We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome day on the river”
Review of Outfitters Kauai

Outfitters Kauai
Book In Advance
More Info
US$112.50*
and up
Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill
Ranked #1 of 10 Tours in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Outfitters Kauai has been making vacations awesome since 1988! Offering you a wide range of activities, including HAWAII’S LONGEST ZIPLINE; Exciting Ocean and River Kayak Tours; Waimea Canyon Downhill Biking Tours; SUP Tours; along with hiking and swimming options for many of our guided adventures. Zipline Tours: On May 1, 2017, Outfitters Kauai launched their newest additions... the 3/4 mile long FlyLine Kauai Zipline, and the Kipu Ranch Visitor Welcome Center. The result is improved and reconfigured Zipline Tour packages, and a new, convenient check-in location. Each zipline tour is unique as our lines vary by size, skill-level, and terrain. Fly with us over lush valleys, tumbling waterfalls and forest canopies — landscapes made famous by movies like Jurassic Park, Pirates of the Caribbean, and Indiana Jones. Kayak Tours: If you want to explore the secret beaches and hidden waterfalls of Kauai, Hawaii, look no further than our kayak tours. Outfitters Kauai offers both ocean and river kayaking. Each tour is unique and combines kayaking with additional activities like hiking, snorkeling, swimming, and wildlife viewing. See the famed Na Pali Cliffs, or take a Poipu Whale Watch tour (seasonal). Paddle-Boarding Tours: We invite you to take a standup paddle along a tranquil jungle stream, ringed by the majestic Hau’pu Mountains. The adventure starts with a quick SUP lesson, then you’ll be fitted with a paddle and board that is just the right fit. Outfitters Kauai provides paddlers with top-quality equipment, so you can paddle with ease and get the most out of your adventure. Downhill Bike Tours: Our bike tour takes you alongside what is called “The Grand Canyon of the Pacific” at 3,600 feet on the west side of Kauai. As you wind your way down this geological wonder, you will enjoy panoramic views of crested buttes, amazing waterfalls, rugged crags and deep valley gorges. From the main lookout point, there are dramatic views of Kauai’s lush interior and dazzling ocean coast. Think of this as a nature walk on two wheels, complete with refreshments and information about the culture, history and folklore of Kauai.
Venice, CA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Awesome day on the river”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We went on the kayak/hike to U'uwihe falls. Easy kayak and hike to a fantastic waterfall. Make sure you have sturdy water shoes. The way back was a bit rougher coming back in the wind. Trevor was our guide and he was awesome. A great day trip when you're in Kauai.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,020
    144
    32
    18
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“River and Jungle with lots of fun mixed in.”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We took the paddle board river trip and hike. Spectacular views, just enough challenge and lots of fun. Cory and Matt were terrific knowledgeable guides as we paddled up river, hiked through jungle and jumped from platforms and zip lines into a cool refreshing swim hole. Our boys, 11 and 13 years old, loved every minute of it and the transitions keep it interesting. Tour included other groups and families but everyone seemed to have a good time, was liked minded and got their fill of diving and swimming. While things kept moving, nothing seemed rushed.

The property we hiked has been the backdrop to numerous movies (like Jurassic Park, Raiders of the Lost Ark). Directors pick this location with good reason . . . it is more awesome in person than it appears on the big screen. Outfitters took care of all the details and provided us with great guides who knew a lot about the vegetation, movie history and jungle lore. They seemed to be having as much fun as we all were and the time just flew by.

With the paddling, hiking and swimming your'll burn some calories. Makes sense that you'd be in okay shape before taking this trip and paddle board experience helps too.

A great way to see the island, get wet and work off last night's dessert!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christoph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hang on for dear life and enjoy the ride”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Corey and Nick took us for the ride of our lives. Their knowledge of the island and experience in ziplining were exceptional and safety was their first priority. We had a blast and would not hesitate to do it again. Outfitters Kauai took ziplining to a new level. They made it fun and made the first timers feel at ease, with taking the first big leap of the platform. Their local knowledge highlighting areas were Jurassic Park was filmed made us feel like we walked were dinosaurs walked. The trip was capped off by ziplining into a fresh water swimming hole.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I never thought I would zipline, but now I'm hooked”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This has got to be one of the best day adventures I have ever done in all my years of travelling! We went with Dida and Trevor on an all day adventure of zipline in paradise. I had never done this before and was pretty anxious but when the 8 year old went on the first line, I knew I had to do it. Dida and Trevor are great teachers and took all the fear away. I learned how to zip going forward and backward. Their tips and knowledge helped me face each line with excitement and security. The last 1800 foot ride over the tropical valley is a once in a lifetime experience. Outfitter's will be my first stop in the future for adventure. Thanks guys!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank knitdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Adventure!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Did the kayak/hike/waterfall trip and the ziplines. Guides are friendly and knowledgeable. Beautiful locations.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Outfitters Kauai also viewed

 

Been to Outfitters Kauai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing