We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,174)
Filter reviews
3,174 results
Traveller rating
1,999
617
326
146
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,999
617
326
146
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kauai grill butler service makana terrace st regis pacific dream photography four seasons junior suite pool beach our honeymoon green marble champagne sabering lobby bar pool staff turn down service breakfast buffet an ocean view room grand hyatt
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 3,174 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel looks quite tired on the outside, but appearances are sometimes deceitful, as the property is fully renovated and looks great on the inside. Service is spotless, and while as it is usually the case with this type of resorts the food is ridiculously expensive, at least it is good (and the views from the restaurants in the upper part of the building are stunning). Also, there are plenty of off-site options in nearby Hanalei or Kilauea (and a supermarket and a pizzeria and a couple of other places just around the corner, still within Princeville proper). In any case, all the above notwithstanding, it would be worth staying at the property just to have direct access to Puu Poa beach (even if it is also accessible to the public). This is the beach featured in "The Descendants" (the hotel is also featured very briefly), and the beach is as gorgeous as in the movie, if not even more so. The trees are so big that they propel over the beach, so that while there is a large sunny area, it also possible to swim in the sea while in the shade! This may sound trivial, but it comes in extremely handy for families with small children (or just for anyone who likes the beach but would prefer to avoid too much exposure to the sun).

Room tip: Rooms in higher floors will have a more panoramic view, while rooms in the first floor by the pool have faster access to the beach
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkamBey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel located on the north side of the majestic Kauai island. The hotel is changing from a St Regis to an independent hotel but expect the same level or better service as the new owner is known to manage premiere hotels very well. Basically, this is an opportunity to stay at a great hotel for a decent price as the new owners figure out their renovation plans. The views are unrivaled and the rooms are very spacious. The only downsides are the long drive from the airport and the reef by the beach which makes swimming challenging. I recommend staying a few days at this hotel in Princeville and then the Grand Hyatt on the south side of the island to get the chance to experience all the island has to offer while minimizing driving. Once the rode to the Na’Pali Coast is reopen, the full potential of Princeville will be restores. Until then, stay at this hotel to relax, visit the surrounding towns, and absorb yourself into nature.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank arooapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

this was once a great resort but it's now extremely worn and in need of a massive renovation -- which it's about to have. our room was large and comfortable, with a great view of the bay. but the resort itself is crowded -- the restaurants and the pool/beach area are jam-packed. and the whole place is well past the time for a massive retrofit and upgrade. don't stay here now -- wait for the renovation to be done.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Ross L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018

We had heard great things about this property. We stay on the South Shore of Kauai at the Grand Hyatt for 5 nights first, which was outstanding. Then traveled to the North shore of Kauai to enjoy the St. Regis for a couple of days. Sadly, this hotel was a significant disappointment.
First, there is a ton of deferred maintainance with rusty railings, chipping paint in the bathroom, furniture that is very old and worn and worst of all, a huge cockroach in our room (no, we didn't have an outside door that it could have come through).

Worse, the service levels were less than great. The breakfast waiters were attentive and friendly. However, the general service from most of the staff was average, at best. When I called about the cockroach in our room, they offered to send someone up to deal with it. REALLY? This thing was the size of a small mouse and, when I tried to kill it, it quickly crawled out of sight into a crack between the crown moulding and the cieling drywall. I had to strongly request a room change. Then, when the front desk offered a new room in a couple of hours, which was fine, they also said they would move our baggage if we left it packed and by the door. However, when we went by the desk, got our new keys and went to the room, our baggage was not moved. Simple task, poor execution.

The St Regis is changing hands in mid-November, will remain open for about a year under a new name and then get a significant, much needed overhaul (reported to be in the $80 million range). I was told by a long-time employee that they understood that the hotel will close during the renovation.

At this stage, I would simply avoid the St. Regis. The Grand Hyatt is still an excellent hotel with great service.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sterling C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018

My wife and I spent 4 days in this magnificent hotel. the room was outstanding with space to relax, watch the ocean waves and the sunset. The shower was to die for - my wife says. Champagne was delivered and roses in the shape of a heart with 25 in the middle was on our bed one night in honor of your anniversary. The Spa was outstanding as was the pool and every night at 5:30 the custom of sabotage was demonstrated. Idyllic experience in a 5 star hotel. We will go back.

Room tip: The ocean view rooms were outstanding
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews