We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,225)
Filter reviews
3,226 results
Traveller rating
1,303
1,259
437
151
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,303
1,259
437
151
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews resort fee infinity pool the big island hawaii calls ocean view corner room glass bottom boat fish hotel restaurant pools and hot tubs king's shops open hours self parking food court sea turtles breakfast buffet coffee shop
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 3,226 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Waikoloa is a bit of a drive from the main cities like Kona or Hilo. And this are has just limited amenities, so if you're cool with driving off for awhile to experience some nice restaurants and good shopping, then this place would be good for you.

At least this Marriott has wifi included, awesome pools, bar, modern gym and a beach access with water activities available.

Room was decent, nothing spectacular.

They have some shopping, and a food court across the street if that all helps with your decision to stay here.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rewtenant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Executive Assistant at Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Aloha Rewtenant, and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We just completed a major renovation so it is disappointing to hear that your room did not meet your expectations. Thank you for the nice comments about our pools, gym and beach access. We agree that there are some great stores and restaurants at the Queens Marketplace and the Kings Shops, both within walking distance. Once again, thanks for the feedback, and we hope you were able to enjoy your time on the island of Hawaii.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

We spent a week at this property and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was more quiet than most Hawaiin Marriott vacation club properties which was to our likeing. The concierge desk was most helpful in recommending an island day trip. The room/suites were brand new and beautifully appointed.

Date of stay: October 2017
Thank Dick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

The only reason i am not giving it a 5 star is the ongoing construction. When I booked this hotel I was told it would be finished before my arrival. We stayed on the vacation club side to get a suite, everything is brand new and tastefully done. No daily housekeeping but they will replenish your towels if you ask them. The resort is first rate with beautiful grounds, heated pools and Jacuzzis. Beach is nice and quiet.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 556marct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile


Staying here for 5 nights with a last minute reservation through Booking.com after becoming fearful of the air quality warnings in Kona we read on TripAdvisor (overstated) and deciding to forego our prepaid Kona hotel booking. The hotel is beautifully laid out with an open air reception area and a lovely view down over the pools. the morning yoga on the beach is peaceful, and the infinity pool with plenty of lounge chairs is bliss-moreso when the singing from the luau drifts overhead. Definitely recommend going to a morning orientation session for coffee and pastries and good tips on things to see and do plus driving excursions on the island. Dining at the bar is fun as the staff are warm and friendly and we were entertained by a good guitarist. The seafood night at the restaurant was also good value ($79 including lobster and big enough to share between 2). The vegetarian options for our son are not so good. There are many free activities like tennis, table tennis and daily hour of snorkeling. Reception staff manner is efficient rather than friendly. As you would expect, not all rooms are created equal. Our room is spacious but in a dark corner with a closed air earthy smell unless air con is always on and already it is showing some signs of wear and tear. I asked if I could change rooms, but Reception advised me that our financial class limits us to this room or a smaller room next door. Gosh, over $300 per night and so restricted (I can upgrade but don’t want to further add to the cost already paid for forfeiting the other hotel). In our room, strangely
there are paper cups instead of mugs (although happily glasses are glass and not plastic). The rooms are thoroughly cleaned and the cleaning staff are lovely.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank piprodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

Family of four visiting in June 2018. we booked into the vacation side of the resort. The pros - the two bedroom room was spacious, clean, and had a washer / dryer. Con was that one of the bathrooms required the kids to walk out of their bedroom - no direct connection. Pros about the experience at this hotel - not many. Average at best, except for the Luau, which was one of the best we have seen in the island. Small, but food was good and the performance itself was exceptionally good. Also a pro - large sandy beach, but its a walk from the main pool area, so if you have young kids be aware of that and bring snacks / drinks with you. Cons about this hotel - check in. RUDE. flat out said "we just help the vacation club with check in, we can't answer any questions." didn't get the overview package, room not ready. referred to the vacation club, but nobody was there! Lovely places to sit and relax, but after check in time came and went, returned to the front desk to ask why. This time service was better. The room had been ready, but nobody bothered to call us. The second person who checked us in was much more complete in explaining the property, giving us the keys, etc. Pool towels were horrible - scratchy and thin. Were they really worried anyone would steal those?? Bath towels needed to be replaced. Beds not nearly as comfy as at other Marriotts in the islands. View was good - pool view, third floor. Gave a nice view of the grounds. Significantly less services on site, but shopping right across the street, also more restaurants and a starbucks. hotel and vacation club were not full but still would not allow late check out (even though I'm platinum). Checked on our room two hours after we had to leave it and the maid was still not to the room. why they couldn't have let us have an extra hour is beyond me. they do offer hospitality rooms, which are hotel rooms you can reserve for one hour, but you can't reserve them at 10, which is the mandatory check out for the vacation club. all in all, will not return here.

Room tip: be sure to ask for a room away from the center of the hotel, or you'll be looking at buildings / concrete.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Executive Assistant at Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Aloha Lynda D, and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. On behalf of the Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Ocean Club, please accept our thanks for the positive comments and our apologies for the numerous challenges you experienced during your stay with us. All media posts are reviewed with our staff to see where we can improve, so rest assured that your feedback is very important to us. Once again, please accept our apology, thank you for the detailed review and we hope you were able to enjoy some of the many wonders of Hawaii island during your time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews