We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“serene, spacious, private”
other travellers have booked this property
Coconut Tree.JPG
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Coconut Tree.JPG
Bamboo View.JPG BambooView Lanai.JPG
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Coconut Tree.JPG
Bamboo View.JPG
BambooView Lanai.JPG
Living.Bamboo
Kitchen Area.Bamboo
Queen Bedroom.Bamboo
Full Bedroom Window.Bamboo
bath.JPG
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Haiku, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kelly T
Truckee, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“serene, spacious, private”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved staying in this property. It is a 10 minute drive out of Paia, towards Hana but well worth it to get out into the peaceful country. If you want nightlife, walking to restaurants then this is not the place. It is more on the rainy side as well so if you don't mind warm rain, mostly at night, then this is it. We wanted peaceful, quiet and solitude which is what we got. Tom, the host was very nice and met up us as we drove up.

We were booked in the Bamboo View Suite but I think it was actually another suite. The web site shows an upstairs suite and one downstairs (Haleakala -this would be good for seniors who do not want stairs). The suite we actually stayed in was even more luxurious than the pictured on the site. It has a beautiful king master bedroom, with lots of windows that I left open at night, which felt like sleeping in a outdoors loft. The bathroom had a Jacuzzi tub, double sinks, and a massive shower. There was a private little covered lanai where we loved to drink our morning coffee. The second bedroom was set up like an office but I believe the couch in there was a Italian futon type. This suite was more set up for a couple rather than two real bedrooms.

The website shows a big covered lanai w/gas grill- this is shared between the 2 upstairs suites. It is not an issue as everyone was very respectful and there were no noise issue. In fact I barely heard anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet, spacious
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WishingYo...
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet Pretty Location”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for quiet place to stay, this is it! A very nice couple run this rental. Essentially, they give your privacy. If you want something, you'll need to call them. They have a small cooler, boogie boards, and beach chairs for your use. You'll need to rent or bring your own snorkel gear. Also, you need to bring your own shampoo and conditioner. Since it is off the beaten path with a long winding driveway, we were glad that we arrived during the day. However, they send you wonderful directions that are very easy to follow with pictures. So, your decision to rent or not to rent is really about the location. Since it is in the mountains, it is a little cooler than the areas by the beach. There are the sounds of roosters crowing, but you can close the windows, as they have air conditioning with room units and a window unit plus the overhead fans. The beds are OK, but not high-end. Best wishes in picking the prefect rental for your vacation.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donny56
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Jungle retreat”
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just left my 10 day retreat here,on Maui.Very serene,with the sound of beautiful birds,and a rooster,and also some torrential rain,which sounded so incredible,in this forest!Haiku is quite aways out of the touristy trap,which I sooo appreciated!I drove to Lahaina for a musical festival,which I missed out on,but quickly learned I was so thankful not to be in the "resort jungle",on that side of the island.Easy access from Haiku,to anywhere else on the island,with a car. Highly recommend the drive to Hana,which was incredible.Also worth seeing sunrise up Haleakala,if you're up to getting up an ungodly hour to do it!Tom and Vicky also have a beautiful place for rent in Hana,which I will check out,if ever back to Mauai.MAHALO!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet,retstful.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy C
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Isolationists Dream Pad”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just us and the horse for the bulk of our stay. Perfect to retreat to, yet a cluster of restaurants worth eating at: Colleen's, Baked, and Nuka.
Also, we saved countless hours of wading through Paia traffic jams by taking up country roads.
The internet was in and out, but that is Haiku for you... not terribly central, but easy to get to Macawao, Kula, the Crater, and you can jaunt partially down the Hana Hwy really easily. Maybe someday there will be a road from Kula to Kihei!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Reviewed 13 June 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing