We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
59
20
9
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
20
9
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air conditioning condo complex beautiful beach beach chairs boogie boards beach walk ground floor home away from home living room hhk unit wailea lanai island maui beaches palms
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We were very happy in unit 312.......a front facing beach condo with a huge lanai overlooking the ocean. The condo was clean and spacious and the kitchen was well stocked. The grounds of the Hale Hui Kai are beautiful and well kept. The ocean breeze in the afternoons on the patio in front of the pool are amazing. Pool was not heated but was always sparkling clean. The bed is a king with an extra firm mattress...we would have preferred one a little softer, but it depends what you like. The condo does not have A/C......August was hot so we would have liked air, but the condos with air are lots more $$, so we choose to stay more nights and pay less. Fans in condo helped,but some afternoons were still uncomfortable. Showers could use an update,but are more than sufficient for your needs. All in all....we were very happy and would stay here again.....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank longing4maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed in unit 309 and loved it. It has a nice view and is so close to the water. The new resorts will never get you this close. Cindy and John were easy to work with and took great care of us. I gave the property a 5 because of the excellent value and location, it is important to note that the building is older and the condo layout a little odd, with toilet in the master bedroom.

We love this place and will return and rent 309 again.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kailuamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Our family spent 8 days in HHK to celebrate our 80yr.old in-laws bday. I decided on this location based on the ratings of the beach. It really is the best beach in Maui and least crowded, and just beautiful at all times.

HHK is a step-back in time on the outside. Built in the 70's it has an 'old' Hawaiian feel but thankfully both units 110 and 108 were tastefully updated a few years ago. We stayed in 110 with 2 adults and 2 children (ages 8 & 10). In the 108 unit, we had 4 adults. It is just as the pictures say it is and I actually think unit 108 looks better in-person than on the web-site. Gardening is kept up daily and the grounds are very clean.

In 110 you can see, and hear the ocean from inside in the kitchen and eating area. Our favorite times were just sitting and eating breakfast to the sound of the ocean. We didn't have AC in our unit, but it wasn't necessary even when temps said it was 90deg. Ceiling fans worked just fine.

Both condos had plenty of beach chairs, umbrellas, and toys. Both condos were very clean and filled with everything you need to make breakfast, lunch or dinner. Unit 110 did not have a cooler, so you might want to bring your own soft-side cooler or purchase on while there.

Unit 110 is literally steps away from the beach as advertised. For our family with younger kids, it was PERFECT staying right on the beach and we had 80yr. old grandma traveling with us, and there is no way she would have traveled across a busy street every day to sit at the beach with us. This location was PERFECT and you can't get any closer to the beach than this for the price!!!

Pool is NOT heated, but we were there for the beach and the ocean, and that is where we spent all of our time. Building quiet times are 10pm - 8am, and it is quiet. The windows are all levour blinds, so you can hear any & everything. We didn't hear anything. Our bedrooms were towards the middle of the building and kept cool and quiet all day (and dark) which was wonderful for sleeping in. Washer/Dryers are available on each floor towards the back of the building (front is the oceanside, back is streetside) and it's $1.25/wash and $1.00/dry - quarters only. Books available in the laundry rooms if you need reading material. Two very nice and fancy restaurants avail. just to the north of the HHK. There is also a little deli/store in the Mana Kai which is the 2nd bldg to the north of the HHk.

HHK is located right inbetween Wailea and Kihei; it is a wonderful location. Easy to get to and parking is perfect. About a 40min drive to Lahaina and a little further to Kaanapali. The atrium area for seating in the HHK is WONDERFUL in the morning to watch the ppl on the beach, and a great gathering place in the evening to watch the sunsets.

I would highly recommend unit 110 is you can afford to splurge a little, it was worth every penny and we thoroughly enjoyed our 8 day stay!!

Room Tip: Do not email or leave phone messages; just call!!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lila2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We had the opportunity to stay in this perfect condo for more than a week. We could not find one thing that was wrong with our stay in this unit. We have stayed in many units in the Hale Hui Kai, but this stands as one of our favorites if not THE favorite. It has more of a modern Hawaiian feel rather than the old style furniture and any time we needed anything in the kitchen (i.e. bowls, utensils, etc.) it was there. The other HUGE benefit was that we had plenty of beach toys, chairs, snorkeling gear, and more for our 3 year old who used them all. Our friendly rental manager Martha was always there for anything we needed as well such as finding activities, restaurants, and to answer any questions about the grounds. We HIGHLY recommend this unit and have already booked for next year!

Room Tip: Be sure to use Martha at www.beachbreeze.com
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SCampise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Location cannot be beat - right on the water at Keawakapu beach, one of the loveliest beaches, wonderful if you have small kids and don't want to have to pack up the car everytime you go to the beach or pool. Would stay here again just for that, but not in 106. Nice little pool, good for a dip when you don't want to get sandy, or if the kids are wanting to play in the water a bit more and are smaller (waves can be big at the beach, our son loved rolling in the sand which got a bit tiresome!).
We found it incredibly quiet at night - I literally never heard a sound from the other units, slept really well, could just hear wind and waves. The sound concerns others spoke about due to the bedrooms facing the courtyard was not an issue at night or even frankly during the day when our kids napped - everyone is very quiet and respectful.
Staff were very nice and helpful - lent us a pack and play for our baby to sleep in free of charge.
OUr unit looked fine online - standard Hawaiian furniture, not recently renovated but simple and tidy. However, it has not been well maintained and I would not stay in it again. Have stayed in 3 other condos in Maui over the years, none of them fancy or expensive, and this was the only one I have ever felt was dirty. Rugs need replacing, furniture seems grotty and needs cleaning. Patio furniture was filthy - not the wipe off the table dirty (standard in this dusty sandy windy climate) but sticky with spills and guck kind of dirty. Light switches grimy. Box of beach goodies on the lanai (which every condo seems to have, with stuff from other visitors, etc) was completely disgusting and needed a clean out. Bathrooms etc really need a reno and mildew smell in one of the bedrooms (but not the other - weird) was really bad. Dishwasher is cheap and doesn't clean dishes properly. Doors don't close properly, one was all damaged and rotted on the bottom couldn't get one closet door to close. Saw some little "friends" of the cockroach variety - in bathrooms, I think because of the poor condition of the bathrooms, they seek out damp areas. They are harmless and apparently common, but I have never seen them in any other of the condos I have stayed in - I put it down to the condition of this suite. Some of this might be the fault of the property management housekeeping, but most of it I put down to inattention from owners - no pride here. Most of the other places I have stayed have had a guest book, have been immaculately maintained - not so this one. Also, laundry in not in suite, which was not clear from the online description - it's down the hall and you have to pay.
Saw some other suites and spoke to other guests and would stay in another suite, but never in 106 again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lulugirlbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews