We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (794)
Filter reviews
794 results
Traveller rating
461
224
71
19
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
224
71
19
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen beach boy time share coconut marketplace timeshare presentation shell vacations washer and dryer garden view one bedroom suite third floor poolside bar no elevator hot tub concierge desk beautiful grounds farmers market ocean front
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 794 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018

We recently spent 6 weeks in a one bedroom unit at the Kauai Coast Resort in the Ali'i building with a garden view, facing the swimming pool. There are 3 3-story buildings; BBQ pits, swimming pool, hot tub, small area with plastic toys for kids to play and a snack bar in the pool area. The resort is undergoing an almost completed renovation. The property is spectacular; the staff works hard to make customers welcome and appreciated. They can't do enough for you. There isn't much of a beach, but there are a lot of chaise lounges and small tables for you to enjoy while watching the ocean waves. There is an excellent restaurant (open for dinner only) and a small, great spa to enjoy.

Date of stay: July 2018
2  Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Administration at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Aloha Patricia:
Mahalo nui loa for your awesome review. Many of our guests really like our “boutique” resort and enjoy spending their days at our lush and relaxing tropical oasis at the pool area with jacuzzi, kiddie pool, sandbox with toys, hammocks and BBQ grills. We do receive many favorable comments about our staff, who take pride in providing exceptional service with genuine aloha. Our partners at the Hukilau Lanai restaurant are amazing and receive many wonderful and well-deserved praises. We are delighted that you had a great experience and our Kauai Coast ‘ohana is looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Stayed here for a week in a 2 bedroom condo, great location, excellent room and great restaurant, as well as pool and BBQ. Comfortable, clean and very pleasant. All staff very helpful and friendly. Highly recommended as a great spot, location and grounds.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Administration at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Aloha:
Mahalo for your wonderful review, we are so pleased you had a relaxing time. We do have a convenient location – oceanfront on the Royal Coconut Coast with our spacious and comfortable units, lush and relaxing tropical oasis at the pool area with spa, hammocks and BBQ grills. Everybody loves the Hukilau Lanai restaurant, which is one of the most popular restaurants on the island and their menu features local Kauai products and produce, so they truly support our local farmers. We have shared your great review with our staff – we aim to please and our staff love to hear great comments such as yours. Our Kauai Coast ‘ohana is very much looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

My husband and I returned for our year anniversary last week and we adored it as much as the first time. Our room was a bit smaller this time but we didn’t use the kitchen or the living room last visit so we did just fine without. We unfortunately were on the first floor (at our request because we are expecting our first) under a very loud family but we were hardly ever in the room to complain. We enjoyed the beautiful plants, ocean view and pool area this time around. We are overjoyed at having been able to visit Kauai again. A huge thanks to all the staff who was very helpful and always courteous. Mahalo for making our anniversary and babymoon trip a total joy

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank cynthia_pina21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Administration at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Aloha Cynthia:
We love it - anniversary and Babymoon! Thank you for making us laugh and for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay, and congratulations on both celebrations! We are the hidden tropical oasis where our guests love to relax and enjoy our spacious accommodations, and spending their days at our lush pool area with jacuzzi, and great ocean-front location. We do receive many favorable comments about our staff, who take pride in providing exceptional service with genuine aloha. We are delighted that you had a great experience and our Kauai Coast ‘ohana is looking forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully next year for some more celebrations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

This was our second time at The Beachboy. The first time was a year prior. Everything was great in terms of the front desk experience. The grounds look wonderful, too. Our problem was with the room and housekeeping. First, I had expected the room to feel like it got a little "face lift" since the renovation. Instead, my husband and I felt like the renovation was botched! The room wasn't especially clean either. I noticed the floors weren't clean in corners. The decor is passable (but reminiscent of a motel or lodge - not resort) and the tub and shower were definitely a step down from last year - cheap flooring, small bathtub with rust already appearing by the metal, lower grade shower faucets and fixtures. The shaving/makeup mirror light didn't work. Most bathroom lights were too dim. Hot water took a long time to get. The sliding doors to the terrace from the living room were already coming apart. I had an exchange with housekeeping in which I asked that our room be cleaned on Wednesday morning because I knew our crew would all be on an excursion then. We returned at 3pm to find it wasn't cleaned and then proceeded to wait until about 5:30 or 6pm for the room to be cleaned. Big inconvenience for us that could have been avoided if housekeeping told me, "Sorry, we won't be able to get to your room until late in the day." Also, last year staff that we saw here and there were super friendly and outgoing. The housekeeping staff and others this time keep their heads down and barely say hello. I know that seems trivial, but for me it adds to the feel of a place. Thought this was going to be our "go to"place in Kauai, but now we are rethinking.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KarenBluestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Administration at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Aloha Karen,
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased you had a positive front desk experience and enjoyed our beautiful, lush and tropical grounds. We have shared your comments and concerns with our Housekeeping and Maintenance leadership for their review and action. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We appreciate you sharing your views and we hope you will visit with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

Currently staying here. Actually more like him present here cause we can’t get out of our room. Here is the truth that all people must know. This building is over 50 years old. It has received a nice cosmetic makeover. But it is all wooden construction. As with any vacation resort there are many families with children. They are staying directly above us miserable parents raising miserable children allow them to run back-and-forth nonstop. It sounds like a party of elephants having a dance above us. Our room shakes and bangs non-stop. We are woken up at six in the morning and kept up until midnight by the Rugrats being unsupervised and running foot races above us.

It is a timeshare that we traded a week from another location for. We were given the timeshare as a gift, one that is a lifetime of burden. If you are not a “owner” you were given the worst possible room in the worst possible location with zero ability to upgrade.

Whoever designed the remake of this place is a moron. All laminate floors especially in wooden buildings should have a sound deadening pad beneath it. The mattresses, which are brand new, all have a rubberized cover. The sheets which are not cut to fit on such a toll mattress slip off and curl up the second you get in bed. We received our once a week cleaning where all they did is give us new towels and sheets our room was left dirty sinks on cleaned at Cetera

In short if you’re locked into staying here like we are then the location is nice with great beach views. The beach is not swimmable and there is no sand. If you were expecting a resort with any amenities whatsoever or service that a company such a resort you’re sadly mistaken. There will be no peace and serenity staying here

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank azcorkdork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Administration at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Aloha,
Mahalo for the time you took to write your review; your feedback is important to us as we strive to provide a great experience for our guests. We appreciate your comments and for bringing these to our attention. This will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort. Many of our owners do enjoy bringing their children in the summer when they are off from school, a trip many of them are excited about and look forward to all year; we do understand and apologize that you found this disturbing. We are pleased you enjoyed our convenient and ocean-front location. Again, we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews