We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$684
US$658
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$407
US$389
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$965
US$628
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$376
US$354
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$395/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$402
US$376
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$476
US$420
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$497/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$627
US$546
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
US$572
US$537
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$1,344
US$925
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
31
2
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
2
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect retreatsacred poolspipiwai trailcyrilmaui
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

A peaceful place to restore yourself. I stayed in the whale watch suite with views to the ocean and the mountains from the tower. Sybil is s gracious host.
Red Sands beach is worth a visit, wear robust footwear to get there; I took the beach/rock route to Red Sands rather than the cliffs which seemed safer.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016

We spent 5 amazing days at Papalani. We booked the Ohana cottage which features a well equipped kitchen, a large living room, a terrace (with mosquito nets everywhere) as well as a bathroom with wash machine and dryer. The location is superb: outside of Hana and just in front of Waioka Ponds also known as Venus Pool (great to swim at all times, even when there is high surf). You just cross the road and can sit on a meadow above the cliffs and watch the sunrise over the sea. Just fantastic. Hana is a great place: very quiet (there is one hotel and only a couple of restaurants open in the evening so get ready to cook the local fish and vegetables that you can buy at the different food stands) and beautiful (ah Hamoa Beach, the king's trail from Waianapanapa State Park and the bamboo forest at Ohe'o pools). What made our stay memorable is the owner Sybil and her partner Tracy. Sybil is the sweetest lady on earth and deeply cares about her guests. It is a treat to be around her. Tracy is great fun and we enjoyed every moment of our excursions to Haleakala and Ohe'o gulch with him. Both were very helpful in organizing the logistics of our trip. Sybil, Tracy and Hana were the highlight of our trip to Hawaii!

Stayed: February 2016
Thank SoMa_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Sybil has created an amazing guest house with absolutely everything one could want to experience paradise at its finest. She was delightful to book with and finally meet and talk with. The fresh pineapple and papaya available for the picking along with the fresh muffins and local coffee were great. We spent one morning relaxing on the screened porch through a rain storm that changed the gentle brook behind the guest house into a roaring stream which was wonderful to experience. Loved the openess with all of the screened sliding glass doors high up in the tropical forest, yet it felt private. Wonderful property, hospitality and stay.

Stayed: June 2015
3  Thank Fl_travelergville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2015

Going back again for the third time says it all. We sleep in, read in the hammock, go for long walks, watch the sun set, body surf & snorkel, take naps, eat Hawaian style Thai meals, etc. This is the place to experience the real Hawaiian Spirit; the place to unwind, slow down, and become human again. Sybil is a gracious host and has become a good friend.
Tom & Carole Callon

Room Tip: We love the Whale Watch Room
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Our stay at Papalani was a last minute change of plans. We arrived in Hana just past 6pm after a long trip in from Denver. Our original accommodations were with a different guest house near Hamoa Beach and it was pretty much hotel hell. The place was pretty much disgusting and the bathroom hadn't been cleaned at all. We told the innkeeper and she replied, "well, this is the jungle". Anyway, we decided there was no way we were staying there and after a quick search for other accommodations we came across the Bamboo Gatehouse at Papalani. We called Sybil around 7pm and she saved us. Sybil was quick to act and get us situated. Just a few minutes past 8pm we were in the Bamboo Gatehouse relaxing! We were greeted by Chelsea who couldn't have been more pleasant and accommodating.

The Bamboo Gatehouse is bright and airy with a full kitchen, electric bbq, outdoor shower and tub. There is one separate bedroom with a queen bed, and a queen bed and a small day bed in the main living area. The kitchen as all the necessities including a coffee maker, toaster oven, gas range, fridge, and microwave. I was worried it would be too hot without AC, but there are three nice ceiling fans, and it actually cooled down quite a bit at night, chilly enough to need a blanket.

The grounds are beautiful with lush tropical folliage everywhere, and across the street is, well, the Pacific Ocean. Definitely recommend this inn if you are staying in Hana.

Glad to be finally realxing on vacation! Thank you for helping us in a pinch Sybil!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank VilniusSchoolmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews