We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,864)
Filter reviews
1,864 results
Traveller rating
699
749
278
83
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
699
749
278
83
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coconut marketplace ocean front sand bar free dvd rentals parking lot oceanfront room small kitchenette trees lounge overflow parking fridge and microwave third floor general store partial ocean view every morning coffee maker hot tub no elevator
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 1,864 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Located right next to Coconut Market Place, this facility is right on the beach. Simple but ample, we found it advantageous to stay here. The resort provides a daily allowance for a gourmet coffee, mango lemonade or exotic tea via a boutique coffee shop practically on the premise. We found that an enjoyable 1 minute walking trip daily from our room. Right next to the parking lot, we found Sleeping Giant Grill, a reasonably priced healthy and tasty fresh menu keep them busy with residents, a bar and lounge providing breakfast as well and live entertainment at night. Walking across the parking lot is the Coconut Market Place where we went to ABC, market, shops.
Next door on the beach is a popular restaurant and club Lava Lava Beach Club which is 45 seconds walk from our room (breakfast, lunch, happy hour, and dinner). We also tried other 4-5 Star eateries in Kapaa within walking distance but my wife preferred to go in the car to save time.

Before booking, we read the reviews of the location. However you will have to stay here to really appreciate its superb convenient. The beach is stunningly beautiful. Like other beaches nearby, you have to realize shallow old corals, reefs and rocks, surfs and currents can be hazardous. It is not a good swimming beach. For beach walk you can get moderate exercise around here going north and back.

Like other parts of Kauai you will find abundant roosters. They are colourful, beautiful and strong. We were shocked to see how high they can jump, launching into flights into trees. Their circadian rhythm seems in disarray. You can hear them crowing around the clock. On vacation we found that funny and unexpected. Some guests are not happy being awakened times at night. This however occurs everywhere on the island. As an environment factor, we do not count it against the Islander.

We applaud the resort for being non-smoking,allowing it only in specific designated areas. It is much appreciated by non-smokers and those sensitive to second hand smoke. We did however experience some second hand smoke from guests who violate the policy, tempted to report a few times to the manager. Perhaps more emphasis can be posted in rooms and public areas by the resort.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank ResponsibleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

A perfect location right on the beach. If you can get a room facing the beach, even better. However.....no restaurant on site but Lava Lava Beach club just a very short walk is open for breakfast, lunch and tea.....all on the beach! Other eating options also available close but off site. Resort pool very small so not great for a bunch of kids but enough to relax with a beer or wine by the pool. Outside bar available by the pool. Rooms comfortable and clean. A great spot off the main road. And fantastic to be able to walk along the beach. Don't expect Waikiki kind of busyness....more a relaxed "Do your own thing" kind of location.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Howtha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. First of all it’s obvious that they cater to the traveler who is staying for the season, not the people coming for a short stay. We’ve come to realize that there are very few new hotels here in Kauai, so our hotel exterior looks like many others. However it’s when you step in to the room that the true time warp starts. The decor has not changed since 1982, the same goes for the mattress and pillows, I don’t think they could have been harder. The front desk staff add nothing to the hotel. We needed a sewing kit because my bathing suit broke, nope not one at the front desk. We asked for restaurant recommendations, they sent us to a chain and told us to look on trip advisor. It seems like the pool bar area is popular but we didn’t use it. The room needs to be cleaned well, it was gross to see dirt in the corners in the bathroom and around the front door. The shampoo and soap were unusable because of the heavy scent. The little kitchen is useful for making breakfast and light lunch, it would be difficult to make a meal. There are bbq’s available. The saving grace for this hotel is the location, it’s pretty centrally located, close to the airport. The beach is totally open, very few guests use it. The beach does have a coral reef line so you can’t use a boogie board but there are times when the water is calm that you can snorkel and see many fish. It’s very quiet here, we appreciated that. To sum it up, it was on ok hotel in a great location.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank KLHMOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

This was one of the most affordable hotels we could find on Kauai in March. It was a pretty hotel, perhaps a little dated but that didn't matter. We were looking to stay in Kapaa for the convenience of being able to drive North or South in not too much time. We didn't spend a whole lot of time at the hotel but we did hang around the pool a couple of afternoons. The coffee shop next to the hotel (in the parking lot) is great, especially if you aren't the biggest fan of 'American' coffee. There was also a convenient snorkel hire in the parking lot and a good little bar.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

Although we tend to spend more time on the north shore in princeville and hanalei, my wife and I always like to spend the first few days of our Kauai trips in Kapaa at the Aston. It’s a great launching point for the south and west sides of the island, and is a nice relaxing place to stay after a long flight. Nice clean rooms and a good location. I recommend an upper level room that’s “ocean front” (not “ocean view”) for the best experience.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jrp113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews