We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We finally saw one!”

Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure
Reviewed 17 April 2017

There were about 15 of us on the Sea Smoke, a catamaran operated by Ocean Sports out of Waikoloa. The crew were great. Lots of information about whales, migration, habitat and just general facts about Hawaii. We had a calm journey down the coast for about 1.5 hours before one of us saw a whale breaching in the distance. The captain raced over as quickly as possible. The whale and her calf passed right under the boat and surfaced beside us. It was a magical experience as it was very late in the season. I was disappointed that we didn't drop microphones in the ocean to hear the whale songs but it was explained that it is pointless if there are only a few whales. We also saw some very playful spinner dolphins on the way home. Mai tais, water, soda and juice were on the house, as were granola bar snacks. There was a head if you needed to use the facilities but it was fantastic to be on the ocean. Plus, bonus if you wanted to lie on the suspended tarps on the floor of the catamaran. They looked like trampolines. The little kids loved them. I would definitely do this trip again and I wouldn't hesitate to use Ocean Sports. Very conveniently located right behind the Marriott hotel in Waikoloa.

Thank AnneFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawaiiOceanSports, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Aloha,
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback about your Ocean Sports Whale Watch Cruise. We're very happy to read that you enjoyed the cruise, the information provided by the crew, and the on-board amenities. But we're most happy to read that you got to see some Humpbacks so late in the season...and the close encounter with the Mom and calf you described sounds so wonderful!
We know there are a lot of activities to choose from when you're on the Big Island, and we're honored that you'd choose to join us again for another adventure on the ocean.
A hui hou kakou!
Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"granola bars"
in 4 reviews
"whale season"
in 7 reviews
"friendly crew"
in 8 reviews
"large catamaran"
in 6 reviews
"mother calf"
in 2 reviews
"serve food and drinks"
in 2 reviews
"whale breaches"
in 2 reviews
"catamaran boat"
in 2 reviews
"safe distance"
in 2 reviews
"male escort"
in 2 reviews
"underwater microphone"
in 4 reviews
"kawaihae harbor"
in 5 reviews
"snails"
in 9 reviews
"finding whales"
in 2 reviews
"spy hopping"
in 2 reviews
"sea smoke"
in 5 reviews
"great trip"
in 8 reviews
Filter

29 - 33 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2017

The crew did a great job, from getting on the boat to helping during the trip, finding whales, etc. The naturalist (Greg) did a great job answering questions and explaining about whales. Good sense of humor and knowledgable. It was near the end of the whale season and we found two mother/calf pairs - able to watch them over a period of time. Nice job overall. Enjoyed the trip

Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawaiiOceanSports, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Aloha,
Thanks for taking the time to provide us (and the Trip Advisor Community) with feedback about your Whale Watch Cruise. We're so happy to read that you enjoyed the cruise, the interpretation provided by our naturalist, Greg, and most importantly, got to see some Humpbacks!
Our Whale Watch season runs from December 1st through April 15th, so we won't be operating anymore Whale Watch cruises this season...but there are still a few humpbacks around the islands. Each year, we see a few stragglers after our "official" season is over, so guests joining us on our Snorkel Cruises or Cocktails at Sunset Cruises may get a BIG surprise!
We appreciate your comments, and hope we'll get to share more adventures with you next time you're on the island.
Mahalo and a hui hou kakou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Your better off watching the whales with binoculars from shore then taking this trip! A lot of fluff driving around on the ocean listening to information about the whales and getting to know the ships crew members but never really seeing any whales closer than over a half mile away and no attempt by the captain or crew to get any closer. Seriously ridiculous trip!! Find someone else that will get to 1,000 feet to the actual whales to see them. Note that 1,000-foot distance itself is so far that it reduces a person to a speck, then compliment that with a company that is hyper-sensitive to this regulation. Seriously don't waste your time. By the way, it's true that whale watching is better from the island of Maui. Do more homework and research than we did on finding the right outfit to whale watch.

Thank Dwight G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawaiiOceanSports, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Aloha,
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your Whale Watch Cruise. We're sorry you didn't enjoy the cruise. We're proud to follow all federal regulations protecting the Humpback Whales, and, as you pointed out in your review, we're careful not to approach the whales closer than 100 yards, or maneuver our vessels in ways that may alter their behavior. The Humpbacks can choose to approach us though, and while we apologize that it didn't happen during your cruise, it does happen.
There are fewer whales around all of the islands in the beginning and end of the season (early December, and early April), but we always guarantee our morning Whale Watch Cruises...see humpbacks, or join us again on another cruise for FREE!
Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

I would highly recommend Ocean Sports to anyone looking for a fun, safe whale watch adventure run by a professional operation. Their website says you're guaranteed to spot a humpback or you can ride again. I can't imagine they have to honor that promise as the crew seemed very knowledgeable and quickly spotted three humpbacks that we tracked for the duration of our trip.

The catamaran is quite large and easily held about two dozen men, women and children. This seemed like a great excursion for families, especially those with small children. The staff was professional and attentive. They were great at keeping the young children on the boat interested and engaged as we made our way into the open water. There was a guy on the mic educating us about whales and marine life. I could have used a little less talking, but I would imagine a silent boat ride at 8 AM may not be as appealing to everybody as was the higher-energy atmosphere they created. Any member of the family, in almost any physical condition (so long as they can walk), can find a comfortable place to sit on the boat. Refreshments (water, juice, soft drinks and granola bars) are available, as well as beers. They have a marine lavatory on the boat as well. When embarking and disembarking, there were plenty of attendants helping the kids and older people on and off the boats (you have to board their glass-bottom boat in smaller groups to be ferried out to the catamaran.

I'm glad we spent the money to go on this tour, though I don't know if I'd repeat it unless I went with someone else who had never been before. I would probably do the snorkel tour next to change things up a bit.

Thank carolynlb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawaiiOceanSports, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback about your Ocean Sports Wake up with the Whales Cruise. We're so happy to read that you enjoyed the boat, the attentiveness of our staff, and got to see some Humpbacks.
We also appreciate your comments about our cruises being family-oriented. We truly try to provide a great experience for everyone on board (regardless of age).
As a locally owned and operated company, we rely heavily on word-of-mouth recommendations, and we're honored by yours.
We look forward to seeing you again on another adventure with us (whether it's a Whale Watch, Snorkel, or even Sunset Cruise) next time you're in our neighborhood! Oh, and if we're lucky enough to host you again be sure to as for Passport to Adventure 21% Discount.
Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2017

I took my two daughters ages 8 & 12 on the whale watch & snorkel trip and we had a terrific time out on the water. Within a few minutes of setting off, whale sightings were frequent and thrilling. Our end of the whale season outing meant lots of mothers and their babies. Snorkeling just off a black sand beach was delightful. Warm water, a good variety of fish and easy access to the boat made for a wonderful adventure. On the way home, the sail was drawn, we had lunch and soaked in the setting on our leisurely ride back to shore.

Thank Polly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawaiiOceanSports, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Aloha,
Thanks for taking time time to review your Ocean Sports Snorkel and Whale Watch Adventure Cruise for the Trip Advisor Community (and us). We're so happy to read that you and your keiki enjoyed the snorkeling, the whale watching, and the sailing.
We know there are a lot of activities to choose from on the Big Island, and we're glad we got the opportunity to share this adventure with you!
We look forward to seeing you all again next time you're in our neighborhood.
Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure also viewed

 
Puako, Kohala Coast
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing