We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing first experience on Maui”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kamaole Nalu Resort
Ranked #39 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed 27 May 2008

We traveled with other family members who were also at the Kamaole Nalu, and for a first experience on Maui, we couldn't have been happier.

While the property shows its' age(backing on the drapes in Master bedroom seemed to rub off and leave bits all over the floor overnight, to gaps in the window frames in the same bedroom patched with masking tape) there is obvious work happening on a daily basis by the great groundskeeper to make the already prime location even more appealing.

We were more interested in experiencing Maui than focusing on our accommodations, so while I am sure there are more lavish surroundings, the perfect kid sized pool, impeccable grounds, and being literally steps from the nicest beach I have ever seen more than made up for any slight shortcomings the rooms themselves may have had. The view from our lanai (unit 404) was worth the trip on its own.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank thonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2008

There's no better place on Maui! We stay in Unit 105 at Kamaole Nalu EVERY YEAR! Ground floor is perfect to let our kids run on the lawn as well as have the pool right in front of the unit for them to enjoy endlessly! The beach (two, actually) is steps away and perfect for children. With restaurants and a little organic grocery store across the street, we only get in the car a handful of times for a couple sightseeing adventures. Unit 105 is also special to us because Kathy (the owner) is wonderful to work with and the unit is nicely kept. It even has an iMac for those of us who just have to check our email everyday but hate dragging a laptop along! Unit fits our family of 6 perfectly too!

Stayed: March 2008
Thank nalulover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2008

We have been coming to Maui for 24 years, and have stayed at the Kamaole Nalu at least 10 times. The location can't be beat as it is right on the beach and has a wonderful grass area with pool if you don't want the sand. It is central to everything, and you can walk practically everywhere. This year we stayed in unit 405 and it was infested with tiny ants in the kitchen, and bedrooms. We mentioned this to the management company, who sent someone to the unit with a few ant traps which did not resolve the problem. So it was left to us to do our own bug maintenance every day. And still the problem wasn't resolved. Additionally, the unit's curtain and carpets really needs a good cleaning. We bought straw mats to lay on the carpet so we wouldn't have to walk on the dirty carpet.
Because we love Maui, we didn't let this spoil our trip, but we will be looking for a new place to stay when we return next year.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2008

My wife and I finally decided to get married, and to do it on Maui. We researched online for several months for accomodations, and finally found the Nalu's site. I was impressed by the site, and how it shows the rooms individually. I called to ask for some information, and received an information packet in the mail with a Maui magazine thrown in (which turned out to be helpful in planning activities). When I called, I spoke to Cheryl at the front desk, and she was able to give lots of good advice about going to Maui for the first time. When we finally arrived, we stayed in unit 205. The view was very nice, although I would have preferred to be higher. The room only has a queen bed, where all of the other rooms that family and friends had stayed in had king sized beds, but that wasn't a huge problem. Every morning, at about 5:30 AM, the turtledoves start calling, and the sound echos around between the Nalu and the neighboring building...it wasn't too loud for us, because we were closer to the ocean. It is well worth it to pay the extra money to be in building 5 or 6. The property was well maintained, and the staff was very friendly. The best part was getting up early to walk out and swim in the ocean...we played in the ocean every morning from about 6:00 AM to about 8:00 AM (the time difference makes it easy to be an early riser!!). The kitchen is small, and this became a bit of an issue, as we had 18 people who cam eto Maui with us, but we were able to muddle through. I agree with another writer in this set of reviews...a few patio table sets and some chairs would be nice to have near the ocean to sit in the cool trade winds in the evening. This was absolutely the best trip I've ever been on, and the Nalu was perfect as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MauidMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2007

We stayed in #505 for a week in August - with two bedrooms, two bathrooms and everything we could want for a comfortable Hawaiian condo. It was a great size for a couple and teenage son (and the internet connection was appreciated). It could accomodate 2 couples, although one bedroom has a great view and the sound of crashing waves (you get used to sleeping to them after a night or 2) while the other has no view but lots of early morning noise (birds especially). There are two beds in the second bedroom and one is a double so big enough for a family with 3 kids. You do need to leave windows open as there is no AC, but it is comfortable with the windows open even in August heat . I found it on VRBO and we were very pleased - the pictures online don't do it justice. Spacious rooms, fantastic views of ocean and sand and palms, wonderful big mirrors enhancing the space, nice decor, new washer and dryer in suite, boogie boards, beach chairs, lots of towels and linens. We spent a lot of time on the lanai, with it's unbeatable views and more shade during the day than you would expect, given the views. We even got to watch the lunar eclipse from it. There is a nice pool and the grounds are meticulously kept. The beach is great but watch out for the strong waves - I lost my sunglasses when I was tossed by a wave while wading. We recommend Matteo's Pizza and the Sea Watch Restaurant in the Wailea Golf Club with breakfast until 3 pm!

5  Thank CentralButtegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.6 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,184 reviews
0.1 km away
Royal Mauian
Royal Mauian
#38 of 60 in Kihei
122 reviews
1.1 km away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#16 of 60 in Kihei
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#4 of 60 in Kihei
543 reviews
0.8 km away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#12 of 60 in Kihei
972 reviews
0.1 km away
The Hale Pau Hana
The Hale Pau Hana
#2 of 60 in Kihei
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamaole Nalu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamaole Nalu Resort

Address: 2450 S Kihei Rd, Between Kanani and Keonekai Roads, next to Kamaole Beach Park II, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8694
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: €281 - €449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kamaole Nalu Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Kamaole Nalu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamaole Nalu Hotel Kihei
Kamaole Nalu Kihei
Kamaole Nalu Resort Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing