We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Very pleasant surprise"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maui Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Very pleasant surprise"”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed at the Maui Coast in Feb 2012 and found it to be delightful. It is clean, nicely laid out, not too overwhelmingly busy and the staff are lovely. Our room was so comfortable - I still miss the bed! The room was average sized but very clean and modern. The bar fridge and microwave were more than sufficient for our needs. We usually get a condo but decided to try a hotel room instead as we normally end up reheating leftovers or having fruit as opposed to cooking full meals. The pool is perfect sized for a hotel across the street from the beach. Enough cabanas and loungers for those who wanted them. It was full but rarely overcrowded. A perfect place for those who love Maui and are out all day but still need a peaceful, comfortable retreat at the end of the day as opposed to just any old place to rest your head. One minor complaint would be that some people not registered at the hotel were using the pool also. Given that there's a somewhat limited supply and a person is paying an extra $14 per day for resort fees, it would be nice if it were monitored a little bit more.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the parking lot seemed to be noisier whereas we had one facing the other hotel which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShondaKharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Aloha Shonda,

Mahalo for allowing us to surprise and host you while here on the lovely Island of Maui!
We’re glad that you made use of our outdoor pool and understand your concern. Thank you for bringing this comment to our attention. We will address this accordingly.

Mahalo,
Rowena Tolentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,135
    746
    137
    38
    26
See reviews for
451
1,084
79
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This was our first ever trip to Hawaii and we visited the amazing island of Maui. The maui coast hotel is a fairly nice property. The staff were very very friendly (manny at the front desk is very amusing, I especially like how he felt sorry for us when we told him we were from Winnipeg, Canada!! Hahah.. thanks Manny for all your assistance during our stay) The hotel room was clean and take it as you will, this city slicker hates messy messes and dirty places. This hotel room was clean.. we stayed in room 439 and it was really quite nice. The bed is so comfy and the furniture is updated and modern. The only complaint I have is the bathroom is really tiny so be careful. the bathroom ceilings could use updating too. but all in all it was fine.. and besides, when you visit an extraordinary place like Maui, do you really stay in your hotel room the whole time??? I don’t think so!! The beach is across the street which is fine because it’s maui…ITS HOT THERE.. so you don’t mind the walk.
The pool area is really busy but the staff are very friendly and anytime my husband and I ordered drinks, they delivered it very very quickly.
SPICES restaurant- we ate valentines day dinner there and the food was phenomenal. I had the lobster with mashed potatoes and fresh crisp steamed veggies, my husband had the pasta alfredo topped with an abundance of seafood. (we’re Italian, and we know what good pasta tastes like LOL, and rest assured, this was one delectable dish) the cocktails are amazing and the appetizers were very very tasty. The coconut shrimp and the calamari are to die for. Great job and great service at spices. Ask for a seat on the patio, its pretty out there. just beware of the ants on the columns.. not so pretty I must say. But all in all it was good.
They have a state of the art weight and workout room… its amazing, take advantage of it early in the morning when nobody is there..good times.
The hotel is equipped with a laundry room as well on the 4th floor which is nice and the its free, the only thing is you gotta pay for your laundry soap and it’s 75 cents per load. CHEAP! The laundry room is an added bonus, you don’t know how much sand remains on the bottom of that washing machines once you’re done. Don’t bring any of that home!!
Great staff, great service and the location is right on south kihei which is the main strip along the coast in the town of Kihei. Its close to shopping and great restaurants, café o’lei being one of them..fantastic! We will definitely stay there again. P.S. rent a car you’ll need it… visit this site http://www.discounthawaiicarrental.com/ we rented a compact car for $280.00 for 7 days! Also DRIVE THE ROAD TO HANA…it was the best thing we did. It’s a day adventure and it is well worth it. pick up the CD at the shell gas station…it’s 20 bucks. You can pay the excursion bus to take you on the Hana tour, but it’s like $250.00 per person. If you drive the highway yourself, you are bound to drive right behind one or more of the excursion tour buses, so just stop on the highway were they stop! Its not rocket science. Also, don’t waste your time with the submarine excursion, if you go to the maui ocean center you’ll see WAY more.. and it will only cost ya 45 bucks a person there, the sub will run you about 170 per person. Also, take a trek to big beach past the town of Wailea, its so awesome there but be carefull as the waves are strong and the tide comes in quickly. you must also do a luau! They’re fun and they feed you and you can drink all you want all night. we also enjoyed a sunset dinner cruise whic was nice, and we also did a whale watch.. that was boring cause we saw nothing. also enjoy the road side farmers markets too, fresh pineapple and coconuts...so delish. if you drive the road to hana, you can purchase an abondance of fresh fruit for literally pennies. enjoy your trip. We certainly did!!

Room Tip: the parking spaces are tight so beware. and i dont think any rooms have ocean view as its across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carmela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Aloha Carmela,

Thank you for choosing “your home away from home” to be The Maui Coast Hotel!
We are glad that you were able to use our state of the art workout room and self service laundry rooms.

Manny, as well as our other staff members were delighted in having you as our guest!

Mahalo,
Rowena Tolentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We loved our stay at the Maui Coast. As long as you're not expecting the Ritz-Carlton, you will be happy. Nice, spacious and clean rooms (we stayed in a suite, which was perfect for kids who wanted to nap). Staff was the friendliest we've encountered almost anywhere, including stays at larger resorts and luxury hotels. The location was perfect - right across from the beach and within walking distance of numerous restaurants. The only downside was the parking lot view, but I'm sure we could have paid a little more for the other view. Our friends were staying at a small hotel in Wailea and our hotel was definitely better and more convenient.

Room Tip: Suites are great, but ask for non-parking lot if possible. Luckily, none of the rooms were directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Aloha Carolyn,

The pleasure was ours in hosting you during your time on Maui!
Our 1 bedroom suite sounded perfect for your needs. The separated bedroom allows for privacy away from the common living room space.

Mahalo for staying with us!
Rowena Tolentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

we booked a room with a king bed 7 months before our arrival date. We arrived at the hotel too early so left our stuff at the hotel and went out to see the sites. We arrived back at the hotel around 10pm only to find that king beds were no longer available. We ended up with 2 double beds. Disappointing that we booked 7 months in advance, arrived at the hotel early and didn't get what we booked. The hotel was clean and the rooms were nice and after all, it's Maui!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NonRIUTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Aloha,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay on the beautiful island of Maui!

However, I sincerely apologize for not being able to fulfill your bed type request. This is not a common occurence therefore I thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Mahalo,
Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We booked this property in Kihei because of the TripAdvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. Granted, it is not the Fairmont, but the rooms we had were clean and updated. We booked both the regular room and a junior suite for our family. The regular room was adequate, although the bathroom was small and the tub had no grab bar. The suite had more floor space, a wet bar and a larger bathroom.

The staff was very polite and cheerful. The pool was on the small side, but in good condition. We enjoyed it because most people went to the beach across the street. I appreciated the computers that were available at no extra charge so I could check emails. We did have a rental car, but there were plenty of dining options within walking distance. We did use the bicycles that were included with the resort fee, and that was fun. Parking and a daily newspaper were also included.

Room Tip: Request an odd numbered room on a higher floor so you're not looking at the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvlvnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for booking your stay with us!
We were glad to have you as our guests. We are delighted that you made use of the mountain bicycles during your stay. They are a great added amenity for the fit in mind!
Mahalo again.

Regards,
Rowena Tolentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
34.1 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
3,874 reviews
34.6 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
35.6 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.4 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
428 reviews
5.4 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
33.9 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Property: Maui Coast Hotel
Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-6289
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing