We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Big Island Adventure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Hawaiian Helicopter Tours - Maui

Blue Hawaiian Helicopter Tours - Maui
Ranked #3 of 31 Tours in Kahului
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Blue Hawaiian Helicopters is the premier helicopter company in Hawaii utilizing the latest technology helicopters and safety systems.
Jamestown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Big Island Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Greg was our pilot and could not have been better. Very knowledgeable and made you feel very safe. The tour was great and something that you will never see anyplace else. A bit expensive but worth it.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,081
    113
    46
    25
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckhannon, West Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Well worth the money!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Our family went last week on a fantastic trip with Blue Hawaiian Helocopters. Glenda was our pilot and she really was amazing. We saw the island like I never had before. Taking this trip helped us see parts of Maui that would take days to hike and enjoy.
Glenda was an incredible pilot that explained what we were viewing and gave some history on the island. There was nothing scary about this flight and it is worth every penny. Flying above the whales really was incredible. It was amazing to see the real size of these beautiful creatures. We took the Maui Spectacular on the Eco Star copter. The copter landed halfway through the trip and we had champagne overlooking the coast. Then we went on to see the volcano and the waterfalls in Hana.
Definitely buy the dvd of the trip after the flight. It is only $25 and it has all the narration of the flight and questions that were asked during the trip. It is really great to show everyone the trip you took and it explains itself. This was my 1st helocopter trip on Maui and it won't be my last. Thank you Glenda, Kris, and Mary for taking such good care of us.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mailboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We chose the Molokai/West Maui tour and it was amazing!! Neither my husband or myself had ever been in a helicopter and I was a little nervous. We made our reservations online and I requested the first row, which we did get and it made a huge difference. Our pilot was an amazing tour guide and made us feel completely at ease. The sights were so beautiful and breathtaking, especially the sea cliffs. This was by far our favorite experience on Maui!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank asher8506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“First class tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We took the West Maui & Molokai tour at 11 AM on a day in early February 2012. The weather was great this day and the tour was breathtaking. Our pilot, Anna, was engaging and knowledgeable. The flight, on an Eco-star helicopter, was smooth. I was able to get great pictures despite sitting in a middle seat.

- They will tell you to wear dark clothing to minimize reflections on the inside of the windows. Please do this even if you aren't planning to take pictures because it definitely helps those of us who do take pictures.

- You can't carry anything but cameras on the flight, but they have a group locker where you can keep anything else. I felt secure leaving my stuff with the ground crew. The parking lot seems very safe, too.

- You will be weighed but no one will announce your weight!

- You don't get to pick your seat -- it is chosen to balance the load in the helicopter. However, even the middle seats in the Eco-star are good, and they are probably better if you have a long telephoto lens on your camera -- gives you more room to maneuver the camera.

- Everything about this experience is professional.

- Plan on waiting awhile after the flight if you want to purchase the DVD of your flight. It took over 30 min for us to get the third of three DVDs made for our flight.

- At the time of day in the season of our flight, the waterfalls on Molokai were in the shade. An experienced photographer will know how to deal with that but if you are not one, your pictures will be better if you are prepared to change the exposure on your camera to slightly overexpose these shots.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CW2S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerro Gordo, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“poor experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

This ride was recommended by friends from thier trip. My experience was poor at best. Yes you can see barley) if you are in the middle back seat but not worth the price. The people in front got great shots and views, side windows pertty good, back seat middle, not worth the money. I would suggest using a helicoter that has three seats not this one with six seats. pilot was OK, but trip video was terrible, high reflection and not clear at all. Most pictures I took have reflction of front seat passangers, etcc. NOT WORTH PRICE>

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueCEO, Owner at Blue Hawaiian Helicopter Tours - Maui, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
We cannot find a record of your flight with us. Please contact us to verify the date you experienced our service.
Thank you
Dave Chevalier
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Hawaiian Helicopter Tours - Maui also viewed

 

Been to Blue Hawaiian Helicopter Tours - Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing