We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maui Schooner Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$398
US$356
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kamaole Sands(Kihei)(Great Value!)
US$321
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$258
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
US$209
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$255/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$208
US$166
Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$204/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$261
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$256/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$403
US$262
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$362
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mana Kai Maui(Kihei)
US$697
US$583
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
121
82
32
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
82
32
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis courtswasher and dryerbeach chairstimeshare exchangethe kitchenfloor fanliving roomtime sharepool areaocean viewsecond weeksecond bedroomhot tubbeautiful landscapingsalt and pepperwould definitely stay here againgreat amenities
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The resort is tucked in among several other condo/timeshare type units in a convenient and quite location. While the resort is on the beach side of the street, it is not an area recommended for swimming but it is a nice stretch of beach for a walk and pretty views. We are the type that typically set up base camp where ever we stay and venture out daily to explore the beauty of our vacation spot. We didn't spend much time just hanging out at the resort, as there are way too many things to see on Maui. The Maui Schooner was perfect for us, our favorite amenities were the washer and dryer, which were used daily for our beach towels, and such. The beach towels, cooler and chairs also went everywhere we went too. The front desk was friendly and helpful. Based on our needs we found the resort to be clean, comfy, and quiet. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We just spent a week at the Maui Schooner as a timeshare exchange. While the location was good, north of fantastic beaches and south of the airport and Lahaina, the resort itself is more of a condo development than true "resort". Limited amenities and the only activities onsite seemed to be tennis and shuffleboard. The pool, while clean and well maintained is small and was very cold the week we were there. The hot tub was nice and warm though. Limited shade at the pool but never a problem finding a chair to lounge in and read. It's nice that there are grills available but sometimes there were folks waiting in line for them. Our unit was billed as a 2 bedroom unit but was really only one private bedroom and a loft with its own bathroom above the living space with no privacy. Still, it was only the two of us so we used the larger loft space and just stored our luggage in the second bedroom (which had windows facing the outside walkway and was probably not as quiet as the loft). Every unit has a private lanai with table and chairs. We did enjoy having a bathroom on each level which made getting ready to go out faster. The full kitchen was great too for making breakfast and picnic lunches for the beach. Grocery stores are not far away and with prices what they are on Maui having breakfast in the room most days saved a lot of $. The beach at Maui Schooner is not swimmable at all but just south of the resort are fantastic beaches. Highly recommend you pick up a copy of "Maui Revealed" for great advice on beach access, restaurants, etc. We relied on it so much it was a 'must have' in our beach bag each day. All in all, I'd stay at Maui Schooner again because of the location but if you're looking for luxury, this isn't it.

Room Tip: Building A is oceanfront and has the best views but is evidently saved for owners at this resort. Exchangers all seemed to be in the B bldg. However, it seems that everyone has a partial ocean view regardless of building.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BLH613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This is not a 5-star hotel. I was disappointed to trade my Newport Coast Villa timeshare for this hotel. But upon settling in, the privacy was wonderful, it was quiet, beach out your slider, they provide beach chairs and cooler. The sunsets are beautiful and it was like having your private backyard. All evening we saw one couple walk by. Large bathroom area, bed was fine, nice walk in closet. We had the 2/2 on one floor. We were on the first floor and it was quiet. It is dated, but it is well stocked and clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing the ocean. Pool is in center. We did not use. Foodland is right down the street. Outback not far. Lahaina Prime Rib and Fish Co. has a happy hour and prime rib special that ends at 6:00. It was really nice at sunset.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lr0che
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My husband and I spent most of our honeymoon here earlier this year. My mother-in-law got us this as a gift through Interval International, which is a time share trading company. The place was spacious enough for up to 4 people. There was a small bedroom with closet, a bathroom with a separate shower/toilet, a small kitchen and living room/dining room area. We also had a patio with table and chairs. The pool and spa were convenient, and there was a short walk to the beach. There wasn't much sand you could sit on, but there were beautiful views! The room was clean, we were provided with necessary basic items for the kitchen, and beach towels, chairs and cooler. The only complaint we had a was rude lady at the front desk, no secure place for luggage if you are waiting to check in (it was in an UNLOCKED shed outside). They took care of any needs we had, and we would definitely stay here again when we come back!

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor, which was nice because you could walk right out to the pool and beach within minutes.There was not much noise from upstairs. I would recommend getting a room facing the beach, ours was facing the pool.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank drea1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We booked this off of a Groupon and we were very worried when we read some of the reviews. My husband and I got a 2 bedroom. We stayed in the loft and it was magnificent! The loft was air conditioned and had a wonderful fan. The whole place was clean and well stocked. Even had things I didn't expect like Beach Towels, Laundry basket, coolers, and beach chairs. The grounds were beautiful and we walked along the beach with our kids.

I love to cook and there wasn't anything I needed in the kitchen that it wasn't already stocked with. The BBQ grills were very nice. They were WEBER's and you can't get better than that.

My brother and his family got the 1 bedroom and he was seriously worried about the air conditioning since he sweats even when it is cool outside. He said he couldn't be happier though. The back room didn't have an air conditioner but it wasn't really hot back there (they were on the 2nd floor) and he slept out on the couch under the air conditioner and fan.

On the day of departure, we had to check out at 10AM but they had a luggage storage shed we could put our bags. Our flight didn't leave until 10PM but the schooner let us use the pool all day and also had guest showers for us to use. We were very happy with this place.

Room Tip: Get a two bedroom and not on the first floor.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank JacindaMontano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews