We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$228
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$255
US$237
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$342
US$308
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$361
US$192
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$224/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$242
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$259/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,829)
Filter reviews
1,829 results
Traveller rating
688
735
269
83
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
688
735
269
83
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoconut marketplaceocean frontsand barfree dvd rentalsparking lotoceanfront roomfridge and microwavetrees loungeoverflow parkingthird floorsmall kitchenettegeneral storepartial ocean viewevery morninghot tubcoffee makernorth shore
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 1,829 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

A perfect location right on the beach. If you can get a room facing the beach, even better. However.....no restaurant on site but Lava Lava Beach club just a very short walk is open for breakfast, lunch and tea.....all on the beach! Other eating options also available close but off site. Resort pool very small so not great for a bunch of kids but enough to relax with a beer or wine by the pool. Outside bar available by the pool. Rooms comfortable and clean. A great spot off the main road. And fantastic to be able to walk along the beach. Don't expect Waikiki kind of busyness....more a relaxed "Do your own thing" kind of location.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Howtha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. First of all it’s obvious that they cater to the traveler who is staying for the season, not the people coming for a short stay. We’ve come to realize that there are very few new hotels here in Kauai, so our hotel exterior looks like many others. However it’s when you step in to the room that the true time warp starts. The decor has not changed since 1982, the same goes for the mattress and pillows, I don’t think they could have been harder. The front desk staff add nothing to the hotel. We needed a sewing kit because my bathing suit broke, nope not one at the front desk. We asked for restaurant recommendations, they sent us to a chain and told us to look on trip advisor. It seems like the pool bar area is popular but we didn’t use it. The room needs to be cleaned well, it was gross to see dirt in the corners in the bathroom and around the front door. The shampoo and soap were unusable because of the heavy scent. The little kitchen is useful for making breakfast and light lunch, it would be difficult to make a meal. There are bbq’s available. The saving grace for this hotel is the location, it’s pretty centrally located, close to the airport. The beach is totally open, very few guests use it. The beach does have a coral reef line so you can’t use a boogie board but there are times when the water is calm that you can snorkel and see many fish. It’s very quiet here, we appreciated that. To sum it up, it was on ok hotel in a great location.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank KLHMOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

This was one of the most affordable hotels we could find on Kauai in March. It was a pretty hotel, perhaps a little dated but that didn't matter. We were looking to stay in Kapaa for the convenience of being able to drive North or South in not too much time. We didn't spend a whole lot of time at the hotel but we did hang around the pool a couple of afternoons. The coffee shop next to the hotel (in the parking lot) is great, especially if you aren't the biggest fan of 'American' coffee. There was also a convenient snorkel hire in the parking lot and a good little bar.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

Although we tend to spend more time on the north shore in princeville and hanalei, my wife and I always like to spend the first few days of our Kauai trips in Kapaa at the Aston. It’s a great launching point for the south and west sides of the island, and is a nice relaxing place to stay after a long flight. Nice clean rooms and a good location. I recommend an upper level room that’s “ocean front” (not “ocean view”) for the best experience.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jrp113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

We really enjoyed our stay. We stayed one night at the beginning of our vacation and two nights at the end. It was very convenient to the airport and grocery stores. It wasn't a fancy resort, but it had everything you could want and the price was right. We swam in the ocean once, but I would recommend the pool instead. The waves were rough and my niece got stung by a jellyfish (there were warning signs but we chose to ignore them).

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikergirl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews