We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Place to Stay on Kauai's North Shore”
A cloudless sky in Hanalei
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A cloudless sky in Hanalei
The property from the parking lot
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
A cloudless sky in Hanalei
The property from the parking lot
Comfortable in the suite
A Panorama of Hanalei Surfboard House from Weke Rd
Sleep well,under the painting that inspires the theme
Surfboards at the entrance on the street
The bathroom features vintage panelling and an amazing shower
Looking from the back to the front in the suite
Part of the garden with statues and bowling balls
Grill up a tasty meal on your private BBQ
Elegantly Furnished Living Area
Part of our famous surfboard fence
The bathroom features vintage panelling
The cowgirl suite from looking toward the entry-way
Here's that amazing Shower
Shower with dice and pool-balls!
The entrance pathway
quack-quack
a flowering king of cups grown from a cutting in less than a year
Hanalei Surfboard House Garden Area
Typical Hanalei taro-fields and mountain view
Late afternoon in Hanalei Bay across the street
Hanalei Sunset every-night!
Flatscreen HDTV
Cowgirl Private Garden
Cowgirl Private Garden with Birdbath
fresh local fruits
More living area details
Locally produced bath products
Soap Dish with pool balls & dice
Hanalei Surfboard House Garden Area
Hanalei Surfboard House Garden Area
Green flash anyone?
Looking out on the private back garden
Corner detail
Your back patio eating area
And a gas BBQ
One of the famous surfboards
More surfboards
Flowering water lilies
Entrance detail
The front gate
Lilies and bowling balls
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hanalei, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lvalenci
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place to Stay on Kauai's North Shore”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This location is superb; it's well worth a little extra to be so close to one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. We've stayed in Princeville before and much preferred this more laid-back experience.
My husband and I Spent 3 relaxing nights in the Cowgirl Room. We really enjoyed the privacy and the lush lanai when we weren't at the beach. Simon is a great host with excellent dining suggestions and even better stories. Parking is easy and it's about a two minute drive to Hanalei's main street.
Can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K D
Binghamton, New York
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A perfect spot to stay on Kauai”
Reviewed 4 April 2013 for a stay in October 2012

We loved the Hanalei Surfboard House - my husband I started our honeymoon there in Oct 2012. We were lucky enough to stay in the Love Shack, which is such a perfect place to stay. We loved the comfy bed, amenities like great sound system, CD selection, perfect kitchenette, bathroom decor & local soaps and shampoo, the private patio area where we spent a ton of time, and the beach bag, beach chairs, and cooler that were available to us.

This area of Hanalei is great - it's quiet but you can walk to the beach. You can walk to town too, but it seemed safer to drive at night (not a lot of sidewalks/street lights.) We were here for about 12 hours before we decided we're definitely coming back in five years.

I also loved being so close to the great beaches and hiking nearby. We took a lot of recommendations from locals and wound up discovering so many gorgeous places.

Simon was a wonderful host (and also really easy to work with when it came to making reservations/arranging payment/etc) - helpful, there when we needed him, entertaining, and he's created a gorgeous place to stay while you're in paradise. If you have the opportunity to stay here, don't pass it up - it's worth every penny and you'll never stop thinking about it when you return home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and thoughtfull & artfully decorated Love Shack.
Liked least: That we had to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ithaca360
Ithaca, NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming Surroundings with the Perfect Blend of Privacy and Attention”
Reviewed 4 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hanalei Surfboard House in February 2013 for our honeymoon. From the start of our vacation, Simon treated us with the perfect mix of attention and privacy. The grounds are extremely detailed and eclectic. Each time we walked into the yard we spotted something new. The location is superb - a block from the beach. We spent many hours watching surfers and walking the beach. Restaurants were within walking distance as well, and Simon's recommendations were spot-on. The bedding was super comfortable, stereo and TV high quality, and beach supplies (chairs, cooler, towels) were perfect. Our only regret was that we didn't get a photo of our host with the most. Simon is a gem - as is his place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Reviewed 11 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colorado
Reviewed 13 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing