We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
55
16
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
16
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews farmers market abc store sugar beach grounds are beautiful and well maintained the kitchen loft bedroom high rise peace and quiet boogie boards great unit family vacation beach chairs easy access location is great view of the ocean pools units
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Reluctant to tell everyone about it for fear I won't be able to book anymore. It was fantastic!!! Right on the beach, easy access to many other things. Walk to farmers' market and shave ice stand. I'm not one who enjoys high rise-style crowded hotels, so this is so great in that you really feel isolated from all that, but you can still visit them if you want to.

Great area for paddle boarding or windsurfing. Snorkel in other places if you want to see a lot, not much under water here.

Room tip: Choose a room on the beach, your patio will be amazing.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NomadKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Unit G-9 was great for a family vacation with our two grandsons, aged 10 and 12. The boys loved their loft bedroom with the spiral staircase and separate bathroom. Our bedroom was very comfortable, with more storage than we needed. G-9 is nicely decorated and the kitchen is better equipped than most vacation rentals. We found everything we needed to prepare meals. The grounds are lovely and right on the beach, with two pools as well. Even during a busy period the pools were never crowded. This was a lovely spot for a spring break trip with kids. This is a second-floor unit, with some stairs to get in and a spiral staircase to the loft, so not good for those with mobility problems but perfect for families with older kids.

Room tip: Unit G-9 is nicely decorated and well equipped.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malea S, Manager at Maalaea Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Thank you so much for staying with us. We are so happy you enjoyed our resort, and we look forward to having you stay with us again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

We recently spent 12 nights in Unit F 6 at Maalaea surf resort. This was our second time staying at the resort and once again it was fantastic. The grounds are beautiful and well-maintained. We had the pool and beach largely to ourselves. Other residents and guests are friendly and welcoming. The ritual conch ceremony at sundown is fun to observe or participate in.

Our only reservation is that some units, including F 6 are in need of an update. The kitchen cabinets are very dated, new furniture would be appreciated and bathrooms could use a refresh. We have stayed in two other units which are less rustic.

The upper units offer great views of the ocean, especially in buildings other than F, which is furthest from the beach.

Room tip: Next time we would select a main floor unit to allow easier access to the lawn, pool and beach.
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank LindaFlanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Terrible terrible, terrible. This unit is old run down and needs updating. Everything that could go wrong went wrong. If there is any other unit or any other place in Maui to stay take it. Five star price for one star accommodation Complex is beautiful, view is amazing, unit is terrible.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank attaboyCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 days for a family vacation. We had 3 different rooms & all of them were very comfortable. They all had everything we needed in them as for kitchen items go. The grounds were beautiful maintained. If you splurge for the ocean front room you will not be disappointed ours was & it made the trip. The beach out in front is very nice to play on. Not a lot of people really going by. The water was gentle there my 3yr old niece was playing in the ocean daily. Some waves here & there that you can boogie board on. If you go early morning snorkeling is a option but the water seemed to get murky pretty early in the day.
Absolutely no complaints about anything there the management was great as well. We will return for sure!!!! MAHALO!!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Arik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews