We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Papalani
Ranked #5 of 9 Hana B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Sybil is such a gracious hostess for this lovely tropical setting. One of the most memorable moments of our trip to Maui, was sitting out in the screened sunroom listening to an early morning heavy rain. After about 20 minutes sun came out and so did the birds! We didn't want for anything in the Ohana cottage. The Venus Pools are right across the street from Papalani's. Sybil encouraged us to go in the early morning, so we could have the pools all to ourselves. What a treat that was. Highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank pamn362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

A peaceful place to restore yourself. I stayed in the whale watch suite with views to the ocean and the mountains from the tower. Sybil is s gracious host.
Red Sands beach is worth a visit, wear robust footwear to get there; I took the beach/rock route to Red Sands rather than the cliffs which seemed safer.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016

We spent 5 amazing days at Papalani. We booked the Ohana cottage which features a well equipped kitchen, a large living room, a terrace (with mosquito nets everywhere) as well as a bathroom with wash machine and dryer. The location is superb: outside of Hana and just in front of Waioka Ponds also known as Venus Pool (great to swim at all times, even when there is high surf). You just cross the road and can sit on a meadow above the cliffs and watch the sunrise over the sea. Just fantastic. Hana is a great place: very quiet (there is one hotel and only a couple of restaurants open in the evening so get ready to cook the local fish and vegetables that you can buy at the different food stands) and beautiful (ah Hamoa Beach, the king's trail from Waianapanapa State Park and the bamboo forest at Ohe'o pools). What made our stay memorable is the owner Sybil and her partner Tracy. Sybil is the sweetest lady on earth and deeply cares about her guests. It is a treat to be around her. Tracy is great fun and we enjoyed every moment of our excursions to Haleakala and Ohe'o gulch with him. Both were very helpful in organizing the logistics of our trip. Sybil, Tracy and Hana were the highlight of our trip to Hawaii!

Stayed: February 2016
Thank SoMa_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Sybil has created an amazing guest house with absolutely everything one could want to experience paradise at its finest. She was delightful to book with and finally meet and talk with. The fresh pineapple and papaya available for the picking along with the fresh muffins and local coffee were great. We spent one morning relaxing on the screened porch through a rain storm that changed the gentle brook behind the guest house into a roaring stream which was wonderful to experience. Loved the openess with all of the screened sliding glass doors high up in the tropical forest, yet it felt private. Wonderful property, hospitality and stay.

Stayed: June 2015
2  Thank Fl_travelergville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2015

Going back again for the third time says it all. We sleep in, read in the hammock, go for long walks, watch the sun set, body surf & snorkel, take naps, eat Hawaian style Thai meals, etc. This is the place to experience the real Hawaiian Spirit; the place to unwind, slow down, and become human again. Sybil is a gracious host and has become a good friend.
Tom & Carole Callon

Room Tip: We love the Whale Watch Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hana hotels
2.8 km away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
1.3 km away
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
3.3 km away
Hana Kai Maui
Hana Kai Maui
#2 of 2 in Hana
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papalani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papalani

Address: Star Route 27, 4 mi. past Hasegawa's General Store, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hana
Price Range: €21 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Papalani Hotel Hana
Papalani Hana, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing