We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Too big” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Ranked #3 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Too big”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

The property was absolutely gorgeous. Our condo was 1584 sq ft with 2 levels. The property was way too big for our liking. The pool was located literally blocks away. We had to drive over to the pool, which was located across the road from the property. If you like laying by a pool I would not recommend this place. The other issue we had was parking. We had to park a distance from our condo. Noise was at a minimum and the beach was beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hapytrvlr_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear hapytrvlr_27,
Thank you for your review. We are happy that your found the property and beach to be beautiful. We are located on 33 acres which may be too spread out for some and for others it is just right.
Malama Pono,
Chris A. Gampon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    609
    191
    108
    51
See reviews for
549
792
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We have stayed at Castle Kiahuna twice, in Feb. 2012 and 2007. We found Kiahuna to be very quiet, a great place to relax. The location is perfect, on one of the best beaches on the South shore. We snorkeled, boogie-boarded, surfed and swam every day on Kiahuna beach. It is an easy barefoot walk across the lawn to the beach, and then east past neighbouring resorts to Poipu and Brennecke's Beach. The gardens are very well looked after. We love how everyone meets on the lawn just before sunset - a great way to meet people from all over the world. There were a lot of families with young children there.
The unit we stayed in was very clean and well equipped. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The pool was across the road, but this was not an issue for us. Just a quick walk through the resort and across the road. The kids especially loved the water slide.
We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Rent direct from an owner to be sure exactly which unit you will be staying in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Aloha -

I am pleased that you enjoyed your two visits with us. Too bad they were 5 years apart!

Feel free to contact me should you need asssistance on your next visit - while an owner will guarantee you thier specific unit we can normally take care of special requests with no problems, so if you have something specific in mind, just ask!

Mahalo,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We have stayed here a few times! It is a great place for families! It is like old school Hawaii. Beautiful grounds, quiet, peaceful! We loved the on site restaurant in the original plantation home.

Room Tip: We like the ground floor rooms that open onto the grass!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scfpasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear scfpasadena,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review.
Aloha,
Chris A. Gampon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We just spent 11 days in unit 133, a lovely ground floor partial ocean view one bedroom. Noise wasn't an issue, Went to bed at about 10 and got up no earlier than 8 without any problems. Liked the ground floor as we could manipulate the lounge chairs so we could catch the sun or shade (although not much shade in mid day), on the second floor you'd be limited by the railings. Just a one minute walk to the beach where picked up chairs and towels and could sit in the sun or shade. Went to the pool a couple of times and while it is a 2 minute walk away, was never busy at all. Staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable and well equipped. We cooked most meals in the room after eating out almost every day we were in Mauai. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brock T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Brock T,
Thank you for your kind review. We hope you are able to return to Outrigger Kiahuna in the near future.
Mahalo,
Chris A. Gampon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viking, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This place was good, we went to a wedding there. It's a nice remote location, lots of nice plants and grass and a nice beach right there. the only thing is the condo we were in, needs to be updated and cleaned a little better, hard to do because it is on the older side. We were in some of the other models and they were updated they were very nice. You should rent a vehicle, when i looked on line it sounded like everything was walking distance, not really true. If you like walking lots, there are a few stores walking distance, but if you want to see anything else, not that easy to catch a cab, as they are 20 to 30 minutes away in Lihue. So overall it was good. Another thing is the rooster run wild there, every where, so they crow all night long!!

Room Tip: Ask for an updated model, maybe closer to the beach. I think closer to the beach you don't hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vh0wery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear vhowery,
Thank you for your review. We try to encourage our owners to update their units. If you have any specific comments regarding the unit, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
The roosters can be a little loud but that is part of he charm of Kauai. We do recommend a renting a car so you can see all the beautiful places the island has to offer.
Malama Pono,
Chris A. Gampon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Property: Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8554
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing