiting the Hale Kamaole complex for 37 years. On my most recent visit in Unit 270 we found the overall state of the unit deplorable and it's cleanliness was highly sub par.

The unit was completely run down: carpets were filthy, rusty bathtubs, medicine cabinet rusted out, bugs all over the air conditioning unit, the dining room light fixture was simply a hanging exposed light bulb, bed skirt was torn and hanging, one kitchen chair was broken and the rest were filthy. The dust on the over head fan was over a 1/4 inch thick.

I contacted the condo owner to convey my concerns, and all they offered was to simply refund my cleaning deposit as she said she was aware of the state of the apartment before we rented It.

It has been more than a month since she said she would return the deposit and I still have not received a refund.

The condo owner has since ignored all of my subsequent emails.

While I love the Hale Kamaole complex DO NOT rent unit 270 as you will be disgusted and disappointed.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Hale Kamaole, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in condo 270. Our vacation rental company does not manage that particular condo, but we can assure you that all of the condos that we manage at the Hale Kamaole meet certain standards or we will pull them out of our rental pool until issues are addressed. Because we manage over 30 condos at the Hale Kamaole, we also have the ability to move a guest into another condo if that is desired.
We hope you continue to return to the Hale Kamaole on your return trips, as it truly is a great property!

Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were recommended to Hale Kamaole by a co-worker of mine who had stayed here a few times. Boy are we glad he did!

We stayed in unit 340

We booked online through the owners Co-op which was quick and easy. The website did lack a little information about the unit such as the availability of beach toys, wifi and in suite laundry. I called the office on the 1-800 number to check on the wifi but forgot to ask about the other items. I would recommend calling to book and ask for input and ideas from the very helpful staff. Turns out our unit had in suite laundry and lots of beach toys. Saved us time and money.

Unit 340 was nicely updated. The kitchen cabinets are older, but they are fine. The counter top and appliances are all newer and the furniture and unit are well maintained. The kitchen was well stocked, and all of the creature comforts were covered. Unit 340 is on the upper end of the complex (google Hale Kamaole site map) so we used the upper pool and BBQ area only, bust the entire grounds were amazingly kept.

The way the complex is built, every unit has a view. Very nice to read a book and have a coffee on the lanai. The entry and exit is a little clumsy on the front of the units as you have to navigate an elevator or stairs and then some boardwalks to your unit door. Nice thing about this though is that you don't have a bunch of people wandering through your view from the lanai.

I recommend this complex to our friends in a heart beat. South Kihei and Kamaole Beach 3 across the street were a fantastic location for our family and a relaxing vacation. Loved it!

We liked the idea of booking through the Co-op rather than an owner because we would have some recourse if the unit was not up to snuff.

Enjoy your vacation!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank TheTravellingDu0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Unit #243 is one of the best locations in the complex. Beautiful water and sunset views. Furniture is eclectic but clean, very nice kitchen. Owner is lovely and fantastic to deal with. Although we are a family with kids we loved the quiet mature demographic. Not a party place. Across from a beautiful beach. Able to walk to limited shopping. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SnowySunsets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.2 km away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#12 of 60 in Kihei
972 reviews
0.6 km away
Kihei Akahi
Kihei Akahi
#28 of 60 in Kihei
319 reviews
0.5 km away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#16 of 60 in Kihei
699 reviews
8.7 km away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#3 of 60 in Kihei
646 reviews
8.5 km away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kamaole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kamaole

Address: 2737 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9699
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: €163 - €320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hale Kamaole 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hale Kamaole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Kamaole Hotel Kihei
Hale Kamaole Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing