We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
16
20
19
18
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
20
19
18
38
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2016

No, this place ain't nothing fancy. It's full of flaws. Yet, for a place to stay in over priced Hana, where the aloha seems a bit deminished, and two beers, two drinks, and a plate of guacamole and chips (about the size of half a normal order) can set you back $60, there's nothing to complain about here. It's a hostel. It's funky. There are a few bugs, but it's the tropical side of the island. The place is very clean and orderly. Don't be turned off by Ed. He's a really nice guy, who at times isn't feeling too well, but he's got a big heart. He'll set down the rules and respect comes with respect. He's an old hand and has seen a lot over the years running Joe's Place. For $50-$60 a night in Hana, this place gives the opportunity to spend more time exploring the eye popping Hana region. Bring some food. The fridges are cold and stove works. There are dishes and pots and pans. Be careful on the road with all of the rented Jeeps, Mustangs, and Corvettes rushing around the corners of the Hana Highway loop. Pull over for the local traffic. There's a lot to see, and show respect to the true Hawaii spirit. If you want the Hawaii play ground, stay on the west side.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
4  Thank Allen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Joes Place is great if you are looking for one or two nights cheap accommodation in Hana but it is VERY dilapidated and doesn't feel the cleanest. The guy who checked us in was lovely with good recommendations of where to go and eat. We shared a bathroo and had a bedroom with a double bed and a single for our toddler, there is no airconditioning and the fan wouldn't come on without the light being on so we took the bulb out. Parts of the building were falling apart. We had dinner at the steak house which was quite expensive for the size of the meals but they were very tasty and it was the only thing open other than the hotel restaurant. We had a nice cheap breakfast at the Barefoot Cafe by the beach and headed back to Kihei via the gravel road which was pretty easy and great to see the other side of the island. Joe's place is for sale but we would stay again if we were to visit that area again just because of the price.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room where the light is separate from the fan.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bendy452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

Joe's was a great place to stay when you need an extra day in Hana. It was clean, and very reasonably priced. It was definitely a family style hostel, with some private rooms, but a shared bathroom. Great location near the end of the road to Hana.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jpmaui2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2015

The rooms are decent and Ed gave us pointers on places to get dinner. I felt this was the most reasonable option in Hana. The toilet was also clean. The property is a bit old but still great. I would recommend

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tankz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2015

We visited Maui and planned for an overnight stay at Hana. We could not find any hotel for our overnight stay on such a short notice. Joe's place was the only option left for us. The place is very old. They have tried to maintain the room which is good. The bathroom was ok. Do not use kitchen there. Its very old and all the appliances are outdated. The place is very cheap when compared to other places in Hana which are way too expensive. Considering they stay for just a night, its not a very bad option.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chitra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews