We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Hale Hui Kai!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hale Hui Kai Condominium
Ranked #23 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Unit 305 is excellent (we were glad to have AC). Great view (side facing) from lanai with a beautiful sunset every night! Beach location is perfect! Grounds of HHK are lovely! I highly recommend and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank mauiohana5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

We were very happy in unit 312.......a front facing beach condo with a huge lanai overlooking the ocean. The condo was clean and spacious and the kitchen was well stocked. The grounds of the Hale Hui Kai are beautiful and well kept. The ocean breeze in the afternoons on the patio in front of the pool are amazing. Pool was not heated but was always sparkling clean. The bed is a king with an extra firm mattress...we would have preferred one a little softer, but it depends what you like. The condo does not have A/C......August was hot so we would have liked air, but the condos with air are lots more $$, so we choose to stay more nights and pay less. Fans in condo helped,but some afternoons were still uncomfortable. Showers could use an update,but are more than sufficient for your needs. All in all....we were very happy and would stay here again.....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank longing4maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed in unit 309 and loved it. It has a nice view and is so close to the water. The new resorts will never get you this close. Cindy and John were easy to work with and took great care of us. I gave the property a 5 because of the excellent value and location, it is important to note that the building is older and the condo layout a little odd, with toilet in the master bedroom.

We love this place and will return and rent 309 again.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kailuamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Our family spent 8 days in HHK to celebrate our 80yr.old in-laws bday. I decided on this location based on the ratings of the beach. It really is the best beach in Maui and least crowded, and just beautiful at all times.

HHK is a step-back in time on the outside. Built in the 70's it has an 'old' Hawaiian feel but thankfully both units 110 and 108 were tastefully updated a few years ago. We stayed in 110 with 2 adults and 2 children (ages 8 & 10). In the 108 unit, we had 4 adults. It is just as the pictures say it is and I actually think unit 108 looks better in-person than on the web-site. Gardening is kept up daily and the grounds are very clean.

In 110 you can see, and hear the ocean from inside in the kitchen and eating area. Our favorite times were just sitting and eating breakfast to the sound of the ocean. We didn't have AC in our unit, but it wasn't necessary even when temps said it was 90deg. Ceiling fans worked just fine.

Both condos had plenty of beach chairs, umbrellas, and toys. Both condos were very clean and filled with everything you need to make breakfast, lunch or dinner. Unit 110 did not have a cooler, so you might want to bring your own soft-side cooler or purchase on while there.

Unit 110 is literally steps away from the beach as advertised. For our family with younger kids, it was PERFECT staying right on the beach and we had 80yr. old grandma traveling with us, and there is no way she would have traveled across a busy street every day to sit at the beach with us. This location was PERFECT and you can't get any closer to the beach than this for the price!!!

Pool is NOT heated, but we were there for the beach and the ocean, and that is where we spent all of our time. Building quiet times are 10pm - 8am, and it is quiet. The windows are all levour blinds, so you can hear any & everything. We didn't hear anything. Our bedrooms were towards the middle of the building and kept cool and quiet all day (and dark) which was wonderful for sleeping in. Washer/Dryers are available on each floor towards the back of the building (front is the oceanside, back is streetside) and it's $1.25/wash and $1.00/dry - quarters only. Books available in the laundry rooms if you need reading material. Two very nice and fancy restaurants avail. just to the north of the HHK. There is also a little deli/store in the Mana Kai which is the 2nd bldg to the north of the HHk.

HHK is located right inbetween Wailea and Kihei; it is a wonderful location. Easy to get to and parking is perfect. About a 40min drive to Lahaina and a little further to Kaanapali. The atrium area for seating in the HHK is WONDERFUL in the morning to watch the ppl on the beach, and a great gathering place in the evening to watch the sunsets.

I would highly recommend unit 110 is you can afford to splurge a little, it was worth every penny and we thoroughly enjoyed our 8 day stay!!

Room Tip: Do not email or leave phone messages; just call!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lila2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We had the opportunity to stay in this perfect condo for more than a week. We could not find one thing that was wrong with our stay in this unit. We have stayed in many units in the Hale Hui Kai, but this stands as one of our favorites if not THE favorite. It has more of a modern Hawaiian feel rather than the old style furniture and any time we needed anything in the kitchen (i.e. bowls, utensils, etc.) it was there. The other HUGE benefit was that we had plenty of beach toys, chairs, snorkeling gear, and more for our 3 year old who used them all. Our friendly rental manager Martha was always there for anything we needed as well such as finding activities, restaurants, and to answer any questions about the grounds. We HIGHLY recommend this unit and have already booked for next year!

Room Tip: Be sure to use Martha at www.beachbreeze.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SCampise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
2.2 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,192 reviews
3.2 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.1 km away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#2 of 60 in Kihei
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Aston Maui Hill
Aston Maui Hill
#1 of 60 in Kihei
668 reviews
1 km away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#15 of 60 in Kihei
978 reviews
1.6 km away
The Hale Pau Hana
The Hale Pau Hana
#3 of 60 in Kihei
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Hui Kai Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Hui Kai Condominium

Address: 2994 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9636
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: €363 - €463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hale Hui Kai Condominium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Hui Kai Condominium Hotel Kihei
Hale Hui Kai Condominium Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing