We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Morning Boat Ride and Whale Watch”

Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure
Reviewed 7 April 2017

I would highly recommend Ocean Sports to anyone looking for a fun, safe whale watch adventure run by a professional operation. Their website says you're guaranteed to spot a humpback or you can ride again. I can't imagine they have to honor that promise as the crew seemed very knowledgeable and quickly spotted three humpbacks that we tracked for the duration of our trip.

The catamaran is quite large and easily held about two dozen men, women and children. This seemed like a great excursion for families, especially those with small children. The staff was professional and attentive. They were great at keeping the young children on the boat interested and engaged as we made our way into the open water. There was a guy on the mic educating us about whales and marine life. I could have used a little less talking, but I would imagine a silent boat ride at 8 AM may not be as appealing to everybody as was the higher-energy atmosphere they created. Any member of the family, in almost any physical condition (so long as they can walk), can find a comfortable place to sit on the boat. Refreshments (water, juice, soft drinks and granola bars) are available, as well as beers. They have a marine lavatory on the boat as well. When embarking and disembarking, there were plenty of attendants helping the kids and older people on and off the boats (you have to board their glass-bottom boat in smaller groups to be ferried out to the catamaran.

I'm glad we spent the money to go on this tour, though I don't know if I'd repeat it unless I went with someone else who had never been before. I would probably do the snorkel tour next to change things up a bit.

Thank carolynlb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawaiiOceanSports, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback about your Ocean Sports Wake up with the Whales Cruise. We're so happy to read that you enjoyed the boat, the attentiveness of our staff, and got to see some Humpbacks.
We also appreciate your comments about our cruises being family-oriented. We truly try to provide a great experience for everyone on board (regardless of age).
As a locally owned and operated company, we rely heavily on word-of-mouth recommendations, and we're honored by yours.
We look forward to seeing you again on another adventure with us (whether it's a Whale Watch, Snorkel, or even Sunset Cruise) next time you're in our neighborhood! Oh, and if we're lucky enough to host you again be sure to as for Passport to Adventure 21% Discount.
Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"granola bars"
in 4 reviews
"whale season"
in 7 reviews
"friendly crew"
in 8 reviews
"mother calf"
in 2 reviews
"serve food and drinks"
in 2 reviews
"whale breaches"
in 2 reviews
"catamaran boat"
in 2 reviews
"safe distance"
in 2 reviews
"male escort"
in 2 reviews
"nice catamaran"
in 2 reviews
"underwater microphone"
in 4 reviews
"finding whales"
in 2 reviews
"big catamaran"
in 2 reviews
"spy hopping"
in 2 reviews
"snails"
in 9 reviews
"sea smoke"
in 5 reviews
"great trip"
in 8 reviews
Filter

32 - 36 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2017

I took my two daughters ages 8 & 12 on the whale watch & snorkel trip and we had a terrific time out on the water. Within a few minutes of setting off, whale sightings were frequent and thrilling. Our end of the whale season outing meant lots of mothers and their babies. Snorkeling just off a black sand beach was delightful. Warm water, a good variety of fish and easy access to the boat made for a wonderful adventure. On the way home, the sail was drawn, we had lunch and soaked in the setting on our leisurely ride back to shore.

Thank PollyB142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawaiiOceanSports, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Aloha,
Thanks for taking time time to review your Ocean Sports Snorkel and Whale Watch Adventure Cruise for the Trip Advisor Community (and us). We're so happy to read that you and your keiki enjoyed the snorkeling, the whale watching, and the sailing.
We know there are a lot of activities to choose from on the Big Island, and we're glad we got the opportunity to share this adventure with you!
We look forward to seeing you all again next time you're in our neighborhood.
Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Went out for a snorkel trip with added whale watch... good time, friendly and knowledgeable staff..went to two snorkel sights seen a lot of colorful fish and turtles.. then went on a little cruise and found some whales..

Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawaiiOceanSports, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Aloha,
Thanks for reviewing your Ocean Sports Snorkel and Whale Watch Adventure Cruise. We're so happy to read that you enjoyed the cruise, and your interactions with our crew, and most importantly, got to see a wide variety of marine life!
We hope we'll get to share more adventures with you next time you're on the Big Island.
Mahalo and a hui ho kakou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Amazing! Within minutes of setting out, we spotted a humpback whale breeching! And then had several more sightings - one of a whale from tip to tail (fluke). I will never forget this experience! Later, a pod of spinner dolphins swam along side the boat, leaping and spinning right next to us! And as we headed back to shore, two sea turtles bobbed nearby. The crew was extremely knowledgeable and friendly, offering smiles and food and drink. I highly recommend the Wake Up with the Whales cruise. This was the highlight of my week-long vacation here on the Big Island!

Thank Debbi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawaiiOceanSports, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

Aloha,
Thanks for taking the time to review your Ocean Sports Wake up with the Whales Cruise. We're so happy to read that you enjoyed the cruise, and found our crew to be fun and informative. But most of all, we're happy that you got to see Humpbacks, Dolphins and Turtles!!
As a locally owned and operated company on the Big Island, we rely heavily on word of mouth recommendations, and we're honored that you'd choose to recommend us.
We hope we'll get to see you again for more adventures next time you're in our neighborhood.
Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

This was an amazing experience, the crew was very helpful and informative. We saw at least ten whales and their babies. We went on the snorkel and whale watching trip and it was so amazing. The trampoline was great and the whale sighting was great. We also saw sea turtles! When we went snorkeling the crew was very helpful and ga e us a guide on what types of sea life we were viewing. We were provided lunch and breakfast and it was amazing. Overall we had such a great experience at Ocean Sports whale watching! Please look into this if you want a great whale watching experience!

Thank AlexaBrandmeyer677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawaiiOceanSports, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to provide the Trip Advisor Community (and us) with feedback about your Ocean Sports Snorkel and Whale Watch Adventure Cruise. We're very happy to read that you enjoyed the cruise, the snorkeling, the amenities, and your interactions with our crew.
Our Whale Watching season extends till April 15th -- after that, we still operate our Snorkel Adventure Cruise, and we may see Humpbacks (though the further after April 15th you join us, the less likely we are to encounter whales) -- but regardless of the season, we always include continental breakfast, deli lunch, complimentary bar, snorkel and marine life briefings and in-water guided tours (upon request).
We appreciate your recommendation, and we hope we'll get to see you again on another adventure with us next time you're on the Big Island.
Mahalo and a hui ho kakou!
P.S. We'll save you a spot on the trampoline!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing