We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,277)
Filter reviews
1,277 results
Traveller rating
780
363
89
30
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
780
363
89
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course the big island full kitchen waikoloa beach resort bay club main resort master bedroom hilton grand vacations time share family vacation third floor great vacation small pool washer dryer shuttle service great amenities hot tub
Filter
Updating list...
456 - 461 of 1,277 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2016

The is our 2nd time to stay at this hotel. It was exactly as we remembered it. Perfect vacation.If planning to go to this island. I would recommend this Hilton timeshare.We went as a couple but had lots of extra room and will consider taking family next time.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Carolyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We stayed on the 3rd floor and it was peaceful and quiet all week. The room was spacious and bed slept well. Shower and garden tub had good water pressure and plenty of good hot water. Beautiful landscaping.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank harris16781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

I am Platinum RCI member which means you are supposed to get an automatic upgrade if one is available. Well, I think we got a downgrade - we were 4 adults and they put us on the first floor underneath a family with multiple children. Our unit was an end unit which was great, but our view off the patio was of the pool retaining wall and the golf cart path. Because it was at ground level we also had multiple cats visit at all hours (one liked to meow up at the screen door if we had the patio door open), another was on the lounge chair each morning when we went outside. Not that I don't like cats, but these are feral cats. But worse than the cats were the mongoose that were always running around the bushes near the golf path and the pool wall. There were many open units on the 2 floors above us and we probably should have complained, but we were already settled in before the children upstairs arrived and nobody wanted to repack everything and move again. As to other aspects of the unit - UNCOMFORTABLE furniture.Only 1 of the chairs was somewhat comfortable and NO ONE could get cozy on the couch in the living room. Kitchen was not as well stocked as many other time shares I have been to - you had to call to get certain items (like grilling tools) which is fine, but is this really necessary? The master bedroom did have an outstanding tub (it was very deep and long - not a whirlpool though) - I never made use of it as I preferred to go to the hot tub if I wanted a warm soak. The spacious balconies they talk about are actually more on the small side for Hawaii - room for 1 round table with 4 chairs and 2 lounge chairs and that's it (no moving around room). Some of the other pros: Great linens! Nice big towels (bath & beach), free DVD rentals, the Kohala Suites staff is excellent (much friendlier and helpful than some of the staff we encountered at the Hilton resort up the road) - laundry soap and coffee packets in your unit when you arrive and they will give you extras if you ask, free parking - the Hilton Resort charges the folks who stay over there. Other cons: pool area is on the small side, but you do have access to the other Hilton pools in the area, Small kitchen - on the dark side, units are not well sound proofed. Would I stay there again? Probably not - many other options to choose from that I feel would better fit my needs and provide a better overall experience.

Room tip: Get a room on an upper floor - end units will also help cut down on noise
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank brunelloafcionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

Mahalo for sharing your experience along with some helpful and notable suggestions on our resort amenities and accommodations. We do greatly appreciate your patronage as a Platinum RCI Member and suggest you work directly with RCI when requesting upgrade availability prior to arrival to a category other than the category that is confirmed with exchange reservations. Thank you again for your feedback, wishing you well on your future travels.

Cheryl Amsbary
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Excellent staff, location, and accommodation! We had a full kitchen, plus outdoor grills which were cleaned daily and functional. The grounds were beautiful. Washers and dryers in each room for convenience were much appreciated.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Mahalo for sharing such great comments on our accommodations, service and on-site amenities, we look forward to hosting you both again in the future!

Mahalo,
Cheryl Amsbary
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

This was our fifth visit to this property and the bloom is off the rose. The facility needs updating NOW! The condition of kitchen appliances and cookware is terrible. After a week at a Marriott on Kauai with friends I was embarrassed by the conditions here. If HGVC is letting their properties deteriorate to push owners to upgrade to higher priced ownership they have lost a loyal customer.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
1  Thank Lemonfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the unsatisfactory room conditions you experienced in your suite, please know we are committed to ensuring our resort accommodations always meet our required Quality Assurance Standards. We shared with you via email correspondence that our suites are scheduled for a soft goods and appliance renovation next year. Thank you again for staying with us, your additional comments featured on TripAdvisor are appreciated, wishing you well on your future travels.

Cheryl Amsbary
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews