We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Completely Wonderful Place in a Spectacular...”
Hanalei Bay is just across the grass. See the water from your couch.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hanalei Bay is just across the grass. See the water from your couch.
Ocean view living room with sound of the surf. Hanalei Moon from the beach.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Hanalei Bay is just across the grass. See the water from your couch.
Ocean view living room with sound of the surf.
Hanalei Moon from the beach.
Compact full kitchen, epic gourmet dinners & cocktails.
Picnic table awaits you for breakfast in the sunshine.
Enjoy an ocean view from your dining table.
Good king bed. Sleep to rhythm of waves or view the flat screen.
You can see the pier across the bay. Destination for your morning walk?
Here is where you will be on the bay.
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Hanalei, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Galen W
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Completely Wonderful Place in a Spectacular Location”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

You know how you go to a view restaurant and don't expect much from the food? You know how happily surprised you are when the food is a great as the view? That's my reaction to Hanalei Moon Beach Cottage.

HMBC's front lawn leads directly to a very swimmable area of one of the world's most scenic bays. The placement of the cottage is enough to ensure a wonderful vacation.

But, the building is smartly designed with a large picture window in the living room. You can sit on the couch or one of the two reclining chairs, and watch the water, surfers, and swimmers go by. Moreover, the furniture and decorations feel well-designed, thought-out, sturdy and in excellent shape. Nothing is beachy, sticky, or falling apart.

Even better, Suzanne knows how to add touches to the property let us feel even more comfortable and able to relax. The building is well maintained and clean, which is not unique but noteworthy because even those qualities are not universal in Hanalei. There are also nice, if somewhat common extras like a reasonable selection of pots and pans, microwave, toaster-oven, a charcoal BBQ, wide-screen TVs (which we never turned on, but assume worked!), full-size new refrigerator, comfortable chairs, washing soap, beach towels, extra towels of all types, and other reassuring amenities. We also liked the lock-box on the porch. That arrangement was new to us, but it let us lock up, swim, and not worry about losing the key on the beach.

The books, games, and beach-gazing telescope in the living room were truly above-and-beyond treats. So was assortment of beach toys and mats and chairs that were in excellent shape and felt clean. We even appreciated the unique photographs on the walls and the other artwork that was unique and felt just right.

We traveled with friends who rented a cottage across the grass from us. Their place is owned by a different member of the extended family that owns 5 adjacent waterfront units (and more elsewhere in the country). We felt lucky to have chosen HMBC because our owners seemed to understand what boosts a vacation.

Our cottage had a gas stove, which I much prefer over the electric one our friends had. Adding gas must be costly, but it let us enjoy cooking more. Plus, there is a washing machine and gas clothes drier at the cottage which was both handy and free … our friends had to pay several dollars to dry their clothes at an underpowered electric drier. (Come on owners of the other cottages… you're charging $400+ a night and then you make your guests put in quarters to wash and dry their clothes?? I am sure glad HMBC's washing and drying were not nickel and dime annoying extras. I mean, do you want to carry a bag full of quarters from the mainland in case you need to do laundry. Geesh!)

Another special at HMBC is its lovely, hot-water plumbed, outdoor shower. We also appreciated that our kitchen was stocked with matches (our friends had none) and lighter fluid (again, they had none). Our friends even had to ask the housekeepers cleaning other cottages for more toilet paper.

You're given the owner's telephone number is case of any problems. We had an incident: the clothes drier started smoking with an electrical smell as soon as we turned it on one morning. Suzanne had someone check the problem that afternoon and, when it turned out the motor had burned out, had a new drier installed the next morning. She was very, very responsive, came out herself to make sure we were okay, and ensured that the minor problem was solved. That visit, by the way, is when we discovered how delightful and friendly she is!

Really our experience was as perfect as it could be. The place is excellently laid out, well taken care of, and, well…, perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The anal-retentive attention to the details of the property
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl H
Coram, Montana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“More than adequate, and chickens visit”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

More than adequate, everything ya need for eating, sleeping, enjoying the beach. Even an outdoor (private) shower! Adequately equipped. comfortable furniture and bed. Overhead fans plus a couple more. Maybe 100 yds to the beach for surf, sun, and/or shade. Beautiful scenery, both sea and mountains. Convenient to Hanalei or Princeville. And... (tah dah)... the wild, vibrantly colorful and melodic (sort of) chickens visit just about every day. We sure hope to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy walk to the beach. cool breezes at night. sounds of the surf heard easily.
Liked least: mosquitos now and then
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2015
Mahalo! We appreciate you taking the time to give us a 5 star rating. We are even more pleased that our guests enjoyed their time at our little beach cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TXgirl16
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, Cottage Needs Work”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We found this a fantastic location being on the beautiful Hanalei Bay. It is a reasonable size for two people, and has a sitting area directly looking out at the Bay. It was awesome to see the whales breaching in the ocean right from the living room. It is a charming cottage, however as several other reviews in the past 9 months indicate the cottage needs work. The owner seems to have not realized that in the 15 years of renting (with consistent 5 star reviews), the cottage is showing wear. We rent two properties a year through vrbo or home away, and this one does not compare to others we've rented. The screen door stuck and need to be jiggled every time we opened it, there was a distinct septic odor under the bathroom sink, the bedding was musty (reported by others) and the mattress lumpy and uncomfortable. The washer/dryer in the backyard is covered by canvas tarps, which are a pain to uncover/cover. The washer works fine, although the top is covered with rust. In other Kauai homes we've been in, the washer/dryer are in a covered cabinet/shed affixed to the exterior. The kitchen dish rack was dirty. The kitchen could have used a full set of measuring cups (only had a 2/3 cup) and a better coffee maker, for the wonderful coffee to be had on the island. In spite of past guest reviews requesting a better coffee maker, it is a small motel version 2 cup which does not even yield two full cups for the kitchen mugs. I am sure if we called the owners to fix the screen door, they would have responded. However, once we get to a property, we want to find things working and not have to deal with people coming in to get things fixed. If you want to stay in a small reasonably priced cottaged on Hanalei Bay, this is definitely an option, but be aware what you getting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2014
Ironically, the guests who came one or two after these guests asked what kind of bed we had because it so comfortable! (one of the most expensive Simmons) Guess everyone has a different take on beds. After reading this review, I debated about responding and hence have waited 4 months before deciding to respond. Of course I immediately took down more measuring cups since the existing ones vanished. We replaced the coffee maker but it is still on the small side (4cups) since it is a small kitchen. There is a coffee grinder in the kitchen as well so you can have small tasty batches. Never had a comment before or since on an odor in the bathroom. We installed a dehumidifier in the linen closet and it seems to be working well. We appreciate guest comments and are constantly doing upgrades to our property. We ask for suggestions when we return the security deposit precisely so we can can get guest feed back directly. Some things we can't always change. The washer and dryer are on a cement slab right next to the house just outside the back door under the roof over hang. There are covers on them to slow down the rust which is inevitable on the beach on Kauai. Fortunately most of our guests love our beach house which is our goal.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Reviewed 30 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Smee414
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location but lacking certain things”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This place has an unbeatable location. The views at the house are incredible (beach in front, mountains at your back) and having one of the best beaches right in front is an amazing experience. It was extremely relaxing getting to fall asleep to the waves crashing on the beach. We were greeted with a welcome basket as well, which was a nice touch. The house was clean and the photos represent the house fairly well. My husband and I came for our honeymoon and it is the perfect place for this type of trip.

The location, despite being in the northern section if the island, is still relatively convenient to everywhere (within one to a little over two hours. Note that traffic north of the airport can be bad at certain times of day. There is enough to see and do close to the cottage that you don't necessarily need to travel far to do great activities.

Not that it really impacted our stay, but there were a few negatives I wanted to mention since all other reviews were extremely positive. I can't rate the place higher since the house was not well stocked for us. No extra rolls of toilet paper, paper towels, barely any cleaner in kitchen for wiping counters, minimal laundry detergent to name a few was disappointing given the cost and what I would have expected for an extended stay (and amenities described with the house). It almost felt like the owner was banking on the visitors resupplying the house during their stay, which as I mentioned before was not gratifying. Other cons are no air conditioning (it got hot during daytime hours) and no dishwasher (which I think is a must to ensure dishes are fully clean/sanitized between visitors). The house is also right next to a couple other homes, so it is not as private as you might expect from the photos, especially since windows have to be open all the time.

We had a great visit and I wouldn't say these things are enough for me to not recommend this place, but wanted to bring them up so others can compare this more accurately to other rentals.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2013
I checked with our cleaner and she says there is a glass cleaner, a de-greaser, and a bleach type product under the kitchen sink. There are cleaning towels stocked with the extra towels & sheets and labeled as rags. We will make sure there is an extra roll of paper towels under the sink (which these folks may not have gotten), there are generally 2-3 rolls of T.P. under the sink as well as what is on the roll for a stay of a week or less. Charcoal, lighter fluid, and kitchen condiments & various kitchen convenience items are usually replenished by the guests. We have a starter amount of laundry soap or sometimes a lot depending on the previous guests. So sad... there is no dish washer nor will there be. There will not be air conditioning either. There was a recent hot spell without much breeze which these folk may have experienced though it was still lovely at the beach in the shade of the trees and in the water. Usually ceiling fans make the rooms comfortable and there is an opening sky light which allows air to escape from the highest part of the ceiling. Sure glad the other 18 guests who posted on the HA site which these folks referred to were happy with the house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$385
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing